Turbo Maintenance

maintaining a turbo is jz as same as maintaining a normal engine la....its jz engine

Totally agree.. I frequently drive from JB to Penang. Boosting at 1.1bar. no problems. Regular service la. And dunt full trottle all the way. u can see from ur boost meter.. i normally try to keep it in a vacc state.. below 0. But when overtaking esp uphill.. shiok. :)

Originally posted by L9Turbo@Jan 25 2005, 11:10
Totally agree.. I frequently drive from JB to Penang. Boosting at 1.1bar. no problems. Regular service la. And dunt full trottle all the way. u can see from ur boost meter.. i normally try to keep it in a vacc state.. below 0. But when overtaking esp uphill.. shiok. :)
i tink even for NA cars like MIVEC or VTEC if full throttle all the way also got problem la... :huh:

mayb ppl when they c the word "turbo" means they'll imagine of something worst than the worst.... :lol:

just maintain below boost. for sure less problem.

like this.. get a turbo engine.. and u will know less problem or not.

dont trust any people comment about turbo engine.. just rumours only.

like myself.. i scared to convert to turbo engine.. but now.. maintenance is just same as NA.

Originally posted by kher@Jan 25 2005, 11:13
i tink even for NA cars like MIVEC or VTEC if full throttle all the way also got problem la... :huh:

mayb ppl when they c the word "turbo" means they'll imagine of something worst than the worst.... :lol:
Yeah.. last time b4 i convert oso got friends told me turbo cannot go long distance. But then i tot... original Skylines, EVOs and other turbo cars.. cannot go long distance? Not logical ma. So i went ahead. Turns out all tat was bullshit. haha.

aiya... same ler.. if u driving a NA from kl to JB.. all de way kasi REDLINE sure got prob ler.. ekkekekee

ok
my long term project has just started!
turbo will go in my car! ;)

The negative myth people conjur about turbo engine is due to poor maintainance. Especially people who change engine.

Many people change engine without doing any major overhaul to the engine first

AFter the transplant, the problems start to crop up oftenly.

Remember, there is absolutely no idea how abusive the previous owner and delligent the servicing was.

A well maintained and serviced Turbo engine is just like any other normal engine. U can whack it to redline and do crazy shit with turbo engine without the engine breaking down.

However, when the engine is subject to hard revving, it succumbs to accelerated wear and tear.

Originally posted by L9Turbo@Jan 25 2005, 16:22
Bolt-on or transplant?
transplant for a sure reliable engine.(compared to a bolt-on)
bolt-on for a short "burst" of fun :lol:

actually i wanna do bolt on one....
but after heard all the comment from all turbo user
err...i think is wise for me to go tranplant rite?
btw...any turbo user bolt on before or using it?

kelisa959 aka Ghost is no longer using that kelisa bolt-on turbo...sold the car already i think...can ask himself

ok this is my comment...bolt-on without changing internal is good to boost up HP a little...but dun have any potential to go up more. if u change to 660cc type of engine with turbo..there is more potential rather than just bolt on...BUT it is also limited. 1000cc turbo with piston changed and other safety modification provided will gives u 150hp on wheels or more easily !!!

haha
i think i know what to do
i ask the mechanic what can i do with 5k
if everything nice...i'll ask him to bolt on turbo for me
if not...go 660cc turbo engine <_<

so,u can either change to a turbo engine or bolt on turbo with modification to the internal component,just like flamefox said,but u might end up spending more on the bolt on turbo,but if planning to play normal boost bolt on is ok...but u have to make sure u dont 'gatal2' to boost up or u end up with a dead engine...

Yeah.. bolt-ons need more attention and $$. My friend did bolt-on on his kenari aero... blew the engine. Now thinking of transplanting to L9. Anyway... i can tell u.. i am satisfied with my L7. Only snag is the gear ratio for top speed. Good for launching.. but not for top speed. RPM goes too high.

Talking about Bolt-On....he he....For under 5K....withTD04L, boost up to 0.7 bar...
What car? Waja....a few already did it....not single even blown their engine....

Tips:

Maintenance should tip top
Reduce boosting - and don't try to overboost!!!

transplant? budget / JPJ/ etc.....

Try not to overboost? very diffiult la for most pple. the hunger for more power.. and u bolt on.. how much more hp can u gain?

wat L9Turbo said is true..
a stock standard or factory setting turbocharged car actually is just like our normal daily drive car, irregardless wat model and type, wont cost u much in maintenance.

fuel comsumption? dun lar step 9 9 in every gears, sayang ur engine a bit.. ;)
uphill or overtaking are different story lar, ok? :lol:

servicing? change ur black oil (semi synthetic) every 3000km. That's it~

vrooom.. psshh.... !! Happy Ziu Ziu Ziu !!! :lol: