Mitsubishi Airtrek

After much consideration, Airtrek still the best of choice. Lot of ppl like us really like the sound of subaru but when i come to question them bout the parts and mechanic, all scratch head.....not like airtrek, all also say it's evo !!!! LOL !!!! Bro, do u know Ah Wah very well?

not like very well. i install evo8 cam at his place last week. so far, he's a ok guy. and the mechanic are ok. but even ah wah are very familiar with airtrek, u need to monitor his worker's workmanship. last time the guy forgot to install one of my vacuum hose. luckily nothing happen just boost meter not working. ah wah is really has bad memory skill, he only remember his customer by car plate number. hahah. on n all, maybe major part related to engine and powertrain, better seek him. but if only small work like maintenance job, maybe other's can do.

Not all evo parts can install to our treks, but most of it can. some of it only minor different and need mod to install. i do like boxer sound alot and dream of owning it, but it quite high maintenance and it need expert mechanic to work with. but rotary is even worse than boxer. like u said just now, alot of malaysian mechanic can do airtrek. but still complicated case only u need expert.

Bro, how often ur airtrek give u problems? Now the think worried me is maintenance wise....I scared the car will bring me lots of problem then no point liao.....I not tat rich to always repair car person as I've lot of commitments....no doubt I really like tat car but the above worries me. Please advice bro.....ur reply is much appreciated..

I have had mine for 9 years - it is now 11 years old. 135k, driven hard, serviced every 6 months. Only problem has been the IACV...

u can only take my case as a study not comparison. ive been driving airtrek to work for almost 3 years now. every 2 month need to change engine oil. and im living at port klang which is the road is like crap. so almost every year bushes is out. even my adjustable felt alot softer now. hehe. on n all my advice is to get 2nd car like kancil or kelisa or maybe other compact car then this beloved airtrek is very good for long distance driving which is u have performance and space as well. but dont expect too much from this car, for example u want tackle corner like u drive an evo or impreza or touge race uphill or downhill cause is quite heavy and its an auto trans. but what i can promise u is high speed on highways which is so steady and my wife can even sleep well when im driving 180-190kmh and im not making this up. stock speed cut is 190kmh and easily 250kmh once dump the speed cut. cruising 120kmh with only 2000rpm which very low engine sound and im also sleepy. 140kmh feels like 90kmh on other car. this car is design for high speed cruising but not that furious to tackle high speed corner. if ur really a corner freak, need to spend some cash to improve handling. so my conclusion is that airtrek is 85% evo except for handling and abit detuned turbo engine. maintenance wise is like also having a 2nd hand 2.0L car with auto transmission. just about the same bro. the more u keep driving hard, the more the maintenance. better get a motorcycle or compact if u want to drive to work. and FYI, i just bought a kancil recently waiting for the loan to approve. gudluck on buying airtrek n dont worry because it will perform well over expectation IF u r true tuner fans. remember, u are not buying a race car. u r buying family suv but perform almost like an EVO.

Guys, thanks a lot for the advice....btw is Ah Wah a honest person....coz i might buying the airtrek from him.....he say the car is in good condition leh...he just change the gear box and painted the car to white.....and went to test the car today.....overall is ok but the under carriage bit out la......

• IMG_20131023_172933.jpg
    IMG_20131023_172933.jpg
    113.7 KB · Views: 126
i'm not sure as i dont want to make wrong assumption.. take your time cause ur aint buying a 150 ringgit bycycle. u r buying a 60 000 ringgit car. so, do alot of survey and research. u have right to choose. as u already test drive this one, why dont u go search used car near ur place and test drive 2 or 3 more airtrek and compare.. chill out ok. i saw this car as last week the painting is in progress. original color is red.

---------- Post added at 08:44 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:42 AM ----------

and if u r buying this airtrek, it would be nicer if u paint the scoop in black. :biggrin:

Guys, thanks a lot for the advice....btw is Ah Wah a honest person....coz i might buying the airtrek from him.....he say the car is in good condition leh...he just change the gear box and painted the car to white.....and went to test the car today.....overall is ok but the under carriage bit out la......

Undercarriage out? Ah! that is most important part in case got accident before....:smokin:

i'm not sure as i dont want to make wrong assumption.. take your time cause ur aint buying a 150 ringgit bycycle. u r buying a 60 000 ringgit car. so, do alot of survey and research. u have right to choose. as u already test drive this one, why dont u go search used car near ur place and test drive 2 or 3 more airtrek and compare.. chill out ok. i saw this car as last week the painting is in progress. original color is red.

---------- Post added at 08:44 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:42 AM ----------

and if u r buying this airtrek, it would be nicer if u paint the scoop in black. :biggrin:

to be frank, his selling this car to me at 45k...yup i saw the original paint....but the car interior is quite bad condition....i've tested 3 airtrek and tis one is the best so far in terms of its power ( whether Ah Wah tune it or not but when i ask, he say all ori and he never touch at all )...thus, the other 2 airtrek was bit under power maybe the boost is low......
sincerely, me and wife oso quite like tat car since oredi painted white......if i buy tat car, i will ask Ah Wah to paint the scoop n the top to black :biggrin::biggrin:

---------- Post added at 09:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:17 AM ----------

Undercarriage out? Ah! that is most important part in case got accident before....:smokin:

i'm not sure whether got major accident or not but it will come to know during puspakom inspection rite :confused:

ok then.. makesure all the chasis are in good condition.. power wise, its only a piece of cake. even i myself can do up power or up boost of ur car.. i can even increase ur car power with only spend 3 ringgit..

---------- Post added at 09:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:23 AM ----------

---------- Post added at 09:19 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:17 AM ----------

[/COLOR]

i'm not sure whether got major accident or not but it will come to know during puspakom inspection rite :confused:[/QUOTE]

u will know if u are following the inspection.

ok then.. makesure all the chasis are in good condition.. power wise, its only a piece of cake. even i myself can do up power or up boost of ur car.. i can even increase ur car power with only spend 3 ringgit..

---------- Post added at 09:24 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:23 AM ----------

[/COLOR]

i'm not sure whether got major accident or not but it will come to know during puspakom inspection rite :confused:

u will know if u are following the inspection.[/QUOTE]

ok then, i'll make sure follow to inspection and the car condition is 100% accident free.....then only i sign the agreement......onwards, u need to bring me to spend RM 3 to power up my car...:rock:

u go buy the aquarium oxigen separator.. the one they call "tulang ikan".. then i up boost ur car.. makesure u already install boost meter. :banghead:

everything stock can go 0.9 bar... want to go more have to get steel evo BOV or aftermarket one. but then need to tune for fuel efficiency. might need FPR as well.

K&N is oil type filter. it traps fine dust but it the oil also can transfered to the AFR sensor.. that might shortened its life.

everything stock can go 0.9 bar... want to go more have to get steel evo BOV or aftermarket one. but then need to tune for fuel efficiency. might need FPR as well.

Wats FPR? which recommended BOV to install....coz i like those Pishhh sound.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:34 PM ----------

K&N is absolutely the best., Just go with it without doing much of a thinking.

K&N good ah? but i like HKS le.....will seek for Ah Wah advice later on....:smokin:

Bro., The higher the boost the richer the fuel, how to tune for fuel efficiency?

what i mean is not that the fuel consumption can be better, its just need to tune to know that with all the fuel pressure and mapping is it ok or not with current boosting.. at least we know are we running too lean or too rich.. then it would be wasted if we're giving too much fuel for nothing. even the engine response would be affected also if were running rich. am i rite bro vr2?