Old car or New Car with the same price???

I made one comparison on both same cars. 1 is a year 2011 Satria Neo CPS and 1 is a 2013 Satria Neo R3 (Bodykitted only)

Both I checked, New about RM600 while the 2011 one is about RM600 - RM700 a month.
So, I was thinking if that's the case, is it better for me to get a New one instead?

New I have to pay up to 9 years but the older one I have to pay up to 7 years, well new tyres and also a push start button of course.

Only slight modifications, close to stock car. That neo is only 20K mileage though. Hardly use as claimed by a great owner. Payment for the car is already paid in full by the owner.

So, kinda thinking. If get the old one, I have to get my loan for that car? Well just asking for some opinions though.

From the article, it states that they is from Muar, Malacca and Labuan. How did 3 people from 3 very distant locations ended up in one Perodua Viva and somehow crashed together. :hmmmm: Or maybe they're in college together...

Yup, they are suppose to start studies in same college....

---------- Post added at 02:02 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 02:00 PM ----------

I made one comparison on both same cars. 1 is a year 2011 Satria Neo CPS and 1 is a 2013 Satria Neo R3 (Bodykitted only)

Both I checked, New about RM600 while the 2011 one is about RM600 - RM700 a month.
So, I was thinking if that's the case, is it better for me to get a New one instead?

New I have to pay up to 9 years but the older one I have to pay up to 7 years, well new tyres and also a push start button of course.

Only slight modifications, close to stock car. That neo is only 20K mileage though. Hardly use as claimed by a great owner. Payment for the car is already paid in full by the owner.

So, kinda thinking. If get the old one, I have to get my loan for that car? Well just asking for some opinions though.

Yours is same car difference 2 years only.

For me is new car compare to 5 year old but of higher cc and grade for same price....:biggrin:

Serious? 80km/h? I guess u seldom drive that's why u r not use to it.
Let me get rid of that fear when we meet up :rofl:

I'll drive u up to 140km/h at least :rofl:

But is good la, maintain at low speed is safer than high speeds. Drive safe.
Cuz many can't tahan even at the speed of 100km/h they find it slow :rofl:

They are seeing things slow :rofl:

---------- Post added at 09:31 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:30 AM ----------

1 day u might see cvkit tail u :rofl: and u gonna have trouble losing a 1.5L Manual :rofl:

I'm not driving at highway. Just Tanjung Tualang to Batu Gajah then to Ipoh. Many other cars overtake me. I don't want to risk going fast in that old 1.3 Saga even though I am driving manual. I feels so underpowered.

Let me guess, cvkit using 1.5 Myvi?

I have to disagree on this part. The reason why the comparison was made in the first place is precisely because the price of a 2nd hand Mercedes is comparable to that of a new Saga.

So, different class but similar price thus making the comparison completely valid in my opinion.

Even though pricing is similar, road tax, insurance fees, maintenance costs and fuel consumption rate are very different. You might get the old Benz or BMW at the same price with new Saga but at the end, you will be paying more for the Benz or BMW. So, at cost wise, Proton and BMW/Benz are very different no matter how similarly priced they are. And they are at a different car segment category also.

Yup, they are suppose to start studies in same college....

Probably freshman in first year. But now ended up in tragic case like this. Sad.

Let's talk about the same generation P1 vs P2 in terms of fuel efficiency and maintenance costs.

Wira / Satria vs Kelisa / Kenari

Wira and Satria were and still are the cheapest cars to maintain in Malaysia. Cheap original parts, reasonable fuel consumption and plenty of aftermarket support and compatible parts.

Take the engine mounting for the Wira, RM400 can get you all 4 mounts from Mitsubishi and slightly more in the 500 range if Proton brand. Kelisa on the hand has a sub frame supporting the engine which has I think 4 mounts (can't recall) which goes together with the 3 engine mounts. Total cost? Daihatsu parts costs 600+ and Perodua parts way higher. This is even before you factor in the mechanic.

I've owned P1 and P2 cars for a long time and I personally find that regardless of brand, once it hits 5/6 years, things start to break down and lots of money is required to replace. The P2 Myvi costs more to overhaul and parts are way more expensive than my venerable Wira. Which is ridiculous. But then again Myvi is technically a Toyota/Daihatsu so I guess compared to what is supposed to be a Mitsubishi cost to maintain is higher.

Fuel consumption before I bought my current Wira SE, I had a Wira sedan carbie which would give me about 10km/L for city driving on good days and 9km/L on bad days. My Wira SE (FI) would give 12km/L max. The Myvi auto will definitely do better because it has 4 gears rather than the 3 Wiras have. 11km/L was the lowest I got for the Myvi and 13km/L highest, all City driving. But the key point isn't so much FC, it's the fact that both cars have rubbish crash safety. And the Wira has way more space to carry people and things around.

So who wins? P1.

If you compare the current P1 and P2 offerings

Preve, Exora, Saga, Persona vs Myvi 1.5, Alza, Viva

The P1 range of cars are all equally expensive to maintain in compared with the P2s. FC the Myvi 1.5 beats the crap out of all the cars especially the manual with a friend recording 16km/L conservative driving. Space wise and practicality P1 wins.

Who wins? No one. Cuz Kia jumped the gun and dominated them all with the cheap Forte that's loaded with features that makes it super cost effective, and then there's the Toyota Vios - super awesome FC and long lasting car. Maintenance is a breeze for the Vios too.

Ya only thing costly in my kelisa is the Mounting RM600+ ori Daihatsu. Local or Ori Perodua would cost around RM450 - RM500+.

But FC is good though. Not sure how u guys calculate per L but mine is 411KM for RM53.50.

Kia Forte may win the rest in terms of space and everything but Maintenance wise, Korean cars still costly than the rest mentioned here.
Vios is a good and easy to maintain car. :top: Reliability is there.

Even though pricing is similar, road tax, insurance fees, maintenance costs and fuel consumption rate are very different. You might get the old Benz or BMW at the same price with new Saga but at the end, you will be paying more for the Benz or BMW. So, at cost wise, Proton and BMW/Benz are very different no matter how similarly priced they are. And they are at a different car segment category also.

Sure, if you are comparing extremes. Saga and Merc are both too far separated to begin with.

Take a Sentra/Civic (or other Japan-made cars) vs Saga/Myvi and suddenly the lines are a bit more blurry. Spare parts costs are slightly different, but not by much. Same goes with fuel consumption.

No wonder I smell something isnt right...u guys keep on mentioning me in this thread LOL :thefinger:

1 day u might see cvkit tail u :rofl: and u gonna have trouble losing a 1.5L Manual :rofl:

If I really tailgate him...that means he is hogging the road already..Me this noob drive very gently and slow :biggrin:

Let me guess, cvkit using 1.5 Myvi?

Yes indeed. No money to own a Ferrari yet :biggrin:

Got ah! cvkit mentioned he drive 1.5 like 1.3 only......hahahahahahahhahahahaha:biggrin::biggrin:

That's why I can crap the FC out of my car haha... save fuel = save the mother earth hehe

I would say nothing is perfect. We just cannot always get what we want. I'll take myself as an example:

Before I purchased my myvi, I had a few choices and thoughts in mind. Ford Fiesta (new), which I love it so much, Suzuki Swift (new or 2nd hand), Nissan Latio (2nd hand), Vios (2nd hand or new), Honda City new and old model (2nd hand), Inspira 1.8 MT (new), Proton Saga FLX 1.6 SE (new) and of course, myvi 1.5.

I did not test drive all. I only tested Fiesta, Swift, Myvi, Saga, Latio and Vios. Why I did not test all? Because I didnt like the others so my mind is set on these few only. I bought my myvi for 57k. I would not mind paying more than that for a car that i like thus the higher variant of choices I mentioned. So with an amount of around 60k, or higher abit, I can get 2nd hand Vios, Swift, Latio, and City. Also nissan sentra.

Then I decided one thing. I will be using that car often and for a long time and I am not rich. So I want a new car instead of 2nd hand. Yes many of you would say a second hand vios (2 years car) is reliable and worthier than a myvi even my friends said that but the thing is that I dont like the Vios, and I also want to eliminate any possibility of it breaking down and I gotta dismantle my arse for the repair cost. New car has warranty, so ok no problem.

Fiesta, I love it so much but it is costly to me. With myvi, I get extra RM200 to spend every month. I can use that to pay my insurance. So no Fiesta.

Swift, its stylish, i like it, but not so practical car coz its freaking small. So no Swift.

So my point is, how are you going to use the car. Everyday? Weekend car? Do you have company car? Yes, choose the car that you like but it must also serve the purpose of you wanting it. If not, you'll regret it for sure because in the end of the day, you might end up with shits. Its like a girlfriend, choose the one who's pretty but cant live together, die. Choose the one who's not so pretty but treats you well, happily ever after. In the end you will still be happy.

And also one thing I wana highlight on 2nd cars is that they are prone to repairs more than a new car. Quality of the model also a huge importance. Yes you may have lifetime warranty but its the hassle that we all would like to avoid right? That's why, get the purpose right. If only weekend car, seldom drive, then get a car that you really like, even if it might give you problems. You wont use it much so the possibility of the car having problems is less.

Btw, now perodua come with 3 years free service.. sound awesome?

I too think about having a proper car (decent power + family proof).. I almost buy a 2nd hand Altezza with little mods, its kinda cheap nowadays. Almost same price with Myvi 1.5 btw.. But after take everything into consideration, I let my dream aside.. So i end up with brand new myvi 1.3, sufficient for my family usage and 3 years free service which make the cost of owning much cheaper..

Main reason? Altezza more than 10 years car and hard to get loan, I would not spend my saving for its down payment..

But lets keep dreaming, I know I will own my dream drive one day :driver: hehe

As for me, it is different. To me, I thought, I'm gonna live only once, and since I can afford the car I liked since young, even though it was more than 15 years old, I decided to go for it. Well, it has been with me for 2 years now. And yes, I paid a lot for repairs, wear and tears, let alone upgrades. Do I have any regrets? Certainly not. It's my daily driven car. Each time I sit in it to go anywhere, it just feels so good. It makes me happy.

I'm not saying that we should think about fulfilling our dreams while neglecting all others. If you can afford it, since you like it so much, why not go for it? That is for people like me. Of course I understand there are some of us who are more careful and so on. So, if you think a simple car that serves you well and can make you happy, go for that. We all love cars, no matter what we drive.

As for me, it is different. To me, I thought, I'm gonna live only once, and since I can afford the car I liked since young, even though it was more than 15 years old, I decided to go for it. Well, it has been with me for 2 years now. And yes, I paid a lot for repairs, wear and tears, let alone upgrades. Do I have any regrets? Certainly not. It's my daily driven car. Each time I sit in it to go anywhere, it just feels so good. It makes me happy.

I'm not saying that we should think about fulfilling our dreams while neglecting all others. If you can afford it, since you like it so much, why not go for it? That is for people like me. Of course I understand there are some of us who are more careful and so on. So, if you think a simple car that serves you well and can make you happy, go for that. We all love cars, no matter what we drive.

As long as in the end you are happy, there's really nothing more important than that.

Ya only thing costly in my kelisa is the Mounting RM600+ ori Daihatsu. Local or Ori Perodua would cost around RM450 - RM500+.

But FC is good though. Not sure how u guys calculate per L but mine is 411KM for RM53.50.

Kia Forte may win the rest in terms of space and everything but Maintenance wise, Korean cars still costly than the rest mentioned here.
Vios is a good and easy to maintain car. :top: Reliability is there.

Korean cars are terrible. My aunt used to own a Kia Spectra and the value depreciated like hell when it is sold off. Furthermore, the fuel consumption for it is very bad.

No wonder I smell something isnt right...u guys keep on mentioning me in this thread LOL :thefinger:

If I really tailgate him...that means he is hogging the road already..Me this noob drive very gently and slow :biggrin:

Yes indeed. No money to own a Ferrari yet :biggrin:

That's why I can crap the FC out of my car haha... save fuel = save the mother earth hehe

I would say nothing is perfect. We just cannot always get what we want. I'll take myself as an example:

Before I purchased my myvi, I had a few choices and thoughts in mind. Ford Fiesta (new), which I love it so much, Suzuki Swift (new or 2nd hand), Nissan Latio (2nd hand), Vios (2nd hand or new), Honda City new and old model (2nd hand), Inspira 1.8 MT (new), Proton Saga FLX 1.6 SE (new) and of course, myvi 1.5.

I did not test drive all. I only tested Fiesta, Swift, Myvi, Saga, Latio and Vios. Why I did not test all? Because I didnt like the others so my mind is set on these few only. I bought my myvi for 57k. I would not mind paying more than that for a car that i like thus the higher variant of choices I mentioned. So with an amount of around 60k, or higher abit, I can get 2nd hand Vios, Swift, Latio, and City. Also nissan sentra.

Then I decided one thing. I will be using that car often and for a long time and I am not rich. So I want a new car instead of 2nd hand. Yes many of you would say a second hand vios (2 years car) is reliable and worthier than a myvi even my friends said that but the thing is that I dont like the Vios, and I also want to eliminate any possibility of it breaking down and I gotta dismantle my arse for the repair cost. New car has warranty, so ok no problem.

Fiesta, I love it so much but it is costly to me. With myvi, I get extra RM200 to spend every month. I can use that to pay my insurance. So no Fiesta.

Swift, its stylish, i like it, but not so practical car coz its freaking small. So no Swift.

So my point is, how are you going to use the car. Everyday? Weekend car? Do you have company car? Yes, choose the car that you like but it must also serve the purpose of you wanting it. If not, you'll regret it for sure because in the end of the day, you might end up with shits. Its like a girlfriend, choose the one who's pretty but cant live together, die. Choose the one who's not so pretty but treats you well, happily ever after. In the end you will still be happy.

And also one thing I wana highlight on 2nd cars is that they are prone to repairs more than a new car. Quality of the model also a huge importance. Yes you may have lifetime warranty but its the hassle that we all would like to avoid right? That's why, get the purpose right. If only weekend car, seldom drive, then get a car that you really like, even if it might give you problems. You wont use it much so the possibility of the car having problems is less.

Not owning Ferrari is nothing wrong. At least still driving MT in a new car compared to many who went for auto. Perhaps you are more skilled than the Ferrari F430 or 458 Italia driver who is shifting on paddle shifters instead of shifting with the good old clutch and gearstick :rofl:

About Swift, they don't have the Swift sport here right? The one with 6 speed manual transmission. That one is quite a fast car for it's category.

What car is that?

Yup bro.. I can conclude that with interest alone it will not work, it must combine with passion and good financial as well..

I take it in positive manner, it keeps motivate me to work on it. Listed in "things to do before i die".. Haha :biggrin:

Eh, Swift is that much smaller ke compared to Myvi? I found them to be pretty similar in size.

Yes it is much smaller. From the outside the swift might look kinda same size like myvi and jazz but when you enter, it is much smaller and I feel cramped inside and uncomfortable. U know what, one utama held a car roadshow and the new swift was there. I knocked my head when I tried to enter the back lol...and I'm not tall, just average.

Renesis: we do have swift sport here in Malaysia but it is very expensive and can only run on ron97 and above. It's Ron98 actually if I weren't mistaken. The new swift sport can run on 95 but with restricted performance and engine prolongation.

Yes it is much smaller. From the outside the swift might look kinda same size like myvi and jazz but when you enter, it is much smaller and I feel cramped inside and uncomfortable. U know what, one utama held a car roadshow and the new swift was there. I knocked my head when I tried to enter the back lol...and I'm not tall, just average.

Renesis: we do have swift sport here in Malaysia but it is very expensive and can only run on ron97 and above. It's Ron98 actually if I weren't mistaken. The new swift sport can run on 95 but with restricted performance and engine prolongation.

Eh? RON97 only? So bad.. I thought that even the high compression B16A VTEC can run on RON95. Talk about swift, zI saw a new Swift at my university now which is being driven by a student. Guess what, a student's Swift is carrying a registration plate with the number 3 on it. Just 3 only. Single digit number. Student nowadays.... :banghead:

Eh, Swift is that much smaller ke compared to Myvi? I found them to be pretty similar in size.

The old Myvi interior had a cabin as large as a Wira. I would know - I have both. The newer Myvi has a smaller boot because the car is 6cm shorter. The Swift has a damn small rear seat. I think I'm larger than CVKit and I can fit in the rear seat but not for long distance. I'd be claustraphobic. That's not saying the Swift is a bad car. If I were single and looking for a get around car, I'd choose the Swift over the Myvi anyday purely because of the way it drives.

Eh? RON97 only? So bad.. I thought that even the high compression B16A VTEC can run on RON95. Talk about swift, zI saw a new Swift at my university now which is being driven by a student. Guess what, a student's Swift is carrying a registration plate with the number 3 on it. Just 3 only. Single digit number. Student nowadays.... :banghead:

Two mainstream cars in the market won't run on anything less than RON97, Swift sport and Civic Type-R. You probably could run 95 but you'll get big time knocking and severe loss of power. The B16A compression can't be as high as the Swift Sport one right? I dunno but I doubt it is.

---------- Post added at 07:26 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:22 AM ----------

Btw, now perodua come with 3 years free service.. sound awesome?

Btw, if not mistaken this is labour only right? Oil and parts still need to pay right?

As long as in the end you are happy, there's really nothing more important than that.

Very true, must love what you drive too, if not no point.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 07:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:56 AM ----------

The old Myvi interior had a cabin as large as a Wira. I would know - I have both. The newer Myvi has a smaller boot because the car is 6cm shorter. The Swift has a damn small rear seat. I think I'm larger than CVKit and I can fit in the rear seat but not for long distance. I'd be claustraphobic. That's not saying the Swift is a bad car. If I were single and looking for a get around car, I'd choose the Swift over the Myvi anyday purely because of the way it drives.

Two mainstream cars in the market won't run on anything less than RON97, Swift sport and Civic Type-R. You probably could run 95 but you'll get big time knocking and severe loss of power. The B16A compression can't be as high as the Swift Sport one right? I dunno but I doubt it is.

---------- Post added at 07:26 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:22 AM ----------

Btw, if not mistaken this is labour only right? Oil and parts still need to pay right?

Like that, Unker no need climb into back seat liao....:biggrin:

Buy those cars must be ready to use Ron 97 loh.....

Yah! depends free service only or with parts....

You're right. I've checked. The SiR-II B16A only had a compression ratio of 10.4:1 while the Swift Sport had 11.1:1. But the power output of B16A is higher than Swift Sport's engine so that's why at first I thought that Swift Sport had a lower compression ratio. But I was wrong then. Sorry.

Korean cars are terrible. My aunt used to own a Kia Spectra and the value depreciated like hell when it is sold off. Furthermore, the fuel consumption for it is very bad.

Not owning Ferrari is nothing wrong. At least still driving MT in a new car compared to many who went for auto. Perhaps you are more skilled than the Ferrari F430 or 458 Italia driver who is shifting on paddle shifters instead of shifting with the good old clutch and gearstick :rofl:

About Swift, they don't have the Swift sport here right? The one with 6 speed manual transmission. That one is quite a fast car for it's category.

What car is that?
Yes, Korean cars especially kia spectra drink fuel like water. But then now modern korean cars are better, just parts are still expensive that's all. Design wise Koreans are always that damn good at it.

If only, Korean designers were to transfer some to JDMs manufacturers and JDM Technologies shared some to Koreans :rofl: Then it will be a perfect car. :rofl:

Design wise, Koreans beats current Japan Manufacturers such as Toyota, Honda, Nissan. That's what I see. Cuz too me the korean designs are better. But technologies still Japan Car Manufacturers.

Very true, must love what you drive too, if not no point.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 07:58 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:56 AM ----------

Like that, Unker no need climb into back seat liao....:biggrin:

Buy those cars must be ready to use Ron 97 loh.....

Yah! depends free service only or with parts....

Shit, means I have to change car soon. :rofl:

The only car I really love and reluctant to sell is the Corolla. Is like my brother to me. :love: