evo or subaru..

on a side note,

On the other hand, Subaru's Impreza V7, V8 and V9 has 60L while V10 has a bigger 64L.

just to share additional info here, sti spec c models (spec c, spec c type ra, spec c type ra-r) and prodrive come with 50L fuel tank. hope this help...:idea:

after along thinking..i decide to buy an evo 7..now the problem is i want to modfied the exterior with voltex bodykit..how much ar guys?i only have a tight budget like around rm5k..

since u bought secondhand M'sia, Better spend $$$ first for major service and diagnosis the car. That will be more important.

Just my opinion.

since u bought secondhand M'sia, Better spend $$$ first for major service and diagnosis the car. That will be more important.

Just my opinion.

do u mean major service like engine,clutch plate n timing belt?does turbo also need servicing?how many kilometre before i should service?:hmmmm:

just send the car to a qualified mechanic to check that everything is in proper working order, eg. compression test, etc. etc.

do u mean major service like engine,clutch plate n timing belt?does turbo also need servicing?how many kilometre before i should service?:hmmmm:

Periodical services need to do such as engine oil + filter, all 4 gearbox ols including AYC Oil, plugs etc.

To check timing belt, plugs, clutch etc.

Search on the MLOC forums and read. Bare in mind that maintaining a turbo car is much different compare to NA cars.

After all completed. Test run the car and the topspeed.
Should you managed to clocked around 69++ rpm on the 5th gear, that means that the car top-speed condition is normal.

subaru maintainence more labour work because the engine bay is compact, most of the stuff you do need to take off the intercooler, besides that even you wanna add a oil catch tank you gotta buy a tiny one, change timing belt have to take out alot of parts, even changing a turbo inlet hose you need to take out the whole inlet manifold soo prepare to leave your car in the workshop unless is just a normal service maintainence engine oil change, oil filter and air filter. never try evo before so i duno , but have tried airtrek , 130k kms on engine still running smooth no overhaul at all. so both cars have pros and cons. make the decision yourself, dont go to ask in subaru club or evo club as most of them will support their own cars so make the decision yourself also prepare for the maintainence cost as its not cheap,

you are 100% right, dun ask subaru club or evo club, sure both club will flame here flame there, LOL

look for evokit- 012-6107616, he can help u to check out the car and he is mloc member so don worry about overcharging or other concerns on maintaining it. his location in jln klang lama.

great choice and i do agreed with aja, maintain the car 1st then only go for exterior beautification.....voltex bodykit i believe u need to spend at least more than 5k.

both cars are good. For the subaru its AWD but the evo is a RWD. So technically subaru is better but if both were to be modified the subaru might lose even though its an AWD car. You should go and check youtube and see the japanese compete a stock subaru against an AE 86. Even though the AE86 has less Horsepower than the stock subaru but its still faster. the stock subaru also got understeer trough tight corners. Haha. So my opinion is to buy an EVO.:driver:

evo rwd? evo all-wheels spinning la brader

cant really give a blanket statement saying that an AWD car is better than a RWD...hafto see the application isnt it...for rally...of course AWD...but for touges, other than AWD vehicles, rx7s, s2000s are all RWDs which kick much a$$ as well what

for argument's sake, Assuming even if the evo was a rwd, AND also that AWD is better than a RWD vehicle in every way possible, ur point is very hard to get...

u use the example of a modded rwd ae86 which is faster than a stock awd subaru on a touge...then on this pretext u say it is better to get a rwd evo, modify it so it will be faster than a stock subaru? why dont u just get a subaru which was an AWD, mod it then whack kaw kaw the rwd fellas?

For the conclusion, the thicker money u spend, the stronger your car became! Money is the evil! :banghead:
*vote for subaru*

cant really give a blanket statement saying that an AWD car is better than a RWD...hafto see the application isnt it...for rally...of course AWD...but for touges, other than AWD vehicles, rx7s, s2000s are all RWDs which kick much a$$ as well what
Yuppi! Totally agree with u! GTR is fast but cornering.......

i tot both evo n scooby r 4wd or AWD?
4 me i'l go 4 scooby as there r 2 many evo out there.

if not mistaken the power distribution is 40:60. so the power more on rear... if m not mistaken ler... but never heard of evo rwd... perhaps previous owner lock the front power so that evo is powered by rwd.... :smokin::smokin::smokin:

1.i hav seen evo and subaru interior, evo looks plain kinda boring - will go for subaru
2.stock to stock performance wise - go for evo...
wanna prove : http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9dUvJ-PyAKo - evo 8 vs v8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8oSz38uanlY - evo 9 vs v9
3.handling - evo
4.maintainance - evo kinda cheaper due to a lot of parts and lower labour charge
whereas few sti parts have to for for sometimes
5.exterior - sti looks bolder and garang
6.sound of engine - of cos la sti

in my opinion go for a sti limited edition model which is for v8 - s203, these models are only produce in 550 models only...
or there is one at www.mudah.com.my - v8 tommy kaira which is 160k...

make ur choice wisely...:driver:

Actually both of this cars have pro and con, we cant decide which is more powerful, different car different driver in different situation will have different performance, just see some lap time result from following link, i'm shock when my 1st to see this because i can't imagine subaru's RAR will get this kind of result, RAr should be better than stock sti but now the result show the opposite way( i sad to see this......)

Therefore if can give marks to this 2 cars, i'll give same marks but not full marks since each of the car still content con. Therefore, proper tune is needed. I personal feel that this 2 cars is a brother of each other but in same father different mother, Geng geng kali pop!!
http://www.fastestlaps.com/track3.html

dont forget the sound of the imprezzzzzzaaa.....so nice....burbly growly hairy heeheh very manly heherheheheheh

had the opportunity to drive one unit (ver.8) for a day..

nice friendly clutch, nice 6 speed, solid shifting, and very street friendly, even when running on coilovers...

the power...woahh....just an aftermarket air filter, downpipe, catback...just some lag...then it is just a complete torque-fest

pushed the car at a gymkhana kinda track...very nice as well, coming out of corners, u can go FULL throttle no fuss no hairiness there...just squeals from tires only...this is one area where i guess the AWD shines over other drivetrains...using the average tires summore...no advans etc. etc.

only thing was, the brembos were not on par with everything else...not to say it wasnt good...but not on par...so u dont feel confident...this is most prolly due to lousy worn brake pads...on a super maintained car this shudnt be an issue

the one day test drive totally changed my view of the car...

gotta say, a not so great driver with big balls can also be fast on a track...it would be scary to push one of these things to its absolute limit, by the time u find the limit, u would be going at scary speeds, and recovering from the error will be a happy issue hehe

cant imagine in impreza with advans, twice the power, etc. etc......mind-blowing

Sorry la brader. Wrote wrongly. Haha. But an Evo still will be a better drives car. :proud:

no need say sorry la heeh

i think those two are pretty much equal, more down to preferences (according to mags etc. etc. but unsure as ive not driven an evo :P) but wondering why u say an Evo will be a better drives car?

curious hehe

I think at real-end, layman people will choose car with easy maintenance one.
Not much head-ache later.

About which one faster tuh, as we know that all depends on $$$ ler. In fact, the time gap with modded and stock one won't be differ soo much. Maybe differ like 2-3 min only.