reaplce stock 4afe autoGB with BT autoGB?

normality78

Replace stock 4afe autoGB with BT autoGB?

Yesterday my fren stumble me with this question.

He was looking replace his stock 4afe Auto gb with BT auto unit coz his ori gb not so good liao. Thn he asked is BT auto GB more stronger? any sifu can answer this?

BT auto gearbox got this 'power' and 'manu' mode to sort of give the auto tranny 'at least' some fun driving style and high rev characteristics.
therefore, if u replace the 4afe with 4age auto gb, u also need to replace your ecu to BT auto one (and along with that, maybe other stuff need to replace also)..

wa... so good... some 1 has help me asking the question... haha

i was looking around for the same answer on internet these few day....

my current auto gb got some problem...
as i'd been quote from chopshop, a 4a-fe auto gb cost RM700+ (from japan half-cut) and i saw ppl selling SVT/BT gb around RM300 plus only...

so, i would like to know, is SVT or BT auto gb fit into 4A-FE? doesnt matter it has eco/power mode or not.. as long as it can fit and run on 4a-fe..can they?

tumpang thread

how about auto to mannual. is it has to change the ecu and starter.

BT auto gearbox got this 'power' and 'manu' mode to sort of give the auto tranny 'at least' some fun driving style and high rev characteristics.
therefore, if u replace the 4afe with 4age auto gb, u also need to replace your ecu to BT auto one (and along with that, maybe other stuff need to replace also)..

there is an ecu on the BT gearbox itself right? thats the reason why we need to change our main ecu along right?

normality78,
yup, beside the main ECU for the car, there is also the smaller ecu just for controlling the auto gb.

laichong,
as far as i know. Can fit. as their mounting is similar.

anuar_fadzli,
if u mean auto to manual (both 4age 20v), of course can, and not necessary need to replace the ecu. A few of my friends did that running manual gb (c52/c56 gb) on the auto ecu (4age 20v).
Also got a friend change from auto (4afe's) to manual (4age's c56) and he's
still using the 4afe auto ECU to run the car now.

thanks wfhan...

another noob question, how does a 20v AT gb perfom when putting it into 4a-fe? i mean, will it make 4a-fe more "powerfull(abit?)" or still remain same? as the ECU will still controlling them..??

thanks wfhan...

another noob question, how does a 20v AT gb perfom when putting it into 4a-fe? i mean, will it make 4a-fe more "powerfull(abit?)" or still remain same? as the ECU will still controlling them..??

this one i have no answer.
all that i encountered was convert from auto to manual one.
but i doubt it will be powerful.... maybe the gb can tahan longer only gua, or
b4 the gb reach the 'powerful' output, the 4afe engine kaboom liao (cos it is not designed as 4age).. oops..

lol.... thanks wfhan :D!! hahaha

well, i guess i'll just try to put in a 20v gb and test...if only i can find a cheap auto gb.. haha

tumpang thread

how about auto to mannual. is it has to change the ecu and starter.

if convert from auto to manual..
u need to add a flywheel..
AE101 4AFE using same ECU on auto and manual trans..
i'm using blacktop 5sp manual C56 gearbox also..better pick up..hehe!

laichong,
if u read what wfhan replied, he did mentioned about needed to change ecu. i dun think u can just swap using BT auto tranny just like that. Thn if you change to BT ecu, alot of thing will be different as fuel mapping and ignition setting. Also remmeber i asked about small little ecu on the gearbox itself?

also agreed with wfhan and that is exactly what my fren is trying to know. He only wan the GB be stronger as in more robust and lasting to trash instead of more "powerfull". I doubt any gearbox will give extra ponnies and normally its the gear ratio was the fully utilise the powerband but not add hp

if convert from auto to manual..
u need to add a flywheel..
AE101 4AFE using same ECU on auto and manual trans..
i'm using blacktop 5sp manual C56 gearbox also..better pick up..hehe!

ya man, ae101-wong is correct.
but the question here is auto to auto conversion, just the gearbox variant.

laichong,
if u read what wfhan replied, he did mentioned about needed to change ecu. i dun think u can just swap using BT auto tranny just like that. Thn if you change to BT ecu, alot of thing will be different as fuel mapping and ignition setting. Also remmeber i asked about small little ecu on the gearbox itself?

also agreed with wfhan and that is exactly what my fren is trying to know. He only wan the GB be stronger as in more robust and lasting to trash instead of more "powerfull". I doubt any gearbox will give extra ponnies and normally its the gear ratio was the fully utilise the powerband but not add hp

if want to just swap the GB without the ecu taken in to consideration, then can try-try (i never anybody did this b4), and update us the result, as i'm also eager to know the result of this experiment. hehehehehe...

yup, normality78 is correct, BT's gb is definately has stronger internals compared to 4afe's. and it doesn't give extra HP. and please take note that GB is not a factor contribute to produce higher HP. maybe with shorter gear ratio, u rev is faster to climb. Hence, 'maybe' u get to feel the pickup is faster only.

i got an advice, if 4afe auto gb want to change to bt's auto gb, forget about it, better save more $ and convert to BT (as u get the whole package that works as it is designed to be)..

Ae101-wong,
when u want to chg yours to 4age heheheh....u still in KL ? when free to yamcha...

hahaha, i got 1 wild idea. maybe u can just take either the valve body or the torque converter from BT auto and fit into 4afe auto. It shld be direct plug in. I think the torque converter shld be able to coz if im not wrong, valve body was the one that need the small ecu control.

aiya, why want to go thru all that hassle, just get a half-cut and convert the whole thing lor... :P

well, if the BT GB got so much issue... might be thinking to get a 4a-fe or SVT GB instead ... i think that should be less hassle right? :)

and sorry for my bad english... actually what i wanna say is the gear ratio which is different, and maybe will made the car feel powerfull in terms of pick-up... :P thanks bro frank and wfhan for poiting that out hehehe....

actually swapping 4a-fe to 20v is not in my plan as i wish to kept the car in Auto which it wont contribute much "power" to a 20v engine, waste a 20v potential power... and it does cost more compare to just changing the gb and do a minor overhaul...

who knows at the end i sold off this car leh ? :P

eh lai chong,
i do think 20V SVT also samething. got extra ecu one. whahahha... thats why i said lo... get BT GB, use the item inside.

hm.... since SVT GB so cheap, im thinking to get one and open up inside and see can it be use. I've make enquiry on USA before for our 4afe gearbox, they do sell better torque converter and valve body but you're looking at USD4xx to 5xx for each item.

perhaps can call any local auto tranny rebuilt shop and ask them, does 20V auto torque converter same as our 4afe one. If so, thn we're in luck

transplant to BT auto also can drive what..
like me lor..:P

lol.... no money lar bro~ :(

eh lai chong,
i do think 20V SVT also samething. got extra ecu one. whahahha... thats why i said lo... get BT GB, use the item inside.

hm.... since SVT GB so cheap, im thinking to get one and open up inside and see can it be use. I've make enquiry on USA before for our 4afe gearbox, they do sell better torque converter and valve body but you're looking at USD4xx to 5xx for each item.

perhaps can call any local auto tranny rebuilt shop and ask them, does 20V auto torque converter same as our 4afe one. If so, thn we're in luck

har? bro u sure SVT also has that tiny ECU kar? alamak... wa biang lor....
this means end up i back to square, need to find a 4a-fe auto gb :S

btw, have u guys enquire b4 how much it cost to overhaul/rebuild/repair an Auto GB? i heard its not cheap, but got no idea how much it is...