rx7 FD.. easy or hard to maintain? its about money

because engine easy revs, people tend to go heavy on right foot... when it gets heavy, ur wallet gets slimmer loh....

if you dont trust mechanic buy the right tools and learn to repair the engine your self.....if to scared to do it just ask some fellow forumer online for some simple guidance.........most of the rx7 owner do light repair of their cars them self.......this modded old car still can tapau those newer evos and imprezas......and the rx 7 mods for higher whp is cheaper because no forged pistons,forged rods,camshafts...just get a good standalone ecu ,injectors,intercooler,and a suitable turbine,proper porting....u can easily get 550whp......dont believe just go and google or youtube 550wp rx7......if tune properly the fuel consumption is not that bad sometimes better than the stock rx7...and it all depends on your porting......people complain about the car fuel consumption is because its either they dont own a rx7 or are jealous of the rx7 owner......

just get the damn car =) high FC or low FC, at the end of the day, a FD3S will still put a smile on your face.

Wise Man Say ~ I'f you want to Play, You gotta Pay~

The problem is the owners. they think its the same as mantaining a proton. Believe you me its not. You must be patient and have some technical knowledge to own one. i've had the car now 7 years coming to 8 and no regrets whatsoever.

It's kinda funny... before i got my supra.. lots of people say any supra with hp more than 500 bhp = petrol guzzler.. .. now i've surpassed that level yet, i get almost 450++km per tank.. i can go to Ipoh, lepak there wit teamadvan, ronda-ronda abit, return to KL, lepak at aman suria, then return home to PJ and only to refil the gas in the morning.... *myth busted*

as for RE engines... i can almost do 420km per full tank...with decent city driving.. initially when i got the car, of coz u tend to be quite heavy footed, coz it's somethin new... hence i got 350km for the 1st tank... but after awhile... i've been achieving more than 400km per tank...

and no, i didnt hear it from my fren... i experienced it..i'm doing it... and i'm telling u about it...

Everyone do have a point here.

I do believe performance is not as cheap maintainence as normal average car but that doesnt means its going to be hell lot expensive either. Mostly performance car was force induction hence regular check on engine oil and water is needed = plp say hard to maintain.

The only ex parts to compare MAYBE is the aftermarket performance stuff. I mean u dun expect 2JZ or 13B to run on T28 size turbo rite? so to upgrade for sure will be T3 or T4 size which not average kaki will able to afford to. So same goes to other stuff like rims and suspension part.

If for this particular case, maybe the only leceh part is the availability of reliable rotary mech and spareparts available. MAYBE only ar, dun shoot me ar. Coz in JB, really only a handfulls of mech can do it. Or i should say its still the same 1 workshop coz its the staff left the workshop, setup their own. whahahaha. Why i say sparepart hard to get maybe is due to 1 case i saw, the customer waited for 3-4 months for 1 used 13B and that is till the mech went up to Thailand and buy. daamn.....

as for FC wise, as explained. Its driver fault. not machine fault although machine do play apart. To me, more on correct setup as in your stuff was perfectly matched and good tuning. Thn u can achieve good FC with good power.

Although RX7 is cheaper nowadays, but you gotta know it's a RM200k-RM300k when it's new..... You can't expect it cheaper to maintain, it's not a family car...... Fuel comsumption is not high enuff, it's not a performance car.....

Buying a RX7 is just half way there, prepare extra money for more fun.....

If for this particular case, maybe the only leceh part is the availability of reliable rotary mech and spareparts available. MAYBE only ar, dun shoot me ar. Coz in JB, really only a handfulls of mech can do it. Or i should say its still the same 1 workshop coz its the staff left the workshop, setup their own. whahahaha. Why i say sparepart hard to get maybe is due to 1 case i saw, the customer waited for 3-4 months for 1 used 13B and that is till the mech went up to Thailand and buy. daamn.....

13B is a gem, it's most sought-after engine perhaps in the world....... Japan, Aus and American have 'big comsumption' of rotary engine for race and drag.....

It's kinda funny... before i got my supra.. lots of people say any supra with hp more than 500 bhp = petrol guzzler.. .. now i've surpassed that level yet, i get almost 450++km per tank.. i can go to Ipoh, lepak there wit teamadvan, ronda-ronda abit, return to KL, lepak at aman suria, then return home to PJ and only to refil the gas in the morning.... *myth busted*

as for RE engines... i can almost do 420km per full tank...with decent city driving.. initially when i got the car, of coz u tend to be quite heavy footed, coz it's somethin new... hence i got 350km for the 1st tank... but after awhile... i've been achieving more than 400km per tank...

and no, i didnt hear it from my fren... i experienced it..i'm doing it... and i'm telling u about it...

how much can your fuel tank pump? i was wondering my 1jz-gte also consider veri fuel saving ... having 407whp i clock an average of 22sen per km.... however i found out that during hot days traffic jam with aircond on my car is quite a fuel guzzler ....for the RE i was in a FD from shah alam going to beach club clubbing on saturday night and during the traffic jam, the RE is quite thirsty too .... why ah? engine problem ar?

buy bicycle!! problem solved! now some guys also take the mountain bike masuk LRT/monorail! :)

ok. the RX7 has some incredible sporting heritage that in short isnt for everyone. running cost do exceed many people perception of affordable maintenance. a poorly maintain one will rob your bank balance, a good one will enthralled your driving senses.

one need to find a compromise.

sometimes some guys will say;

"hey , i get 400+km on a full tank!"
perception is a full tank is like a saloon car? but in reality = above >>RM140 per tank full.

misconception cause anxiety to the other guy and later farks like hell why some guys gets better mileage.

BE PREPARED to pay more once your hands get bitten on mod bug. it a curse that is hard to cure.

if you are an car enthusiast; no car is $$$ friendly. your pocket just burns as it never enough. :)

My small 13b on highway cruising consumes 420-450km. on sepang 1 full tank i can get 230km.

that is vr good mah... my almost-similar-cc-engine also has almost the same fc as urs... but sad thing is, mine is a puny 4 stroke banger which doesnt exceed 80hp....

Guys.. take his word with a teeny weeny pinch of salt when he says doesnt exceed 80hp... :biggrin:

4-5months ago i plan to buy diz rx7 and i make a research and survey at many bgkel and rx7 enthusiast as well.. and u know wat they said rite,thats y til now im not getting dat car.. ned a lot of money for long term use compare wit mit,nissan,toyota etc.. now im trying to make research again..huhuh..

i have only one thing to say...for rm60k if u can compeat wif a 100k+ car pls do buy it.....well it does drink fuel but so wad u buy the car for 60k !! if u buy any other car wif tht kind of power it will cost at least 100k...if u buy rx7 which is 60k, u gt 40k to spend on petrol....ok wad bro !!

well i have 2 cars which is my proton wira....1.5gl auto...wif high setting my car has good pick up and lots of power but fuel consumption can shoot from 13km/liter to just 8km/liter....my other car is my 1979 corolla ke30...also whn the carb is high setting car gat great pick up and can travel up to 160+km/h but fuel consumption goes up !!

moral of the story " IF u wan the horse to run, u must give it food "

if u really like the car buy it...but pls do check wif rx7 mechanics on the maintainance bcoz price can vary !!

yea.... u buy a car that can outrun a rm100k car with a proton saga roadtax price... what else u can ask for...

i love rx7..i think is super sleek design although is 10++years ago...the design never age...well..any car u pijak pedal kuat kuat sure makan minyak 1 la.....i mean...if u can find a stock rx7fd is the best....better mantainence...thn slowly u mod urself....
if u get a modded already ar...ppl sure pijak pedal gila gila..engine oso half path its lifespend...unless those really sayang their car la...