Wira faulty oil pump

Owh okay. So you would recommend to use diesel eo? Your engine use hydraulic lifters which means it auto adjusts? So, you're using diff type of eo so that you could eliminate the noise right? . Mine is a 4g15 where I could adjust the tappet to eliminate the sound if the tappet is the main issue kan? :wavey:

Not just any diesel engine oil, those rated for both petrol and diesel cars, mean S and C rated. Those rated C strictly for diesel car don't use....lol

Diesel EO gets rid of dirt super well, but the additives aren't really ngam for petrol engines. You can use this for 1 oil change just to get crap out of your engine then use a good oil to mask the tappet noise.

Shell FS is pretty shit at masking noise though. Y2188 has experience with it:rofl:

Those Diesel EO rated for both Petrol and Diesel, not those strictly for diesel cars......lol

whoa.. your lifters damn loose. like there's no oil there.. during cold start, open the oil cap and see if there's any oil moving in there.

Yup, very bad. Mine only click clack a while, and once oil is up no more....:driver:

apparently is heard the same on wira se 4g15 quite a lot.....

just reopen and check valve clearance....

whoa.. your lifters damn loose. like there's no oil there.. during cold start, open the oil cap and see if there's any oil moving in there.

Owh, okay. I got you some pictures, you might wanna have a look at that. The first pic is before I start the car, as a reference. The second pic is after I start the car, maybe around 3-4 mins after I crank. Im not sure if the pictures are helpful, but who knows, maybe you could find something from it. Thank you. :driver:

• WhatsApp Image 2017-07-23 at 10.45.09 PM(1).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2017-07-23 at 10.45.09 PM(1).jpeg
    77.5 KB · Views: 145
  • WhatsApp Image 2017-07-23 at 10.45.08 PM(1).jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2017-07-23 at 10.45.08 PM(1).jpeg
    94.3 KB · Views: 147
apparently is heard the same on wira se 4g15 quite a lot.....

just reopen and check valve clearance....

Owh so this issue is very common on wira se 4g15? what about the normal wira that is using the same engine as se version?

So you would recommend to go do tappet adjustment? Thank you

Owh so this issue is very common on wira se 4g15? what about the normal wira that is using the same engine as se version?

So you would recommend to go do tappet adjustment? Thank you

Can try tappet adjustment first before any costly jobs.....:driver:

ya. check the tappet and adjust first.

Actually I had Wira before and never that noisy. This one probably if is tappet noise, long time no adjust dy, or worse case, can be worn cam shaft but then he did mention sometimes not noisy......lol

I'd do a few things DIY first :

1. Open the valve / rocker cover and visually inspect the tappets, valve springs, everything. Last time I came across a car that had a screw floating in the oil that contributed to the noise.

2. If there are no foreign objects or loose/damaged parts, adjust and tighten the tappets. 4G15 has no self adjusters or whatever you call them.

3. What oil are you using? and weight? Those oil cap pics the oil looks weird.

I'd do a few things DIY first :

1. Open the valve / rocker cover and visually inspect the tappets, valve springs, everything. Last time I came across a car that had a screw floating in the oil that contributed to the noise.

2. If there are no foreign objects or loose/damaged parts, adjust and tighten the tappets. 4G15 has no self adjusters or whatever you call them.

3. What oil are you using? and weight? Those oil cap pics the oil looks weird.

1) Okay. I'll open the valve cover and check it out.

2) Adjust and tighten, hmmm. Not sure how to do that, but I could google. Is there anything you would like to tell me about adjusting the tappets all by myself? Anything that I should be aware of so that nothing crazy can happen?
Ive never done that nor open the valve cover before. I always diy service my car, and alot more things, but never till open the engine cover.

3) Castrol magnatec 10W40. :driver:

2) Adjust and tighten, hmmm. Not sure how to do that, but I could google. Is there anything you would like to tell me about adjusting the tappets all by myself? Anything that I should be aware of so that nothing crazy can happen?
Ive never done that nor open the valve cover before. I always diy service my car, and alot more things, but never till open the engine cover.

dont adjust the tappets yourself if you dont know how. you might over-tighten it and create a huge mess. ask you mech to do it for you.

what you can do is open the valve cover, and then feel the tappet screws whether it's too loose or not. the screws are circled in red in the photo below:
https://s21.postimg.org/rps1hcod3/DSC03185.jpg

usually you can move it up and down just slightly. very little freeplay.

dont adjust the tappets yourself if you dont know how. you might over-tighten it and create a huge mess. ask you mech to do it for you.

what you can do is open the valve cover, and then feel the tappet screws whether it's too loose or not. the screws are circled in red in the photo below:
https://s21.postimg.org/rps1hcod3/DSC03185.jpg

usually you can move it up and down just slightly. very little freeplay.

Not so easy leh! To test all by hand for movement, you still need to rotate the crank shaft until piston is right on top so that valves are completely closed for tappets to have free play. While piston are down or midway the tappets are pushing onto the valves so they will be tight....lol