Pros and cons of engine braking?

I will update, when get proper mat. lol....now, at traffic light stop. I need to pull the mat to its original position...aiyaaa

yeah still around. Actually it have velcro tho. But like to breakup little pieces of black rubber over time.

It is already at its highest position. Just now while driving, I tried a different approach on stepping the brake pedal. Instead of the pressing it with my toe area, I placed my foot further up and used the middle area of my foot to apply the brakes. Almost like how Tom did on his video. Somehow, this is easier for my heel to reach the throttle pedal but because I'm still not used to braking in this way, braking is still not so consistent yet. I should try on this method more and see how it goes.

Mine can adjust.
You brake with your toes?

Cannot remember whether can adjust or not, since I sold my Wira in 2003.....lol

You brake with your toes?

Cannot remember whether can adjust or not, since I sold my Wira in 2003.....lol

Hmm, I don't know the exact name for that part of the foot but is like behind the toe area there? The front section of the foot.

Anyway, I need to thank 6UE5t for highlighting the carpet adjustment yesterday. Today, the whole throttle feels different and so much easier to press. I could even press the throttle further down during full throttle than before. How dumb I am for driving throughout the past 3 years while being hindered by the carpet all these while. :banghead:

Good what, at least not over speeding. Hahahaha

It also means that I am actually not pushing the throttle to its true limit. :biggrin: Plus the pedal feels lighter now because the carpet is not there restricting it. I haven't got used to this lighter pedal feel yet. But it is now more fun to drive.

Hmm, I don't know the exact name for that part of the foot but is like behind the toe area there? The front section of the foot.

Anyway, I need to thank 6UE5t for highlighting the carpet adjustment yesterday. Today, the whole throttle feels different and so much easier to press. I could even press the throttle further down during full throttle than before. How dumb I am for driving throughout the past 3 years while being hindered by the carpet all these while. :banghead:

Hahaha good for you then! Glad to be of any help. :biggrin:

Once again thanks a lot for the tip. Now, I changed the way on how I step the brake pedal and now I'm able to reach the throttle pedal with my heel despite the unevenly aligned pedals. Now I need to practice on the timing and braking because I either brake too hard than needed until I lose a lot of speed or I over revved with my heel. Hard to do it on low speed city drive.

Wah! means you had the carpet under your throttle pedal all these while......lol

Once again thanks a lot for the tip. Now, I changed the way on how I step the brake pedal and now I'm able to reach the throttle pedal with my heel despite the unevenly aligned pedals. Now I need to practice on the timing and braking because I either brake too hard than needed until I lose a lot of speed or I over revved with my heel. Hard to do it on low speed city drive.

Good lah bro, lets learn together. ZTH anniversary time attack at 2020. hahaha...hopefully free :smokin:
Jokes only lah, Tom..:burnout:

Wah! means you had the carpet under your throttle pedal all these while......lol

Yeah. And I thought that is how it is all these while. Din't thought that the carpet is actually restricting the pedal movement. Driving under restriction until today. Just now I let my brother to drive the car. He ask me, why the pedal feels so loose now. :biggrin:

Suddenly got additional power......hhahhahahah:biggrin:

The car feels way better mechanically than how it is when I got it during 2013. Only the exterior bodywork is worse than before.

I mentioned before here, previously my car feels slower than Myvi 1.3 manual in response, acceleration and torque. Now, I don't even feel fun driving the Myvi anymore because it felt slower than Wira.

After changing the way I step on the brake pedal, it looks like I have been able to perform heel toe successfully for the first time. It is also thanks to Tom's video where I am able to see his feet movements clearly. But I din't always manage to get the perfect balance all the time. More practice is needed but looks like I have made a little progress now. Hope I will be able to get improvements soon.

good to know you've made even more progress renesis,

if you're getting it, you're on your way there in no time.
Now, it's just a matter of repetition and finding that perfect timing,

You'd soon realise that magic window between free and engage in both the clutch pedal and gear lever that you eventually need to sync to achieve perfect execution

good luck

good to know you've made even more progress renesis,

if you're getting it, you're on your way there in no time.
Now, it's just a matter of repetition and finding that perfect timing,

You'd soon realise that magic window between free and engage in both the clutch pedal and gear lever that you eventually need to sync to achieve perfect execution

good luck

All thanks to your guidance and help, Tom. If not, I'll probably won't even get started on rev matching.

Yes, timing is important. Now, I'm working on my right leg movements. How to get that perfect jab with the heel to match the revs accurately. Just like few months ago when I am trying to learn on how to rev match. Sometimes, the revs are too low while sometimes the revs are a bit too high. I'm sure after many more tries, I will eventually get the right spot.

All thanks to your guidance and help, Tom. If not, I'll probably won't even get started on rev matching.

Yes, timing is important. Now, I'm working on my right leg movements. How to get that perfect jab with the heel to match the revs accurately. Just like few months ago when I am trying to learn on how to rev match. Sometimes, the revs are too low while sometimes the revs are a bit too high. I'm sure after many more tries, I will eventually get the right spot.
Great

On the topic of revving too high like you mentioned, that's still okay for now, if it's just a few hundred RPMs.

it gives you an opportunity to time your clutch release later to meet as the revs drop

So just remember the more the excess revs, the slower your actions can be and vice versa

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

Great

On the topic of revving too high like you mentioned, that's still okay for now, if it's just a few hundred RPMs.

it gives you an opportunity to time your clutch release later to meet as the revs drop

So just remember the more the excess revs, the slower your actions can be and vice versa

Sent from my SM-N9208 using Tapatalk

Thanks for this tip. Yeah, it is just a few hundred RPM higher than the intended RPM. This is less frequent during higher RPM but more frequent in lower RPM like trying to rev match at under 3000 rpm. I'll take note on the clutch release timing next time.

Learning all these is like stepping into a larger world in driving manual transmission. It is things like these that makes me enjoy driving manual transmission so much. Despite newer tech like double clutch gearbox that shifts faster and rev matches automatically during down shifts, they do not carry as much fun and engagement as manual do.

Some might argue that those newer transmission are more efficient and faster but for me when it comes to driving, specs and figures are not everything. It is more of a feeling kind of thing. Sometimes, the fastest car is not the most fun to drive while a slow car could be a really fun car to drive.