Is The Flying Car FINALLY here?

Well, I just found something that I believe that many have always had this idea especially us who are always stucked in a traffic jam during peak hours and hoping that our car could just fly over all those cars whenever there are heavy traffics

While imaginations/dreams are those things that make something come into reality..after so many years since my childhood, well it could be back to 30 or 50 years ago that someone had that kind of imagination and wish cars could fly...just that it is not yet a reality at that time. :dontknow:

Well this is what I found on the net...amazingly impressive...300hp and can go as far as 500miles.

Just to share an article.

Is the flying car FINALLY here? First model set to go on sale in two years - and there is even a version that can take off vertically if you get stuck in a traffic jam

• [*]The £190,000 ($300,00) Transition is part-sedan, part-private jet and is due to
    go on sale in 2015
    [*]Designers have also released plans for a TF-X model that can vertically take off
    from a standing position.

The first flying cars are set to go on sale to the public as early as 2015.

Terrafugia has announced its Transition design, which is part sedan, part private jet with two seats, four wheels and wings that fold up so it can be driven like a car, will be on sale in less than two years.

The Massachusetts-based firm has also unveiled plans for a TF-X model that will be small enough to fit in a garage, and won't need a runway to take off.

article-2321160-19ACC362000005DC-132_634x323.jpg

An artist's mock-up of what the TF-X model will look like during flight. Terrafugia announced today that it's working on the TF-X, a flying car that can take-off from standing still, and is hoping it will be available within 12 years

article-2321160-19ACC356000005DC-582_634x286.jpg

Motorised rotors attached to the wings of the TF-X, announced today, make it possible to take off from standing still. This means cars could switch from driving to flying when they encounter traffic. However, the wingspan requires a diameter of 100 feet to do so

Well, just post bits of it, the rest you can read in the link below:

Source:
Is the flying car FINALLY here? Terrafugia Transition set to go on sale in two years | Mail Online

The vertical takeoff car concept - YouTube

Enjoy. I'm impressed. :congrats:

I think the main issue with flying cars is not how to make the cars fly but more on the traffic control. Just imagine if there are several of them flying up at the same time from the same road which in traffic jams. There can be possible accidents and if that occurs it will be quite catasthrophic as opposed to just fender benders of normal cars. But I suppose the price of admission will prevent many from having one. :)

Well, this was true with the airline industry in the early years of flight as well.

If the technology is viable, regulation and mass utilization would definitely follow suit.

Well, this was true with the airline industry in the early years of flight as well.

If the technology is viable, regulation and mass utilization would definitely follow suit.

Yes, I believe there will be new rules for such cars on the road or maybe some empty spots created for them to take off during a traffic jam or so. But then to me, if your car can fly, I wouldn't bother driving actually. Is even faster getting home unless more fuel or whatever it is use would cost more than driving.

Also to take off vertically, it needs at least 100m of space all round as per the article. So, if it is to narrow, it can't take off on the spot it seems. So still have some restrictions which I think providing a suitable space for take off would be better.

Also the price of it not everyone can afford. US300K. If comes to malaysia....after Taxed...I wonder how much it will cost by then.

Only the datuks will be owning them or so. So no more annoying outriders clearing the road for the big shots since now they can fly :rofl:

Yes but airplane must only take off and land at specific places (i.e. airports), while flying cars are suppossed to be able to take off and land anywhere. I'm not sure how the prevention would be to minimize the risk of air collisions if got high volume of flying cars sharing same spaces around a big city. I think that's where the technology is still lacking maybe.

I don't understand why we want a car to fly. If we wana travel by air, use an airplane. By land, use a car. If multi-function, that we gotta have.

Yes but airplane must only take off and land at specific places (i.e. airports), while flying cars are suppossed to be able to take off and land anywhere. I'm not sure how the prevention would be to minimize the risk of air collisions if got high volume of flying cars sharing same spaces around a big city. I think that's where the technology is still lacking maybe.

Yep, true. Some form of auto pilot when flying could be useful. US military drones already prove the technology is there, so that's one possibility to minimize the risk of a mid-air collision.

Maybe small airstrips along the highways, like an R&R so that you are only able to take flight in certain controlled locations (so not really fly-on-the-spot kind of thing, but could still be useful).

Just a few ideas..hehe

I don't understand why we want a car to fly. If we wana travel by air, use an airplane. By land, use a car. If multi-function, that we gotta have.

Agree. But then i wonder how are they gonna implement the traffic. Once crash, drop speed is fatal.

Can land anywhere is a plus point la but then stricter rules have to be enforced to really prevent any accidents. Maximum height is 1400 feet. 200mph. Price wise, wont have too many able to own one. Like how many lambos we see on the road daily if compared to Myvis? :biggrin:

Agree. But then i wonder how are they gonna implement the traffic. Once crash, drop speed is fatal.

Same goes to how they control Planes, those once crash fatality is even worse. There are risks in these but then just need proper rules and making sure the flying car is created with strict QC check and frequent maintenance check for it. Make it something that not everyone can afford is one of the way not to congest traffic on air :biggrin:

id rather drive an fully modded evo7 & get stucked in the jam :biggrin:

But not everyone get to fly something as experience in life besides pilot :biggrin:

And ya this flying car would take u to ur destination. Seems like there is an autopilot function.
If cars can create an Auto Parking function. I believe they can have an Anti-Collision Function.

Like detect obstructions ahead a hundred meter or KM ahead

Flying is more economical for long distance travel while shorter distance land travel will win. But just where is the cross-over point needs some number crunching. With the foreseeable upward petroleum price movement, no body would want to fly a fossil fueled flying car, and yet dependable alternative fuel has not seen any daylight.

Other countries maybe but meanwhile in Malaysia this thing can't be possibly flying here. It is speculated that Malaysian drivers cannot develop their driving brain for another 100 years and yet want to let them fly ka? --maybe fly kite ok la.:thefinger: Apologise for my pessimistic view.

so looks like we can take flying license - how to land, reverse park mid-air, the commercial pilot is the bus on the sky. is going to be chaotic on the air, one collision, straight down on the ground. first batch theres always be problem here and there. soo if balik kampung, engine mati on the air. tht would be freaking sux.

I'm going to start selling insurance for home owner's against flying debris, and insurance for flying cars. I'm going to be rich.

You will probably have claim ratio close to 90%. I rather sell funeral package and flying coffin as looking at it more people are going to die soon from flying in these flying cars.:biggrin:

Hopefully they developed a parachute for the car in case of engine failure or when going to crash. Can engage the parachute to land. Heheh! Maybe invent a flying two truck as well....tow the flying car on air :biggrin: