'Flying' Toyota

ylkien

I'm driving a AE111 toyota (1996 model w/o ABS). The whole car is stock, including the wheels & suspension.

The problem arises when I am driving >100kmh. It feels like the car is flying and it isn't gripping the road (using bridgestone tyres). Is it due to the suspension, or because the car is light, or something else?

Your advice is much appreciated!

when the problem occur?i mean u din have tis problem before?

mine seg AE101 yr 93 also got feeling like 'flying ' when high speed but its stock abs,so....

I had that feeling on my old car last time. But it depends on the road.
It wouldnt be flying if the road is dead flat, smooth & straight. Once
the road is not so smooth then the 'flying' feeling starts to happen.
It is because of worn absorbers. The rebound & contraction of the
absorber is dead. U can try pushing down your back & front bonnet &
look at the absorber reaction.
There is no way that your car is too light... all corollas are heavy as hell..
that is why they always lose out to civics.. lol!

oo...ae111 local model ?
yes its more lighter than ae101 local model cuz of the generation upgraded
but at high speed all car oso have flying feelin depends on how fast it goes...
120kmh or 170 kmh?
mine ae111 local model consider ok cuz i neva go up 130kmh b4
but ae101 still ok n not flyin at 160kmh.....
all wif std abs n no stabilizer bar or watsoever...no prob....
i oso cant figure out....wats wrong

totally agree with u bro,corollas damn heavy
ylkien,might due to your abs is dead
i don't have any flying feeling when i go over 140 kmh
just feel the car is abit light not flying
depends on road condition too

Just want to be sure of the cause of it...Don't want to spend unnecessary money cause condition not good nowadays :(

So, it is the (stock) suspension which is the problem?

thanks for your advices!

the spring might be KO. better change with new absorber if the condition seems bad.