I've loved FD3S for quite a while now. The sleek, sexy looks. The somewhat rounded - split - into two roofline, the wide bodywork, the low height, the noise, the speed, the interior....!
Although I'm a forever - VTEC fella, I like the feel of turbos too. But the rotary turbo-ed engine amused me to no end. Small CC ( that is, if you really calculate lah! Although I dunno how to calculate CCs in an engine that doens't have pistons and cranks! :embaressed_smile: )
Sadly, I do not have the finances to buy a 2nd hand FD3S, cash at the moment, as I still have about 2 year's worth of instalments left with my EG hatchie, and planning to buy a Jazz later for DD...so, looking at things, I can only buy a FD3S either late 2008 or early 2009. But, by then, there might be no FD3S around for sale, or around that time, is the spare parts support for the FD3S will still be as good as now or it'll be damn rare like stuffs for EG6 SIR-II, or EF7/9 - SIR?
I understand that the car consumes fuel, requires a good workmanship ( especially when it comes to engien rebuild, which will also cost a whole lotta of cash! ), chassis parts ( linkages and bushes need to be changed ), and for a real proper FD3S, a single turbo mod ( sounds like a good idea to me! ), bla bla bla...the list goes on. And have I said that RE's FD3S ( the one which is currently Hot Version's Touge Grand Prix undisputed champion! ) rocks my boat?
So, will Mazda produce a proper successor of the venerable FD3S, or when the time comes, do I have to shop elsewhere?
Although I'm a forever - VTEC fella, I like the feel of turbos too. But the rotary turbo-ed engine amused me to no end. Small CC ( that is, if you really calculate lah! Although I dunno how to calculate CCs in an engine that doens't have pistons and cranks! :embaressed_smile: )
Sadly, I do not have the finances to buy a 2nd hand FD3S, cash at the moment, as I still have about 2 year's worth of instalments left with my EG hatchie, and planning to buy a Jazz later for DD...so, looking at things, I can only buy a FD3S either late 2008 or early 2009. But, by then, there might be no FD3S around for sale, or around that time, is the spare parts support for the FD3S will still be as good as now or it'll be damn rare like stuffs for EG6 SIR-II, or EF7/9 - SIR?
I understand that the car consumes fuel, requires a good workmanship ( especially when it comes to engien rebuild, which will also cost a whole lotta of cash! ), chassis parts ( linkages and bushes need to be changed ), and for a real proper FD3S, a single turbo mod ( sounds like a good idea to me! ), bla bla bla...the list goes on. And have I said that RE's FD3S ( the one which is currently Hot Version's Touge Grand Prix undisputed champion! ) rocks my boat?
So, will Mazda produce a proper successor of the venerable FD3S, or when the time comes, do I have to shop elsewhere?