Need some info about brake pads

Is this brand still available in malaysia? The pads you kept for so long d still able to use? Hahaha I was curious about the cold bite for these kind of pad as well, now I know [emoji16]

Yup, in storage. Should be usable. You really need to try it to get the feel, like no brakes......lol

i think should be ok as long no moisture.. imagine some car suddenly swerve into your lane and you got no brakes shit is gonna end badly :rofl:

Yup, used to Bendix that time, after 2km reach Federal highway, brakes already warm up so know the feel. Then when changed to King's when on Federal even following slow traffic in jam, cannot feel the bite at all. Too scary so after only a week take out dy.....

What's the working temperature of this king's pad? bendix after few stops can feel the bite already hahaha...do you have to trash your king's pad hard only you will have bite?

my opinion, temps are just a good gauge of how well the brake pads can perform... though the higher the temp doesnt mean it will bite better or last better.

without mentioning brands,

I've tried a 550c brake pad on SIC... it started fading during outlap... OUTPLAP!!! i didnt even "VTEC YO!" during the outlap! hot laps even worse....start/finish straight, i had to brake slightly before the 200m mark... and i was practically standing on the pedal. after 2 hot laps... ccome in to the pits.. the pads were smoking. this was about 5 years ago... not sure if the formulation has changed now. these pads were awesome on the streets for normal drive though, cold bite and normal driving it bites well

i then changed to a cheaper and lower temp pad (i think 400c)....it held up great! no fade whatsoever, and i was actually able to start braking at the 150m mark (because thats when my balls takes over my brain)... seriously it was great. even after 5 hot laps oso still no fade...love these pads and still using the same pads after changing to a different caliper. cold bite is decent enough....but really bites when it gets up to temp.

so it isnt just about the temp rating....how it regulates the temps also matters... how well the pads handle the heat given to it and how fast/slow it reaches its temp limits.

What's the working temperature of this king's pad? bendix after few stops can feel the bite already hahaha...do you have to trash your king's pad hard only you will have bite?

800 degree c. I tested that time, drive with my left foot on the brakes.....hahhahaha

Then when reached highway went to 140 to 150kph then just have to tap the brake, the bite is instant. What a difference from daily drive......lol:rofl:

my opinion, temps are just a good gauge of how well the brake pads can perform... though the higher the temp doesnt mean it will bite better or last better.

I've tried a 550c brake pad on SIC... it started fading during outlap... OUTPLAP!!! i didnt even "VTEC YO!" during the outlap! hot laps even worse....start/finish straight, i had to brake slightly before the 200m mark... and i was practically standing on the pedal. after 2 hot laps... ccome in to the pits.. the pads were smoking. this was about 5 years ago... not sure if the formulation has changed now. these pads were awesome on the streets for normal drive though, cold bite and normal driving it bites well

i then changed to a cheaper and lower temp pad (i think 400c)....it held up great! no fade whatsoever, and i was actually able to start braking at the 150m mark (because thats when my balls takes over my brain)... seriously it was great. even after 5 hot laps oso still no fade...love these pads and still using the same pads after changing to a different caliper. cold bite is decent enough....but really bites when it gets up to temp.

so it isnt just about the temp rating....how it regulates the temps also matters... how well the pads handle the heat given to it and how fast/slow it reaches its temp limits.

Very nice info you have there, mind sharing what's the brand of this 400c pad that you are using now? :biggrin:

800 degree c. I tested that time, drive with my left foot on the brakes.....hahhahaha

Then when reached highway went to 140 to 150kph then just have to tap the brake, the bite is instant. What a difference from daily drive......lol:rofl:

wow your left foot were on the brakes for quite long eh? hahah you mean the bite is instant strong bite instead of progressive feeling like the normal pads?

:biggrin::biggrin: bro madman....If you dont mentioned brands....Then how we going to know which is the good brand you talking? Then later all genuinely make mistake go buy the bad 550c pads....Habis la like that....:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: come come....Tell la the brand for both.....:biggrin:

wow your left foot were on the brakes for quite long eh? hahah you mean the bite is instant strong bite instead of progressive feeling like the normal pads?

Yup, from no brakes when cold to instant bite when very hot. I love that feel but cannot get it that hot during daily drive......lol
Is like you want to slow down, no need stomp on the pedal, just tap and can feel the bite....:driver:

:biggrin::biggrin: bro madman....If you dont mentioned brands....Then how we going to know which is the good brand you talking? Then later all genuinely make mistake go buy the bad 550c pads....Habis la like that....:rofl::rofl::rofl::rofl: come come....Tell la the brand for both.....:biggrin:

ahahahahahha... good point.

400c is Bendix Metal King Titanium. Over a decade ago i've also used the Gold version or something like that for SIC... also very good.

550c...i let u guys guess first la... its already been mentioned in this thread :P

400c is Bendix Metal King Titanium. Over a decade ago i've also used the Gold version or something like that for SIC... also very good.

550c...i let u guys guess first la... its already been mentioned in this thread :P

Huh didn't know Bendix MKT is up to 400c, thought it's just around 300c.
The other one is Ultrex 550c?

Huh didn't know Bendix MKT is up to 400c, thought it's just around 300c.
The other one is Ultrex 550c?

Can't find the heat range for Bendix but I thought Metal King was higher like 450 or so. 300 maybe the General CT range

Hehehehe....Ok...550c is either RapidStop or Ultrex lor......The only 2 550c pads mentioned.....So which is it??? Dont la make us guess....Heheheh:driver::driver:

Bendix had the Metal King Plus, Metal King Gold then the Titanium. Used all 3 before switching to Trestor Advantage.......:driver:

Yup, from no brakes when cold to instant bite when very hot. I love that feel but cannot get it that hot during daily drive......lol
Is like you want to slow down, no need stomp on the pedal, just tap and can feel the bite....:driver:

Nice explanation there :biggrin: now i know how would it feel like hahah if only we can get best of both world...but wouldn't the brake fluids be boiling at that temperature? (normal dot4)

Nope, the surface of the rotor against the pads are at the hottest. Not your whole calipers are at that temperature, more over the brake fluid are behind your brake pistons. If you over heat the whole caliper then your brake fluid will boil

I see :biggrin:.....do you know what's the working temperature of brake fluid during normal daily commuting usage? I always thought that the temperature are not far off with the fluids considering it's indirectly in contact. eg rotor>pads>piston>fluid

I don't know the exact boiling temperature but it overheated with me and my 3-speed auto downhill genting with 1-2 gears all the way down. DOT4 btw.