Please advice (gearbox)

jzhost said:
how could you said that a mivec 1.6 gb is same with stock 1.6 and also 1.8? if so called "SAME" will not all ppl using 1.8gb changed to mivec gb.

FYI, i personally own a mivec gb, 1.8 gb and 1.6 gb... all three gb final is diff. i guest i know better than you with my own experience.

tajulsans said:

dear jzhost & tajul sans...both of u expert better about proton gearbox than me laa...maybe...expert with 'feel' experience

FYI, my satria project car currently using straight cut gears with close ratio. All the gears we custom made except 1st & reverse gear.

Then, we are knowing very well about proton gearboxes and gear ratios. Please don't speak too much if u know nothing!

Merely opening up a single gearbox and making costum gears doesnt mean u r already a gearbox expert man.. plus u made it urself meh?? u count every single gear there is in the gearbox meh.. people who play GT3 only also can know bout gear box, doent mean u have to do a custom stuff to be expert.. dont tell me if i make a project car, sending it for the pomen to do convertion to EVO then i am evo expert.. ROTFL.. if u can derive how gear ratio is calculated, and proof there is no diff of ratio between mivec, 1.6 and 1.8 gb.. then u r a gearbox expert.. but still i trust what i learn in college more laa...

Oohh...a college boy...sound's good...I'm not telling u that I'm gearbox expert man...but nobody ask me about the different ratios between mivec,1.6 & 1.8 proton gb!

Before we make the close ratio straight cut gear, we already studied all the gear ratio either mivec,1.6 or 1.8. Starting we make the final drive then go to speed gear 1 by 1. We have R&D n a lot experience about proton gearbox.

Do u know how many gear teeth(1st ~5th gear) at input shaft, intermediate shaft, output shaft & crown gears? maybe u know how to calculate the gear ratios but we know better than that!

That's why I want to tell u guys that 1.6 & 1.8 proton gearbox have the same ratios. No different. Mivec have 4.592 final drive ratio & 0.756 on 5th gear ratio, others gears ratio same with 1.6 & 1.8 gb.

To softmuffin, sorry to make u 'pening kepala' but just to give a little knowledge to u, n so for the others. Anyway u can choice either u want to buy used gb or u want overhaul that gb. If u want to overhaul repair, I can assist u. Many things that we need to 'learn'. :rock:

listen to me...im mechanic here...if i face this problem,i will take off the gear box and see the clucth plate even got or not..then if still ok,check the gear oil..if dirty,check the gear box...juz open up it and see the gear gigi..thats all...easy works~!

TXtreme said:
That's why I want to tell u guys that 1.6 & 1.8 proton gearbox have the same ratios. No different. Mivec have 4.592 final drive ratio & 0.756 on 5th gear ratio, others gears ratio same with 1.6 & 1.8 gb.

im not gearbox expert too...
but i agree with wat this guy saying....he is right :)

"That's why I want to tell u guys that 1.6 & 1.8 proton gearbox have the same ratios. No different. Mivec have 4.592 final drive ratio & 0.756 on 5th gear ratio, others gears ratio same with 1.6 & 1.8 gb."

Yeah, even Proton's website mention that 1.6 and 1.8 gearboxes (the F5M22 ones) have same ratios. But the 5th gear on Proton's F5M22 is also 0.756, isn't it? I recall that the 2nd, 3rd and 4th gear ratios are the same for F5M21 and F5M22.

From Mitsubishi's transaxle overhaul manual, there's no mention of Proton's F5M21VRBE that's used by 1.3/1.5. But we can see that Proton's gearboxes share the same 1st+2nd, 3rd+4th and 5th gear ratios as the Mitsubishi ones.

jswong Yeah said:
in our record, 5th gear ratio for 1.6/1.8 proton is 0.777 coz its using 4.322 final drive.
for 1.3/1.5, also same ratio with 1.6 but just only ratio for 1st gear is 3.363, 1.6/1.8 has 3.083 for 1st gear ratio :)

gearbox

TX,

hi great info on the gearbox, could u pls advise me of my gearbox as below:

driving a 4g92 sohc auto, during tsunami days, my autobox konked, so changed to manual, the manual gearbox's code is F5M222RRKE, then my rpm and speedo meter konked (not accurate enuff), just need to know when i rev my engine to 6000 rpm at 2nd gear, what should b the speedo like? need to know this coz i'm trying 2 break a century record....

also pls advise me this gearbox 2wd F5M222RRKE comes from which vehicle? what's the gear ratio like? n pls help me to calculate the above maths...

thank u so much!!!

kennethfong said:
TX,

hi great info on the gearbox, could u pls advise me of my gearbox as below:

driving a 4g92 sohc auto, during tsunami days, my autobox konked, so changed to manual, the manual gearbox's code is F5M222RRKE, then my rpm and speedo meter konked (not accurate enuff), just need to know when i rev my engine to 6000 rpm at 2nd gear, what should b the speedo like? need to know this coz i'm trying 2 break a century record....

also pls advise me this gearbox 2wd F5M222RRKE comes from which vehicle? what's the gear ratio like? n pls help me to calculate the above maths...

thank u so much!!!

hi kenneth...
ohh god...I`m not expert in all mitsubishi gearbox man :tongue: but I will check with other members F5M222RRKE comes from which model...I think the gear ratios same with 1.6/1.8 proton gb maybe...

refer to our calculation if u are using 14 or 15 inches of wheel and u rev yur engine on 6k rpm in 2nd gear, yur speedo must 78km/h something...

hI there,

1.6 satria gearbox
my second gear can go max 40++ only rav until 7K.
Is this my gearbox is problem?

TXtreme said:
hi kenneth...
ohh god...I`m not expert in all mitsubishi gearbox man :tongue: but I will check with other members F5M222RRKE comes from which model...I think the gear ratios same with 1.6/1.8 proton gb maybe...

refer to our calculation if u are using 14 or 15 inches of wheel and u rev yur engine on 6k rpm in 2nd gear, yur speedo must 78km/h something...

softmuffin said:
hI there,

1.6 satria gearbox
my second gear can go max 40++ only rav until 7K.
Is this my gearbox is problem?

I think if no problem with yur speedo meter, maybe u got problem with yur clutch laa...now is the time to change yur clutch plate...am i right? :rolleyes:

Well for ur info,

i did change my clutch, clutch plate and bearing.
but still same problem.

Please advise

TXtreme said:
I think if no problem with yur speedo meter, maybe u got problem with yur clutch laa...now is the time to change yur clutch plate...am i right? :rolleyes:

textreme,

thanks for the feedback!! anyway i'm using 16 inch 205/45/16.....
sorry forgot to tell ya, think my mech says this gbox comes from japanese mitsu NA 4g93, btw, i thought all 93 gb comes standard with their ability to hit 100km/h in the end of second gear, need a confirmation?

thanks again!!

kennethfong said:
textreme,

thanks for the feedback!! anyway i'm using 16 inch 205/45/16.....
sorry forgot to tell ya, think my mech says this gbox comes from japanese mitsu NA 4g93, btw, i thought all 93 gb comes standard with their ability to hit 100km/h in the end of second gear, need a confirmation?

thanks again!!

if that gbox using at mitsu 4G93, the gears ratio are same with 1.6/1.8 proton gbox..
yes...u can hit 100km/h with 2nd gear but rpm must reach to 7700 rpm...your rpm cut-off how much ha :rolleyes:

hmmm, guess my rpm n speedo are out....

i've checked thru the rpm vs speedo calculator provided on the web n ur right, the 2nd gear ratio of 1.947 couldn't possibly b hitting 100km/h unless u do a >7k rpm......

so any info on F5M222RRKE?

Hi there,

Just to ask a question here..

Iam using a 1.6 proton..change the engine to a 4g93 sohc mitsu engine but still using 1.6 auto gb.. recently, got an offer to change to a 2.0 diesel gb.
wat is the difference btw a 1.8 and a 2.0 gb. ( which model is the 2.0 gb comes from)
in terms of performance and durabilty?
weight of two models.?

which one should i go for in terms of above.

philipplim said:
Hi there,

Just to ask a question here..

Iam using a 1.6 proton..change the engine to a 4g93 sohc mitsu engine but still using 1.6 auto gb.. recently, got an offer to change to a 2.0 diesel gb.
wat is the difference btw a 1.8 and a 2.0 gb. ( which model is the 2.0 gb comes from)
in terms of performance and durabilty?
weight of two models.?

which one should i go for in terms of above.

dear phillipp,

2.0 diesel gb comes from wira 2.0 diesel like wira budget airport limo...your 1.6 engine sure not enough power to use this gb laa coz its final drive ratio about 4.0 something...

better using 1.6/1.8 gb...same weight with 2.0 diesel gb

Hi there,

Thanks for the reply..but one thing is iam no longer using a 1.6 engine...i have converted to a 1.8 sohc mitsu engine...so u guys think that its not good using a 2.0 Gb on it?

wats the difference if the final ratio of the Gb is higher...sorrie guys..not really familiar with gearboxes and the ratios ..mind any sifu telling me or explain to me the differences and also which Gb is recomended for me to use...

sorry my dear...I`m forgot that u changed to 4G93 already...my suggestion is u need to use 1.6/1.8 gb laa...coz 2.0 diesel gb not enough kick to use laa...very slow pick up...just for high speed little bit fastest than others gb if your engine very powerful...even perdana 2.0 sohc engine using same ratio with 1.6/1.8 gb.