Skim clutch pressure plate

jinkl

guys, jsut asking , can i actually skim the pressure plate of my clutch system
its abit uneven , is it ok to do it , or am i going to face slip if i skim

pressure plates are not really expensive... since u made the trouble of opening
the gearbox, just change a brand new one. A brand new plate will last you
quite long.. do it once & it will save u a lot of unknown problems from skimming
your existing pressure plate

pressure plates are not really expensive... since u made the trouble of opening
the gearbox, just change a brand new one. A brand new plate will last you
quite long.. do it once & it will save u a lot of unknown problems from skimming
your existing pressure plate

exedy semi race costs 400-600

yup. better change a new ones. and better don't skim the pressure plate.

juz use 1st until its finish,n juz change new one more worth it from u skimed it..

p/s-but better beware from the plate makan your flywheel....

try it before on a exedy hyper single for e7.no problem.still grippy
as usual.as long as u skim it around 0.5mm.

hehe my mech so scared to skim it
i tink at the end he used a sandpaper machine n just smoothen it a little

Last edited by a moderator:
skimmed plate with imperfect balance of thickness will cause the system getting worst. uneven surface of the plate is quite normal for a normal car due to wear & tear. that's y when changing the clutch disc, it is recommended to change the plate, bearing & oil seal all together.

if it is a performance plate, sure i will also try to skim 1st cause it is expensive. Lol.

Hi jin..
Have u done the skimming work..??
Just wanna know the result...Coz i'm thinkin to do so...Thanx.