Diesel Anyone? Or Is It Only Me?

its unusual to find car with diesel nowadays, moreover for under 2l category...unless u r looking @ the 1st gen WIRA DIESEL!!!

the most popular cars with diesel engine: 530d and Benz 270CDi...hehehe

There's BMW 320d, 1998cc, but touring version only available here. Where's the saloon? What is Auto Bavaria and Sapura Motors doing?

Really, few hundreds only? What is the cc of the engine? But Japanese diesel engine miles behind in improvisation. If only BMW 318d is sold here, i would defenitly make it my car, coz it does 50.4 mpg! Save my pocket money! Hahaha.

asda.gif

Oh my bad! Road tax price for diesel vehicle between penisular and borneo is actually different. Sabah & sarawak is more cheaper. Mine is 2.5 littre green engine. Road tax below rm500 peryear. But wait, u might havent see how sabah&sarawak road condition yet. Saving on road tax but need to pay more into maintenance...

i would say the demand for diesel cars especially brands like BMW is low in msia compare to Euro...thats why they dont bring in. imagine driving a nice BMW 320d but when u wanna fill up @ petrol station, u will be fighting for the pump with lorry drivers..lol...not to mention its a lot dirtier @ diesel pump than petrol pump. this have put off a lot of ppl...i think petrol stations should do something about it...u know...like dedicated pump for SUV/4x4/Saloon diesel, apart from lorries above 1ton

Hey everybody, got something better! It's the latest Mini Cooper D! Claimed to do mileage almost the same as Toyota Prius! That's 70.4mpg! Whoa-nelly!

http://www.topgear.com/content/news/stories/1885/images/1/large.jpg

Dude, it's a diesel. Of course it has a turbo. But air scoop only available on Mini Cooper S and Mini Cooper T. Maybe the air scoop is optional on this car.

i would say the demand for diesel cars especially brands like BMW is low in msia compare to Euro...thats why they dont bring in. imagine driving a nice BMW 320d but when u wanna fill up @ petrol station, u will be fighting for the pump with lorry drivers..lol...not to mention its a lot dirtier @ diesel pump than petrol pump. this have put off a lot of ppl...i think petrol stations should do something about it...u know...like dedicated pump for SUV/4x4/Saloon diesel, apart from lorries above 1ton
that's one thing...

usually those conti diesel were based on their high quality diesel...that's why euro are diesel mad since there is no smog...

when they want to import the car here...they have to downgrade the engine to cope wif our low quality diesel...

then there is the ridiculous tax structure....how the govt wants to promote biodiesel then?

sorry...my 2 sen oni

p/s: really love the MG Sport Diesel when it launch in Malaysia...rumoured using same engine as BMW X3 diesel...but when looking at the tax :shocked:

When will we be supplied with higher quality diesel? With the price about RM 1.50, and the quality haven't increased for many years, t is absolutely certain that the government and Petronas are playing with people's money.

bro...unless the G do something about it (which i think they will not), we will still be getting under par petrol/diesel while the good ones still goes to rich countries like Japan etc etc....

unless we have a strong lobbyists like in US...

i've heard rumors that, our raw petroleum is one of the cleanest in the world...but we export all of it and we imported sub par petrol for national usage.. is it true?

Finally, Malaysia's fuel is Euro2 compliant effective from this month onwards...
this is reported in the star today.
and they also mention that fuel in Malaysia will be euro4 compliant by 2009. I find it wayyyyy lagging behind european's standard which is euro5 now , i think.

No nonsense about higher cost of cleaner fuel as we are an oil exporting country.

Wondering when the diesel quality will rise.

is it true that in the east coast diesel's are dirtier?

My 'adik angkat' is a driver for dis Dato' and using Rexton 270XDi...so far the Rexton never been to the East Coast before...but when they go their last 2 weekend...when refuelling for diesel there....the rexton was sputtering badly and it spew smog like those lorries...

when taken to Ssangyong 3S centre in PJ, they say the quality of fuel was bad, it spoils the fuel filter...

one of the mechs says it normal since some petrol station their sells those lower grade diesel that meants for boats.

is it true that in the east coast diesel's are dirtier?

one of the mechs says it normal since some petrol station their sells those lower grade diesel that meants for boats.

there are kiosk in remote/semi rural area that sells subsidised diesel meant for commercial indutries. so... 1+1 = answer

diesel quality in malaysia is really bad lah. When driving my dad's rexton 270xdi, the smoke coming out badly when accelerating hard, can make the rear car say bad things to you coz the smoke is really thick!

but when i watch vid about the M-class merc with diesel engine in europe (with the same engine) pushed to the limit, no dark cloud comig out of the exhaust! only a bit la!

heard some triton owners said the shell's diesel is one of the worst in malaysia...im using Esso/Mobil n the smokes r much lesser compare to those who use Shell diesel...

try few other brand n c the diff...

Eh? like that one ah?

Currently using Petronas. Will try to switch to see the changes. Hey, anyone here using K&N air filter on a diesel car? Coz switched the rexton old filter with the K&N one, can feel the difference. The car is much more responsive.

Any other available ways to increase the diesel's performance?

K&N is famous for its high flow air filter...doesnt matter if its a diesel or petrol, its good to change them. but just remember to clean n reoil every 6 month...

i still cant find any for triton yet coz local distributor didnt bring them in...