My Car

keithmin

i wanna ask some opinions of zth members, i owned a satria, n i feel its not confortable when going through bumps or small holes, or even an uneven road tone, i just changed my absorbers, im using Sachs absorbers now...but i feel it only helps a little, might it be my tyre ? im using 14" rims with bridgestone tyres now...should i go for 15" ?

i thought of getting 16" but my friends told me that the tyres would cost a bomb...isit better to go 15" ? and does the weight of the rims effect my handling ? if so should i get heavy or light rims....

i wanna ask some opinions of zth members, i owned a satria, n i feel its not confortable when going through bumps or small holes, or even an uneven road tone, i just changed my absorbers, im using Sachs absorbers now...but i feel it only helps a little, might it be my tyre ? im using 14" rims with bridgestone tyres now...should i go for 15" ?

i thought of getting 16" but my friends told me that the tyres would cost a bomb...isit better to go 15" ? and does the weight of the rims effect my handling ? if so should i get heavy or light rims....

There are a number of contributions. But remember it is a car with old technology so do not ever expect such a car to feel like say a savvy even. First things first look at your suspension setup.... are all the bearings and bushes in good condition? If it is cracking or brittle when you touch it then it is a long overdue change.

Springs over time does not get softer it actually get more rigid and does not flex as normal. So that is to be put into consideration too. Absorbers...well generally absorbers lasts about 60k or so. But sometimes it might last longer... depends on how you drive and where you drive. A simple way to test is to push down each 4 corners of your car....right on top of where your tires are. If the car settles after one rebound compression then it's in excellent condition if more than that it means your shocks are not working anymore and your springs are doing the job.

Lastly since you are using 14" wheels and I figure your tyres are 70 or 60 profile it should not be such a trashy ride. Upgrading to larger rims will not solve your ride over bad roads... it will just mean you have more grip and more weight. If you want to up the rims than do it an inch more to 15" with 195/55 profile tyres that should not cost too much on your pockets.

how uncomfortable it is??... bumpy??... stiff??... soft??... both sides not bouncing the same time??...

There are a number of contributions. But remember it is a car with old technology so do not ever expect such a car to feel like say a savvy even. First things first look at your suspension setup.... are all the bearings and bushes in good condition? If it is cracking or brittle when you touch it then it is a long overdue change.

Springs over time does not get softer it actually get more rigid and does not flex as normal. So that is to be put into consideration too. Absorbers...well generally absorbers lasts about 60k or so. But sometimes it might last longer... depends on how you drive and where you drive. A simple way to test is to push down each 4 corners of your car....right on top of where your tires are. If the car settles after one rebound compression then it's in excellent condition if more than that it means your shocks are not working anymore and your springs are doing the job.

Lastly since you are using 14" wheels and I figure your tyres are 70 or 60 profile it should not be such a trashy ride. Upgrading to larger rims will not solve your ride over bad roads... it will just mean you have more grip and more weight. If you want to up the rims than do it an inch more to 15" with 195/55 profile tyres that should not cost too much on your pockets.

the bushes i have just changed all of them, even the engine mounting bush...right now the tyres r 185/60/14

how uncomfortable it is??... bumpy??... stiff??... soft??... both sides not bouncing the same time??...

its bumpy...like when ur inside, when i drive through MRR2 highway, even a small bump on road u can feel urself bounce up, n when there r uneven road, u might feel like bouncing up n down...

mayb ur absorber are stiff? that why a bit will make ur self bounce ?

for me i like stiff absorber , better cornering :P

absorbers ? i found out something, when i put full tank, my car appears to be more stable, i think its weight now...lol, so many factors..now i dono what should i do...later i changed rims then still the same....

You have to describe your bounce dude...stiff or soft bounce...that would consolidate the issues.

Larger rims and tyres would make your ride harder and you would need stiffer suspensions..there is no actual balance where you can get the best of both worlds...

Unless you get full adjustables and change it to your driving mood.

I am also looking at changing my suspensions on my NEO...It a dilemma on the choice and also the money part..good and cheap cheap

if i drive fast is stiff lor, but when driving slow its normal...

Doesnt sound that bad what?

You dont want it the other way round la.

i think it is too stiff...get two person to sit behind, shud settle it, facing the same problem

sacrifice comfortability or the ability to attack corners, up to you

i think it is too stiff...get two person to sit behind, shud settle it, facing the same problem

sacrifice comfortability or the ability to attack corners, up to you

yes !!! if i have passengers behind, my ride seems more stable...this cant be adjusted huh ?

Ahhh...soooo des ka...

It depends on the individual...i would like your suspension set up...maybe a bit stiffer...cornering better and safer ma..

yeah it stiff...But cornering is better...
my car is also like this...No comfort actually,but i like it...

ohh, now i know...hehe, but i've ride on my father`s cars like the BMW 320, toyota vios, its good though...cornering n holes...but scarify horse power :(