Will There Ever Be A Car Like FD3S In 2009?

ace79

I've loved FD3S for quite a while now. The sleek, sexy looks. The somewhat rounded - split - into two roofline, the wide bodywork, the low height, the noise, the speed, the interior....!

Although I'm a forever - VTEC fella, I like the feel of turbos too. But the rotary turbo-ed engine amused me to no end. Small CC ( that is, if you really calculate lah! Although I dunno how to calculate CCs in an engine that doens't have pistons and cranks! :embaressed_smile: )

Sadly, I do not have the finances to buy a 2nd hand FD3S, cash at the moment, as I still have about 2 year's worth of instalments left with my EG hatchie, and planning to buy a Jazz later for DD...so, looking at things, I can only buy a FD3S either late 2008 or early 2009. But, by then, there might be no FD3S around for sale, or around that time, is the spare parts support for the FD3S will still be as good as now or it'll be damn rare like stuffs for EG6 SIR-II, or EF7/9 - SIR?

I understand that the car consumes fuel, requires a good workmanship ( especially when it comes to engien rebuild, which will also cost a whole lotta of cash! ), chassis parts ( linkages and bushes need to be changed ), and for a real proper FD3S, a single turbo mod ( sounds like a good idea to me! ), bla bla bla...the list goes on. And have I said that RE's FD3S ( the one which is currently Hot Version's Touge Grand Prix undisputed champion! ) rocks my boat?

So, will Mazda produce a proper successor of the venerable FD3S, or when the time comes, do I have to shop elsewhere?

FD's are timeless. It will never go out of style. As the current Mazda designers start churning out cars like the RX8, Mazda 3,6 and so on.....you can see a trend in design going on there. So most likely the successor to the FD will lean more to this trend. Not bad actually but not jaw dropping as the first pics I saw of the FD in the early part of the 90's.

Engine wise.....well there won't be anymore turbo's. Maybe a tri-rotor NA or quad-rotor design to give that little extra kick which seriously lacks in the current RENESSIS twin rotor layout. So all you rotor freaks out there better start looking after your current rides so that in the future our kids won't be clueless to what an RX7 looked like back in the glory days of SPEED.:mouth_closed:

the new 15B sounds good..... People will buy it becos they tot no turbo less problem..... Replace apex seals to aftermarket one, then boost it at 0.4 bar, easily get 350whp...... But aftremarket seals won't be out for a long time.....

You are right on this. The current Mazda designs are not as beautiful, or as sexy as the venerable FD3S. This is not good for me. Such a pity that my finances will only allow me to buy and maintain such a car only a couple of years from now on.

Anyway, in 2 - 3 year's time from now on, will the availability of parts for the 13B, and the FD3S in general, would be easily available ( both new and sekon - han )? If it will be, then when my pockets is large enough, I'll hunt around for a nice FD3S.

FD's are timeless. It will never go out of style. As the current Mazda designers start churning out cars like the RX8, Mazda 3,6 and so on.....you can see a trend in design going on there. So most likely the successor to the FD will lean more to this trend. Not bad actually but not jaw dropping as the first pics I saw of the FD in the early part of the 90's.

Engine wise.....well there won't be anymore turbo's. Maybe a tri-rotor NA or quad-rotor design to give that little extra kick which seriously lacks in the current RENESSIS twin rotor layout. So all you rotor freaks out there better start looking after your current rides so that in the future our kids won't be clueless to what an RX7 looked like back in the glory days of SPEED.:mouth_closed:

2009... a good time... when i have a few million in my bank account.. i sell my FD to you i get a porsche or maserati :) ahahahahha

just joking... 2009 is still quite near... FD will still be around parts will see be available as there are more and more car written off from japan and crash in japan.

so... like that.... and ah choy also need to earn money from these old cars......
RX7s are mostly his earnings and if one day everything out of stock.. no idea what will happen but less likely... 2009 will be just like normal days.. no difference... we're still around... and some might sold their car but will definitely provide sufficient knowledge how to maintain one...

Ahah! I'll hold you to that sir! Hhhmmm....a Porsche 911 year model 1999 sounds good too. But maintenance - wise : eeekkkk! Nope, I'll stick to FD.

2009... a good time... when i have a few million in my bank account.. i sell my FD to you i get a porsche or maserati :) ahahahahha

Well, let us hope so. I like the Type RZ and Spirit R a lot though, but I'm prety sure those cars are damn hard to find locally. Better look for a normal FD and plonk in some serious cash for a single turbo conversion. At least under 4k RPM the car will function like an NA and save fuel, especially during long - distance driving.

Ok then, keep my chin up, continue making and saving moolah, and 2009, hey presto! At least I'll have 100k cash for an FD!

just joking... 2009 is still quite near... FD will still be around parts will see be available as there are more and more car written off from japan and crash in japan.

so... like that.... and ah choy also need to earn money from these old cars......
RX7s are mostly his earnings and if one day everything out of stock.. no idea what will happen but less likely... 2009 will be just like normal days.. no difference... we're still around... and some might sold their car but will definitely provide sufficient knowledge how to maintain one...

actually just slot in a powerFC and you can have NA like car by just adjusting the boost and also you can slot in a button control to switch boost setting 1 and 2.. then you have have a very low boost duty cycle to save petrol with just a switch button... :)

*Cough* but then would you be happy to pay 14k for a standard clutch change (inclusive of pull-type cover, friction disc, bearing and a double mass flywheel) in a 996 GT3? As it is now, Phat7's new clutch should be slightly below that value and he gets a streetable sport clutch capable of 500 mutated horsies or so...

A similar level offering from Porsche shall set you back, say oh 23k? For a standard lightened flywheel, bearing, cover and puck type disc. Porsche name. Porsche quality, Porsche price :shades_smile:

But of course, you can't deny the craftsmanship of Porsche. Every bloody part has a definite, proven lifespan dammit... sheesh

Cheers

few million.... 1 mill for the car... and 1 mil set aside for maintainence.... put inside fixed deposit to have the interest deal with my maintenance :P ahahhaha

i almost forgot.... Alex is another guy that's so well equiped with rotary knowledge and wanted to get for himself as well... dying to get one right alex ? strip it out the whole machine and weld and strengthen everything you see :)

Ah, I didn't know about this. Good, another knowledge learned 2day. Is the button something like the "Scramble Boost" button fitted to ( I forgot which tuning shop ) R34 GTR? Dori - Dori simply pushed the right horn button and the car boosted like hell!

actually just slot in a powerFC and you can have NA like car by just adjusting the boost and also you can slot in a button control to switch boost setting 1 and 2.. then you have have a very low boost duty cycle to save petrol with just a switch button... :)

i thought the new rx7 will go into production in 2009? read about it in autocar asean (didn't remember which issue)...the concept looks good

Eh, izzit? Oh no, I may have missed buying that particular issue!

i thought the new rx7 will go into production in 2009? read about it in autocar asean (didn't remember which issue)...the concept looks good