4g91 or 4g93?

Spoonz

please help me in making this important decision? i`m planning of making an engine swap. my car is 2004 proton satria se with 4g15 using siemens vdo. i`m planning of using a potent mitsu n.a eng. which one is more reliable and cost effective? 4g91 = 120 hp
4g93= 140 hp
is it true? the difference is only 20 hp.....if im using 4g91 for sure i can speed alongside stock 4g93 with slight mod on my 4g91. also i will enjoy low fuel consumption and lower road tax. anybody with good advice pls help me...and the cost of 4g91 engine swap vs 4g93?

i m 4G91 user too
this engine totaly cost me RM 3,410.00

4G91 only got 115ps on engine - when power come to wheel should be around 90++ps
4G93 is 140ps on engine(not very sure) - when come to wheel should be around 110++ps

4G91 with some mod and put in Satria can follow close to GTI
but if on wira (sorry, u can't)
one of our forumer taikor alvin24 previously with 4G91 T got 170++ps on wheel (not remember already) even an GSR also cannot follow him

but from my point of view
1. if u got a-bit extra money
2. u don't like to mod here, mod there (because many part will not long last as original)
3. not plan to change car at least 5 years (if not pls go directly to a new car)

u can choose 4G93 DOHC N/A (i think half cut will cost more 1.5K)

if the otherway round pls take 4G91 N/A

thanx for ur opinion. btw can u PM me the specs of your engine. (3410 including labour and parts replacement or just 1/2 cut itself). I plan to put hi cams, s-afc2, adj fuel regulator. what are the potential hp I can gain..?

Hi cam + Safc + f.regulator = 10% increment (bad tuner) or 30% increment (expert tuner). So choose you mechanic wisely.

hi guys,
personally i would choose a 93 over a 91.
say in the future if u plan to go a little more to the extreme, u already have a good engine base to build up. u can either go turbo(GSR) or hybrid 1.8 mivec.
if u want more power, u have to pay for the power. :)

I'm one of 4g91 user, quite some time oledi..

I think if u have the budget to get hi cam, safc & fuel regulator.. than just hold that back and go for 4g93 stock..

even if 4g91 modded to higher hp than a stock 4g93, ull end up with

1. higher fuel consumption than a stock 4g93 (major issue)

2. reliability issues

3. sucks low end power, (hi cam ma, low end power lost big time)

but if u plan to get a 4g91 still, go ahead.. ull be welcomed in our gang none the less

m a v [3] r i c k said:
hi guys,
personally i would choose a 93 over a 91.
say in the future if u plan to go a little more to the extreme, u already have a good engine base to build up. u can either go turbo(GSR) or hybrid 1.8 mivec.
if u want more power, u have to pay for the power. :)
maybe maverick is right.....
with 93 i got a good base to modify....
of course ma...more power more money...

Bro, go for 4g93

I've tried 4g91 also..

U just try both first & u will know which to get....

have more money, go for 4g93... less money go for 4g91...
FC depends vr much on ur leg and correct setting on the car...

if u intend to go further after this conversion, go for 4g93 la... has more potential... later u feel bored with 4g91 then takkan change engine again...

SkYwAlKeR said:
have more money, go for 4g93... less money go for 4g91...
FC depends vr much on ur leg and correct setting on the car...

if u intend to go further after this conversion, go for 4g93 la... has more potential... later u feel
bored with 4g91 then takkan change engine again...

Yup correct, go 4g93 straight away....no regrets

anybody out there have done engine swap with 4g93?
just want to know the exact cost.....
halfcut + wear n tear parts replace + labour + inspection = ???
anyone with experience??

a.p 4 4g91 engine.

hi guys. i,m looking 4 a.p engine 4g91. a.p onli.i have engine without a.p.soo al runners and sifu plz help me....... :rolleyes:

4g93 4g91 how is fuel spend ,and twincam will expensive to maintain?

fc is about the samelah, stock for stock. depending on your driving style, very close.. if you have a heavy foot, logically the 93 might net you better figures (not by much)

speaking about dohc vs sohc (you did not specify which) major dif would be
-initial cost, generally a dohc engine would costs more than a sohc unit
-timing belt, dohc runs 2 cams so its abit longer (obviously abit more exp)