DC? EK? or EG?

simplycomplexed

DC / DB? EK? or EG?

7 months to decide and i change my mind everyday.
Indecisive? Probably.
With 10k for tuning. (^_^ )

Convince me, someone? LOL

7 months still so long to go, by the end u would have an answer already :P

any chasis would be ok, but better get with either B16B or B18c if not 10k for mods wont be sufficient.

DC is nice coupe and DB is 4 doors. imported and kinda rare

EG can be found everywhere, while EK kinda difficult to find in shops now, if there's one, it will be grabbed in no time.

so in term of chasis all based on your preferance/need and taste. if possible try to get a converted one, coz 10k won't be enuff for type-r conversion.

if u want something light chasis and fast, crx & ef would be good choice. i'm akuma will agree on this :P

All depends on what budget you have on the car itself. All those car's price are different. If you get a cheaper car than you'll have more budget for modding !!

i tend to agree with evoX2....

if you want speed, it's either big power or light chasis.

and CRX or EF offers light chasis so any extra power that you able to get will be translated straight to speed

DC / DB? EK? or EG?

7 months to decide and i change my mind everyday.
Indecisive? Probably.
With 10k for tuning. (^_^ )

Convince me, someone? LOL

EG6, B16A, sus, rim, seats and tires. Whatever's left over can be used for performance mods.

I spend in excess of 10K on an EG and I'm still on B16A.. (O_o)

LOL thanks guys. that's quite abit to think of eh?
My first choice'd be EK lah... followed by DC/DB then only EG..

but whatever it is, B18C is a must :)

NA or Turbo arh?

with 10K? That's going to be difficult.

Well, there's also plenty of B18Cs that can be 'makan'ed by B16A, those would probably be quite cheap for a targeted budget of 10K.

Fair point, well made i must say. lol
Maybe... just maybe la hor.. first few things i shouLD be doing to the car is the chassis (bars and stuff), suspension and wheels? and paint too. woo.
i think i'd need to cut down on food till next year.

Fair point, well made i must say. lol
Maybe... just maybe la hor.. first few things i shouLD be doing to the car is the chassis (bars and stuff), suspension and wheels? and paint too. woo.
i think i'd need to cut down on food till next year.

If on a budget, the only way you will ever get to mod your car is by buying a modded EG with a B16A already inside, then spending about 2-4K on fixing up the details like the seals and gaskets and other hoses that may need repairing. This will keep the car on the road for a year or two (sometimes, and usually more than that) while you slowly mod it up as the money comes.

That's what I do, and I never ever thought that spending 10K+ to get a drivable EG that goes anywhere without worrying about broken things was a waste of money.

Heck, I might not be the fastest around, but not many cars see 60,000km of mileage in a year like I do, and the only thing I've done for maintainance is oil/filter changes and fuel.

Buy one, fix it up, drive it around, and I think that 60-70% of the cars on the road cannot compete in terms of raw acceleration of an EG6 with a B16A. Even a wira with a stock GSR turbo (non RS) might find it a challenge to overtake you (modded one different case la)

CRX/EF with B16A is better, but parts are not so easy to find, and rust is a problem for most of them. EG suffers from this too, but not as much. The fact that the ECU is not so readily available might be a concern too.

If you want a car for looks alone.. get a Myvi, some bodykit and wheels. Voila, one hot car.

If chassis mods, you're looking for trouble.. stiffer chassis usually = broken clips, rattling dashboards and many other sounds.

Suspension is good, helps your car handle better, but for someone who hasn't tried high/low adjustable sus before, you're in for a surprise at how hard it is.

Wheels are nice, but 16/17" usually gets dented in the first year of ownership.

Honestly though, a lot of people jumping into the 'honda modding' bandwagon usually loses steam because they're trying to do things too fast, and then they complain it is expensive, and then sell off the car.

Do it slow, and in stages.. plan your build carefully, and make sure you don't buy a part that you won't need, or a part that no one else uses for reasons unknown.

If you're buying for performance reasons, which means you want to be scared shitless when you floor the throttle, and you're on a budget, go with EG/EF/CRX.

If you're buying because you want a cool looking car, get an EK/EJ or whatever car takes your fancy.. it doesn't matter because they're mostly sub 100whp anyway. (except for the EK, which is around 100whp with the stock single cam vtec)

Just hope your choice of buying a honda doesn't turn out into a nightmare like some people I know.

well said shiro! U better draw out the plan, what is the target u want to achieve before u purchase the car. For 10k budget it wont make ur car go fast, the better choice will be improved reliability and handling. i had spent roughly 25k since i bought my car, yet still going slow. frankly, when u start modding u cant stop, the mod u done only could satisfied u for a moment only, after u whacked by others u will start over again. haha...never ending one.

eheh. thank shiro. : D
honestly i used to have a DC1 lah but had to sell it cos Singapore Government sent me a letter and ordered my ass to be dragged to that island, where i was unfortunately born, for National Service. (-_-ll )

Ah... I'd go with "Performance". I guess i like to shit my pants flooring the throttle and get an orgasm when the V kicks in. Thou i find EFs and EGs kinda small.
No no. Not that i'm big or anything la, i just find them abit small lo..

Still have a lot to learn. : ) There's so much that i dont know at all lo.
Thanks everyone. lol. Haiya, 7 months still quite abit more to go and i think i could use the time to do lots of research and ask qns to all the sifus right here in ZTH Honda.