Garrett GT Series Turbo Opinion

evo5755

Dear All sifus...

Anyone can give opinion on 3 Garrett turbo series, Garrett GT 28R, GT28RS aka Disco Potato and Garrett GT30R. Anyone have real life advise on those and how much those turbo cost in the market?

I am aiming for superior response, so am looking at GT series dual ball bearing turbo, but i am not sure about the difference between this two? I am not looking for anything above GT 30, because i think its too big and will affect the response.

My engine is 1.8litre B8 and will have some measures added to the engine to aim for response. adj cam pulley, aluminium crank pulley, ported head, fully balanced and lightened engine internals and also E-manage engine management. Now it's for the turbo selections.

My fellow friend has been kind enough to let drive/trash their impreza 8 and S204, and very addicted to those kind of power. Instantaneous power, superior response that rev all the way up to redline. Those ride made me crazy about the response driving experience. Although i might not be able to achieve 100% of the subaru engine feel(their gearbox ratio is wonderful), but at leat 80% near at fraction of the price being compared to subaru...hehe

bro try pm ' bebolagalas T '
he is experianced in garrett turbo, or just have a visit on his shop at subang 2,nearby subang airport and chat your story to him...

Last edited by a moderator:
Dear All sifus...

Anyone can give opinion on 3 Garrett turbo series, Garrett GT 28R, GT28RS aka Disco Potato and Garrett GT30R. Anyone have real life advise on those and how much those turbo cost in the market?

I am aiming for superior response, so am looking at GT series dual ball bearing turbo, but i am not sure about the difference between this two? I am not looking for anything above GT 30, because i think its too big and will affect the response.

My engine is 1.8litre B8 and will have some measures added to the engine to aim for response. adj cam pulley, aluminium crank pulley, ported head, fully balanced and lightened engine internals and also E-manage engine management. Now it's for the turbo selections.

My fellow friend has been kind enough to let drive/trash their impreza 8 and S204, and very addicted to those kind of power. Instantaneous power, superior response that rev all the way up to redline. Those ride made me crazy about the response driving experience. Although i might not be able to achieve 100% of the subaru engine feel(their gearbox ratio is wonderful), but at leat 80% near at fraction of the price being compared to subaru...hehe

u can leave turbo response out for the time being before choosing the turbo , turbine housing and sizing can be chose , wht is ur horsepower aim , then u can choose which turbo u want to buy

Jinkl,

not aiming at high horsepower, but more at response power delivery or torque. Expecting full spool at around 3000-3300rpm which will pull strongly ro redline around 6.5k-7krpm. Horse aiming at around 300 horsepower is sufficient.

From my research i think the Disco Potato aka GT28RS fits the purpose. But must also look at the price factor also le..hehehe..GT28RS vs Gt30. wonder if the difference is a lot between this two.

you can opt for GT2871..max will deliver you full boost at your desired range.

best bang for buck would be GT2835.

GT3037 or GT3076 will be too laggy for your 1.8cc.

Jinkl,

not aiming at high horsepower, but more at response power delivery or torque. Expecting full spool at around 3000-3300rpm which will pull strongly ro redline around 6.5k-7krpm. Horse aiming at around 300 horsepower is sufficient.

From my research i think the Disco Potato aka GT28RS fits the purpose. But must also look at the price factor also le..hehehe..GT28RS vs Gt30. wonder if the difference is a lot between this two.

gt28 will be suitable like sdf said , gt30 err errr 300 is kinda low for it lolx

you can opt for GT2871..max will deliver you full boost at your desired range.

best bang for buck would be GT2835.

GT3037 or GT3076 will be too laggy for your 1.8cc.

SDF,

Thanks and that is what i think of. So, whats the diff between GT2871 and GT28RS?

Can you pm me the price?

not wearing high heels. instantly marked out :p

i just use ar60 L

once again :D , ar60 meant nothing much bro
one of the biggest misconception with garrett turbo's especially

no matter where i go , everyone just goes, wei , u using ar60 ah, my fren using ar70 , my mech using ar80 , so bananaboyz , wht is ar60 ?

ar60 is just the front housing , not the turbo bro , the basic that i know
there are many types of garrett front cover , t3 , t04b , t04e , t04s etc..
so ur ar60 from a t04b is a smaller housing than a ar50 t04e , ar80 housing of a T2 is even more smaller than a t04b , so in conclusion , ar60 meant nothing much

a ar50 t04e with a large fin will have a bigger flow than a turbo with ar70 t04s cover smaller fin , wht sucks air is the compressor fin , not the housing , a suitable housing is a match to cure surge & make it more efficient , a turbine wheel is used to spin the shaft , a suitable sweet turbine wheel and turbine housing sets ur power range

example u said u use a ar60 t04e ,
wht if ur spec had a 40mm wheel and a suitable turbine
while another car had only a ar50 t04e,
with a 54mm wheel

from outside both are same wht , u meet ur friend, he also meet u , both open hood, then see, both also using ar60 , same mar , both test with perfect tune , of cos ur car will be far behind :)
so conclusion, never see the front housing and judge a turbo , i have seen with my own eyes , people who run so called ar70 turbo while being whopped by a standard factory turbo

something for u to learn maybe bro :D , dnt worry, i was like u too :P

once again :D , ar60 meant nothing much bro
one of the biggest misconception with garrett turbo's especially

no matter where i go , everyone just goes, wei , u using ar60 ah, my fren using ar70 , my mech using ar80 , so bananaboyz , wht is ar60 ?

ar60 is just the front housing , not the turbo bro , the basic that i know
there are many types of garrett front cover , t3 , t04b , t04e , t04s etc..
so ur ar60 from a t04b is a smaller housing than a ar50 t04e , ar80 housing of a T2 is even more smaller than a t04b , so in conclusion , ar60 meant nothing much

a ar50 t04e with a large fin will have a bigger flow than a turbo with ar70 t04s cover smaller fin , wht sucks air is the compressor fin , not the housing , a suitable housing is a match to cure surge & make it more efficient , a turbine wheel is used to spin the shaft , a suitable sweet turbine wheel and turbine housing sets ur power range

example u said u use a ar60 t04e ,
wht if ur spec had a 40mm wheel and a suitable turbine
while another car had only a ar50 t04e,
with a 54mm wheel

from outside both are same wht , u meet ur friend, he also meet u , both open hood, then see, both also using ar60 , same mar , both test with perfect tune , of cos ur car will be far behind :)
so conclusion, never see the front housing and judge a turbo , i have seen with my own eyes , people who run so called ar70 turbo while being whopped by a standard factory turbo

something for u to learn maybe bro :D , dnt worry, i was like u too :P

eh eh bro jinkl...dont la so tension..hehe...people new mar...hehe

But Banana, you can read more, there are plenty of information in the net. As been saidby jinkl, AR60 dont mean anything. Nissan Silvia stock turbo, T28 put it side by side with GT28RS, it looks almosy 95% same, but if same car,same engine, the one with GT28RS will smoke the stock T28. to make it easy, think of vtec. some people say, eh i am driving 1.6 DOHC VTEC la(B16A),eh me too DOHC VTEC(B16B). Looks the same, both also 1.6 litre also la... why B16A lose so much one???? :) :)

there are so many considerations, GT28RS or GT2871...but i think i will choose the disco potato

Now back to my question again from the sifus...the disco potato has two trims, .64 and .86 and now i am thinking which one to choose?

eh eh bro jinkl...dont la so tension..hehe...people new mar...hehe

But Banana, you can read more, there are plenty of information in the net. As been saidby jinkl, AR60 dont mean anything. Nissan Silvia stock turbo, T28 put it side by side with GT28RS, it looks almosy 95% same, but if same car,same engine, the one with GT28RS will smoke the stock T28. to make it easy, think of vtec. some people say, eh i am driving 1.6 DOHC VTEC la(B16A),eh me too DOHC VTEC(B16B). Looks the same, both also 1.6 litre also la... why B16A lose so much one???? :) :)

there are so many considerations, GT28RS or GT2871...but i think i will choose the disco potato

Now back to my question again from the sifus...the disco potato has two trims, .64 and .86 and now i am thinking which one to choose?

where got tension la , i call him brother summore lolx

if i was you, i will opt for the GT2871 , not to say mr disco is not good, but with the GT2871 u will have room for more power with higher boost. please please, before you sleep today , think first, is 300whp enough or not, the moment u get a gt28rs and later hunger for more power , sorry bebeh , i bet jinkl will come in ur mind lolx :P i should have gave some room for upgrade lol

i saw the gt28rs compressor map, if not mistaken , slightly between 1bar to 1.1bar the GT28rs already has its full flow , cant flow higher nemore , i would say around 2PR at comrpessor map u will get 36~lb/min , around 360hp on engine if supporting mods and efficiency is good.

http://www.turbobygarrett.com/turbobygarrett/images/catalog/Turbochargers/gt28_images/gt2860RS_739548_comp_e.gif

jin.. khoyos is right... no 3" heels...wasted.. but the skirt was nice...nice n short..

everyone has big misconceptions bout turbo...which is why in the earlier thread on "t04R" i had to clarify the notes made by jo1.

i wasn't there to shoot, but it's bout ensuring the people reading a forum / thread / blog has accurate information and not get lead astray with silly comments or one liner comments which are baseless.

it's gonna take lots of efforts to get people educated which is why we've been working with the magazine people to continue to publish right info for everyone to read.

a/r 0.60 as you mentioned is true...totally misleading ! and the other favourite is "....TD05 turbo ada aahhh ? " or "...i using TD06 lehhh.." ....it's like WOW...big deal...range and variance goes a long way.

i do log in almost on a daily basis and wouldn't spend any effort if people post stupid or silly things in ZTH or any other forum, cause it'll waste my energy to try and clarify and also waste band width of the forum.

BUT...if smart questions are posted, i'm more than happy to help guys out.

Regards,
Mel

yup2 everybody sometimes leads to wrong way of info, i told my fren, to port his td05h to port the compressor housing and fit it with bigger fins, he told me im bullshitting him and the turbo comes all in a set, u cant take out the parts, lol! i laugh like hell man...he acts like he knows everything...