B16A From Japan with LSD - nOOb's QuEstIoNs

JacEK

Dear all Hondarianz Sifus Sifaz...

Im currently window shopping for B16A and some questions popped out in my mind. I had survey few half cut shops and need some input from sifus and sifaz here.

B16A (M) with LSD - RM8500 (not including installation)
Q: Is it worth it... is it the standard market price? This engine is from Japan...not from Singapore. Milleage less than 100K km. Full half cut...comes with head lamp, meter cluster, black dashboard and many more in superb condition.

LSD improve low end torque (as told by half cut tauke) and avoid gear change slip
Q: Is it true and anymore advantage of having LSD?

B16A non-LSD
Q: Im not a regular racer or track maniac... do u think a B16A non LSD is good enough? Or more worth it to spend a little more on B16A with LSD?

Really appreaciate ur comments based on your experience and knowledge. Plan to get it by year end and try to get as much info as possible before i decide on it. Try not to advise me to get TypeR engine...coz i cant afford it.

Thanks in advance

go for lsd bro, its for traction and cornering. if u want to buy a half cut, better do it in 1 shot, later not "pening" to upgrade...
I mean normal type lsd, because a full lock lsd is a hell to drive (esp making u-turn). not sure about the price..

RM8.5k for a manual B16a is spot on, tho u can haggle a bit more, bring the price down a lil bit.

LSD is limited slip differential bro. nothing to do with better low end torque. better cornering and traction, yes.

almost all Honda cuts are from Japan. Ive never seen a cut from Singapore.

Bro bien,

U can getHonda cuts frm Singapore also. U wont know coz it looks like da same from the exterior. It all depends on da person who is selling da halfcuts 2 u.

actually LSD is good if you drive hard enough to lift one of the front wheels. It's a hairy experience coming out of a corner and finding that depressing the gas pedal doen't make the car turn tighter, but understeer towards the outside. (O_o), because all your engine power is going into that wheel on the air.

For daily driver, I don't think you should drive fast enough into the corner to do that. (O_o)

Bro bien,

U can getHonda cuts frm Singapore also. U wont know coz it looks like da same from the exterior. It all depends on da person who is selling da halfcuts 2 u.
really? coz all my halfcuts, i source from Japan.

i know some continental brands halfcuts come from SG, but not much.

Just to add what everyone has said..

With an LSD means both wheels are spinning at an even rate. ON a normal FWD car, power is only sent into one wheel which is usually the right one on most cars.

Why do companies do this? Cost saving

With LSD you'd really see it's benefits in rainy conditions for daily road driving. If you're launching off the lights on a wet piece of road, your car would usually jolt to the left eventhough you're steering straight. With LSD you're just going on a straight line in the same scenario

no LSD < LSD

b16a (m)=4.5k+- (no lsd), 6.5k+- (lsd) including bodypart excluding installation...

thats my survey last month area klang and kg melayu subang...

while we're on this topic, i wanna ask if it's normal for full lock LSD to make noise when doing a u-turn or a normal 90 degrees turn? i'm only used to 1 way. first time using full lock and wishing that i only had a 1.5 way. dem. daily driven car. too much noise = unsatisfactory.

Wallaa.. don't think that B16A c/w LSD now priced at the RM8.5k. Damn crazy high!!

Better check with other kedai for better deal also. I think the fair price should be RM6k (with LSD).

Wallaa.. don't think that B16A c/w LSD now priced at the RM8.5k. Damn crazy high!!

Better check with other kedai for better deal also. I think the fair price should be RM6k (with LSD).

yeap agree with u...my previous post...i did survey max also 6.5k with lsd...

while we're on this topic, i wanna ask if it's normal for full lock LSD to make noise when doing a u-turn or a normal 90 degrees turn? i'm only used to 1 way. first time using full lock and wishing that i only had a 1.5 way. dem. daily driven car. too much noise = unsatisfactory.

Yes, it's normal for LSD to make noise.. it depends on the mechanism. If clutch system, usually minimal noise.. if ratchet system... heh.. that one is plenty noisy.

I dunno which type you have, but the noise only occurs when you're on the throttle right? if you make the U turn without throttle, then there should be no sound/minimal noise right?

Usual way is let off throttle, turn, press throttle and let the steering return itself, not much you can do to minimise the noise other than not using the throttle/as little throttle as possible during the U-turn.

Yes, it's normal for LSD to make noise.. it depends on the mechanism. If clutch system, usually minimal noise.. if ratchet system... heh.. that one is plenty noisy.

I dunno which type you have, but the noise only occurs when you're on the throttle right? if you make the U turn without throttle, then there should be no sound/minimal noise right?

Usual way is let off throttle, turn, press throttle and let the steering return itself, not much you can do to minimise the noise other than not using the throttle/as little throttle as possible during the U-turn.

thanx for the info. need to sort out my footwork then.

workaround that i have found out at the moment is to full depress the clutch and play with the throttle. then only no noise at all. i'm not sure what type of LSD that i have. however, going to open the gearbox tomorrow and check.

wow, thanks for the feedback guys.
based on ur comments... i think a B16A non lsd is good enuff for me. bout the price, i guess i have to survey few more shops. but from wat i saw, B16A engine non-LSD, at RM6K++, are engine 'lantai' only... not halfcut.

i saw few threads on this topic too, but didnt specifically mentioned whether the price of RM6.5K is halfcut or engine only.

so, LSD has nothing to do with performance other than improve traction and cornering purposes?

b16a engine lantai RM6K??? Thats well above the price for b16b engine lantai...I think vtec engine price is becoming more expensive nowadays.

yes, lsd do not bring up your hp but consider having a big power on engine but cannot translates the power to the wheel is also useless..

Dear all Hondarianz Sifus Sifaz...

Im currently window shopping for B16A and some questions popped out in my mind. I had survey few half cut shops and need some input from sifus and sifaz here.

B16A (M) with LSD - RM8500 (not including installation)
Q: Is it worth it... is it the standard market price? This engine is from Japan...not from Singapore. Milleage less than 100K km. Full half cut...comes with head lamp, meter cluster, black dashboard and many more in superb condition.

LSD improve low end torque (as told by half cut tauke) and avoid gear change slip
Q: Is it true and anymore advantage of having LSD?

B16A non-LSD
Q: Im not a regular racer or track maniac... do u think a B16A non LSD is good enough? Or more worth it to spend a little more on B16A with LSD?

Really appreaciate ur comments based on your experience and knowledge. Plan to get it by year end and try to get as much info as possible before i decide on it. Try not to advise me to get TypeR engine...coz i cant afford it.

Thanks in advance
wow!!b16a halfcut rm8.5k...too expensive...maybe this halfcut from ek body..
i think better u go for eg halfcut...bcoz ecu eg can re-chip n cheap from ek halfcut...eg halfcut wiring obd1..if ek halfcut wiring obd2...cannot re-chip...

thanx for the info. need to sort out my footwork then.

workaround that i have found out at the moment is to full depress the clutch and play with the throttle. then only no noise at all. i'm not sure what type of LSD that i have. however, going to open the gearbox tomorrow and check.

If you press the clutch then no power is going to the LSD, and the LSD will be free.. (or partially free, in case of the 1.5way) In a way, it's exactly like letting off the throttle.

8.5k for EG halfcut is too high!!!
if tht price for EK4 halfcut, straight booking for it..