want to turbo my b16..good idea?

acuralover

hi guys...been thinking on going B20 or Turbo for the longest time in my mind....although i have read quite abit abt b20 mods but to me..turbo is still very much a new phrase, let alone knowing abt the setup...so i kindly seek advice from experience forumers here on what are the essential mods for a turbo setup on a b16a?

TD04, TD05 turbo? intercooler?

i am still very much a novice in such technical terms...pls kindly help...

bro,
firstly you have to change the piston, gasket,fuel pump,oil pump,injector and most important EMS such as piggy back example .. HKS,e-manage ultimate,obit, Apexi power FC & etc ...... for starter TD04 & TD05 both can be use & as for intercooler if possible get an EVO 3 .. what actually is your expectation ??

Last edited by a moderator:
my expectation ah? mmm....if got 300bhp im more than happy liao....how abt microtech lt8 for ems???

microtech is good but is your spec daily driven .. cause as far as I know MT is for race tune so it's gonna be a problem unless you can get a good tuner ... i'm using Obit & so far so good ....mmm.. i'm looking at 400hp and currently estimate my ride about 300hp ..looking for GT2835 turbine

for daily driving also...mmm..guess i get emanage ultimate or unichip....TD05 is good enuff for a beginner like me....but i am very worried about internals and the possibility of pianging the engine if things are not done properly as well as not enuff. Bro do u mind to pm me the brands of of items to buy...ie. pistons la...gaskets la..fuel pump etc....would appreciate very much....thanks!

bro .... here's my engine ...

https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/106425.vB

300hp? How much boost pressure are you running?

Actually the list for the minimum required upgrades are a lot longer.. It's not so straightforward.

any1 care 2 start a new thread abt turbo-charging d B16 in M'sia?wud b nice if any1 who's done it can share all d info w us such as wat r d "basic" essentials...price(new/used)....wat 2 look out for...wat shud not b done..etc..etc...
any1?

any1 care 2 start a new thread abt turbo-charging d B16 in M'sia?wud b nice if any1 who's done it can share all d info w us such as wat r d "basic" essentials...price(new/used)....wat 2 look out for...wat shud not b done..etc..etc...
any1?

Yes i second that too. :regular_smile:

note:MUST make sure d plan is 2 turbo charge a B-series DOHC VTEC(or any engine for dat matter) in MALAYSIA....ie,getting parts readily available in M'sia,regardless new/used.....
sumthg like a Budget Boost project/write up.....

for starters in order for you upgrade to T/C save cost style .. supercharge piston, metal gasket, VR4 or GSR injector, Type R oil pump, fuel pump = walbro 255LPH, retainer+valve spring if got budget CROWER if not Type R will do, TD04/TD05 turbine, VR4, EVo intercooler, clutch set,wastegate recommend TIAL, any P/B or stand alone management depending on your budget ie Obit,E-manage,HKS,Microtech,Haltech .... etc .. estimate for upgrade basic stage RM15K but it's best you can get a quotation and compare with other's on the parts quoted ... pls do not compare with BOT cause that spec you cannot have high boost and it only allows you to boost max 0.7bar anything more than that "kaboom" there goes your engine.... moreover that BOT will cost you a bundle .....

wats BOT?n RM15K?wei,dats quite extreme oredy lor....
lets start w a very basic turbo kit..say like a bolt-on kit?as not 2 scare away any potential turbo player?RM15K sounds scary 2 me ler...

BOT = bolt on turbo ... i think you can get it at a cost of RM6-8K but it does not include the management or piston,fuel pump,oil pump,fuel regulator,metal gasket & etc.
Ok!Ok! let's just cost it up ... for upgrade to T/C to be on the safe egde .. piston need to be change to low compression so supercharge 4 cost saving(dunno price), metal gasket RM6++, fuel pump walbro (RM6++) OR you can install Bosch external fuel pump (RM3++), fuel regulator SARD(RM400 new),
VR4 injector (RM300 2nd hand), Oil Pump Type R (RM250 more or less 2nd hand but it's better to get new RM5++), turbine TD05+intercooler =(RM1+++ 2ND HAND), valve spring (RM300-400 Type R 2nd hand),intercooler piping (est RM1.1K),
wastegate (TIAL RM900), header (RM500 2nd hand), management E-Manage RM600-700 2nd hand excluding installation + tuning, BOV (RM300 2ND HAND), MTRS your choice = boost+exht temp+fuel pressure+water temp, lsd (RM1.5K), silicon hoses + labour charges + exhaust piping .... with this setup you can boost at least 1 bar .... u calculate and who says upgrading turbo is cheap even if you were to upgrade to NA performance spec it's even more expensive..... agree

JFD,

read thoroughly and you'll know what's the pros & cons .. increase of 75 to 100 hp and boosting 0.5bar ... and rebuilding the engine for further spec again ... $$$$$ which will be even more so RM15K i guess it's not that expensive and boosting 1 - 1.3 bar getting a whooping minimum of 280hp .. you all decide ..
anyway it's no harm to check the spec with them and also enquire their comment ...... it's still turbo

" But our kits only utilizing Stock Bone Honda engine, with 0.5Bar boost and gaining only 75-100hp. Its nothing compare to 500whp. But its a 1st step. U can slowly rebuild your engine after that to achieve the power u desired. "

BOT = bolt on turbo ... i think you can get it at a cost of RM6-8K but it does not include the management or piston,fuel pump,oil pump,fuel regulator,metal gasket & etc.
Ok!Ok! let's just cost it up ... for upgrade to T/C to be on the safe egde .. piston need to be change to low compression so supercharge 4 cost saving(dunno price), metal gasket RM6++, fuel pump walbro (RM6++) OR you can install Bosch external fuel pump (RM3++), fuel regulator SARD(RM400 new),
VR4 injector (RM300 2nd hand), Oil Pump Type R (RM250 more or less 2nd hand but it's better to get new RM5++), turbine TD05+intercooler =(RM1+++ 2ND HAND), valve spring (RM300-400 Type R 2nd hand),intercooler piping (est RM1.1K),
wastegate (TIAL RM900), header (RM500 2nd hand), management E-Manage RM600-700 2nd hand excluding installation + tuning, BOV (RM300 2ND HAND), MTRS your choice = boost+exht temp+fuel pressure+water temp, lsd (RM1.5K), silicon hoses + labour charges + exhaust piping .... with this setup you can boost at least 1 bar .... u calculate and who says upgrading turbo is cheap even if you were to upgrade to NA performance spec it's even more expensive..... agree

how about if boosting 0.5 bar but still using original ecu?
how many bar original map sensor can detect?
i just using greddy rebic2 with aditioner 2 injertor,but after boosting 0.7 bar,and i maintain normal running like 3000rpm.my car will bre,need restart,is it because of map sensor?

bro .. did the check light ignite ? check the trouble code ... it could be your fuel link ... but if possible get a P/B, change to a GSR injector linking bypass to a ballast ... did you change the fuel pump .... and yes it could be your map sensor.
When I first upgrade my engine I was on stock ecu & stock injector without extra injector but using toyota 1J map sensor ... still OK to boost 0.9bar ... btw is yours BOT or upgrade ... ?? would like to know your spec ... and you can always post in Force induction = vtec turbo forum .. I believe there'll be a lot of sifu's there ....

bro .. did the check light ignite ? check the trouble code ... it could be your fuel link ... but if possible get a P/B, change to a GSR injector linking bypass to a ballast ... did you change the fuel pump .... and yes it could be your map sensor.
When I first upgrade my engine I was on stock ecu & stock injector without extra injector but using toyota 1J map sensor ... still OK to boost 0.9bar ... btw is yours BOT or upgrade ... ?? would like to know your spec ... and you can always post in Force induction = vtec turbo forum .. I believe there'll be a lot of sifu's there ....

i already remove out d check light due i change to manual gearbox n the light always on,:confused_smile:
ij map sensor just plug and play?can support till 1.2bar?
my BOT spect,
1 td04
2 evo size intercooler
3 custom extrator n piping
4 greddy rebic 2 with 2injertor 550cc
5 mecsides coil
6 already replace other type piston ( low compress)