Wira 1.5 Auto need some power

yinghao

I'm driving stock Wira 1.5 Auto and I'm new in car modding. Planned to modify my Filter and add Cool air intake. I'm in K.L, any place to recommed? Also need some power to my car any recommendation?

perhaps u wanna try modding your exhaust system....
like changing to aftermarket muffler.....
change the cat converter to "bullet"...
this is wat i did to mine and throttle response improved......

juz my 2 cents........

you should start of with the air intake and exhaust system.

IMO, you could try getting a KNN drop-in air filter, remove the stock intake piping and replace it with a Cold Air Intake.

Then, you could also change your exhaust system to a fully Powerzone setup like 4-2-1 extractor and 1.75" piping. For auto tranny, you should get a S-flow muffler.

bear in mind, these are only preliminary or Stage 1 mods. there are alot of other aspects to consider as well.

you should start of with the air intake and exhaust system.

IMO, you could try getting a KNN drop-in air filter, remove the stock intake piping and replace it with a Cold Air Intake.

Then, you could also change your exhaust system to a fully Powerzone setup like 4-2-1 extractor and 1.75" piping. For auto tranny, you should get a S-flow muffler.

bear in mind, these are only preliminary or Stage 1 mods. there are alot of other aspects to consider as well.

Hi Meltan7,

Changing to K&N drop in filter, CAI, 4-2-1 extractor & piping will increase fuel consumption?

although i didnt change to k&n drop in filter..
i did CAI , 4-2-1 extractor, 1.75 piping & s-flow twin tip muffler...
my FC is actually better than my previous stock set up.....
as i said eariler....
response is also better.........
maybe u wanna try the set up as meltan7 for a start......

Hi Meltan7,

Changing to K&N drop in filter, CAI, 4-2-1 extractor & piping will increase fuel consumption?

FC is depends on your right leg
Those basic mods is basically to increase your car's response

Be careful with the exhaust setup, too big a piping will screw your power as well as high FC

Hi Meltan7,

well.. it's all up to you. usually what i think, if you don't want your car to suffer from bad fuel consumption, you wouldn't start modding in the 1st place.

however, if you do want to mod, you need to be careful and pay full attention on what you're doing.
with bad advice and cheap parts and labor, you're only damaging your car even further.

fuel consumption? it's all depends on how you mod your car. do you want it to be fuel savvy or you want that little bit of zip to it.

well, like i said, it all depends on you, what do you really want for your car.

cheers!

I already change K&N drop in filter + CAI. I have question to ask all sifu here.

After install CAI, first time I start my car and I put my hand near the CAI cap, I can feel the suction air, but after 2 days later I tried the same thing but no suction air. Even tried to accelerate also same.

Is it suppose I can feel the suction air? or else something wrong with my CAI setup?

could be the setup, or it's normal. i did the same test as you did, but now i don't know whether still got suction or not.

did you take out your stock air box piping?

Bump: could be the setup, or it's normal. i did the same test as you did, but now i don't know whether still got suction or not.

did you take out your stock air box piping?

Use to have a 1.5 Auto (now manual), best mod you can do is to swap to a manual tranny..improve your FC with better use of the engine's power.

Perhaps a lightened crank pulley would be a good investment as well.

hi meltan7,

my setup is similar like
http://khguan.fotopic.net/c1246369.html

hi all sifu!!

changing to 4-2-1 extractor is it will cause the engine easy to heat, compare to stock system?

hmm..i am also driving a wira 1.5 yr 2000....and tell you it is going to be hell to extract horsies out of it.

Maybe go kedai potong get an oil cooler for your auto gearbox, this way the gear box would be more responsive,

the problem with our car, mostly on the pick up part, but with the KNN filter, i can safely say that you mid range torque or pick up is greatly enhanced!(maybe it is easier to climb from 60km/h to 90 km/h)

exhaust mod is the most difficult part, you need to have the right combination, if it is set up wrongly, you will lose power in the lower range.

I have visited many established exhaust shop whom promised that I could beat a Mivec auto in pick up, trust me, they don;t work. There is one old uncle in usj who provides advice and installation, can PM me if you are interested.(abit pricey but worth the price)

I think right now you need to focus more on torque rather than horsepower!

Oh yah, i second ExceL's suggestions, Lightened crank pulley(installed in mine recently, it was great!)

Just my two cents!

i've done the K&N before and it does improve the lower torque. the 4-2-1 will be a good choice + LCP. i've installed all 3 on my wira'06 1.5A and its done well on the lower end. will be upgrading the stock piping and muffler as well.

oh yes, remove the cat-converter if you are intending to change the exhaust setup. go for normal mid box or bullet type. you will require backpressure for ur auto gearbox to work.

oil cooler for your auto gearbox is essential if you are continuously revving / start-stop traffic. our small cooler on the radiator is not enough in my opinion.

Cheers.

i've done the K&N before and it does improve the lower torque. the 4-2-1 will be a good choice + LCP. i've installed all 3 on my wira'06 1.5A and its done well on the lower end. will be upgrading the stock piping and muffler as well.

oh yes, remove the cat-converter if you are intending to change the exhaust setup. go for normal mid box or bullet type. you will require backpressure for ur auto gearbox to work.

oil cooler for your auto gearbox is essential if you are continuously revving / start-stop traffic. our small cooler on the radiator is not enough in my opinion.

Cheers.

Hi!

what is LCP? Besides, I added CAI + K&N drop in filter, and found out that fuel consumption even higher! is it need re-tuned to balance the volume of air?

The 4-2-1 extractor do you have any recommended exhaust shop?

hi all sifu!!

changing to 4-2-1 extractor is it will cause the engine easy to heat, compare to stock system?

not really. if you have a heatshield for the extractor, by all means, use it. or you could thermal wrap it.

hi meltan7,

my setup is similar like
http://khguan.fotopic.net/c1246369.html

i'm not too sure whether changing a filter and CAI would increase FC, as i've never checked it myself before. maybe your right foot is heavy?

Hi!

what is LCP? Besides, I added CAI + K&N drop in filter, and found out that fuel consumption even higher! is it need re-tuned to balance the volume of air?

powerzone dude. they've got tuned length extractors and pipings.

Hi!

were you in the wise auto forum as well? i guess you can get more help there.LCP is lightened crank pulley. i'm using the mythology brand. its lighter and helps with the rpm climb.

i'm not sure how u r going to re-tune the SVDO, but drive it around for a few days and it should automatically adapt to the best settings. powerzone seems to be the logical choice but i haven tried them yet as pricing seems a bit steep for me. anyway, do look around the forum and upgrade slowly. spend wisely during these troubled times. cheers and happy modding.

..but a dampened or undampened LCP? haha, its a never ending dilemma:banghead:

is this logic?
high flow air filter = more air = more fuel ?. Which creates more power.

RM4xx for extractor...fuh *pengsan*... are the PZ extractors different from the WISE ones, length, diameter & so on?

..but a dampened or undampened LCP? haha, its a never ending dilemma:banghead:

is this logic?
high flow air filter = more air = more fuel ?. Which creates more power.

RM4xx for extractor...fuh *pengsan*... are the PZ extractors different from the WISE ones, length, diameter & so on?

i believe most ppl say dampened is the way to go. unless you have a blue printed + balanced engine, any aftermarket crank pully is better if got the dampening rubber on it. even the ori crank pully has it (i think).

I can't comment on the more air = more fuel used assumption. the SVDO is adaptive ECU and will adjust accordingly. so overtime, you might feel like the engine going 'normal' again. not the 'high' stage it was when you first installed the upgrade. its like u got used to the upgrades already. but in actual fact, if you drove the original virgin wira and your modded wira.. there is the difference....

a lot of posts i read last time pointed that the original wira SE batch of 421 extractor is quite good already. my 1st wira 1.5A was fitted with one and can really feel the diff between 4-1 ori and the 421 from wira SE. the engine is easier to rev for lower end power. currently i'm using a chapalang 421 (not from wira se) but it does feel the same though.

depending on wat u want, upgrade slowly and according to ur budget. do not overspend. 1.5A 3 gear gearbox is dated already... just a gentle reminder.. to get more pwoer, change to manual.. :thefinger:

i believe most ppl say dampened is the way to go. unless you have a blue printed + balanced engine, any aftermarket crank pully is better if got the dampening rubber on it. even the ori crank pully has it (i think).

I can't comment on the more air = more fuel used assumption. the SVDO is adaptive ECU and will adjust accordingly. so overtime, you might feel like the engine going 'normal' again. not the 'high' stage it was when you first installed the upgrade. its like u got used to the upgrades already. but in actual fact, if you drove the original virgin wira and your modded wira.. there is the difference....

a lot of posts i read last time pointed that the original wira SE batch of 421 extractor is quite good already. my 1st wira 1.5A was fitted with one and can really feel the diff between 4-1 ori and the 421 from wira SE. the engine is easier to rev for lower end power. currently i'm using a chapalang 421 (not from wira se) but it does feel the same though.

depending on wat u want, upgrade slowly and according to ur budget. do not overspend. 1.5A 3 gear gearbox is dated already... just a gentle reminder.. to get more pwoer, change to manual.. :thefinger:

hi jctasoga!

powerzone 4-2-1 extractor is very expensive compare to exhaust shop, they called it pipe puteh. so this pipe puteh isit same like powerzone extractor?