Discussion on muffler and piping

scottwrx

Dear all sifus,

would like to ask for you inputs about muffler,

I have tried 4-5 different types of muffler n piping and found out that at the range of 3-4k rpm, that is the loudest / bassy, but after 4000rpm, no sound like ori muffler, most of the muffler i tried are not n1 type, all are big bosy straight flow or s flow, currently using apex super megaphone twin muffler.. also bassy at 3-4000 rpm.. what is the reason behind all this?due to back preassure or anything else

i am also planning to customise a exhaust control valve like what apexi is offering, the construction is to install a butterfly on the main piping to control the exhaust flow, according to apex, that will reduce the exhaust note and improve the low end torque..
like this
http://www.apexi-usa.com/images_products/S_5915.jpg

anyone experience using the product before? pro an con?

thanx a million

^-^ Scotty zai, u want bassy or dun want bassy la? Or u wanna have like MY APEXI GT which silent off completely when engine idling time(after warm up), then when reach 4k it will starts to yell like no body business...

As i know, ECV u can only use it to temporarily alter the flow of your exhaust by closing the valve and force it to flow through a small diameter. If from what you mention above, you drive using it for long term. i scared u might face a problems caused back pressure..

then piston picah, conrod patah~~ engine meletup!! orang terbang! :D

And i never found my car is bassy... maybe because i dun use the mid box. I only use 4-2-1 > center round bullet > APex GT... it produce a really really darn nice fierce sound :D

scott.. the exhaust sound is due to resonance of emission pulse from ur engine,
therefore, the higher the rpm the faster the pace of the pulse (u should know that, bro),
the speed and flow of the pulses through exhaust piping and muffler at different rpm varies,
and causes different frequency of resonance generated at the end.
i hope my noob explanation is correct..

customizing a valve control will interrupt the flow, thus generating different back pressure
in the exhaust system. let us know if u managed to customized and produced it.
i think many here are interested in the thing...

I had the same idea of the valve controller exhaust... but worry insufficient exhaust outlet which could lead to engine damage. Perhaps it would be possible to reduce the exhaust note if the valve (butterfly) is set to 80% closed and no further. This would be great when pulled over by J*J or P*lis ;)

Another method bro scott is the good old muffler silencer. Try DIY Exhaust Silencer: http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/do-it-yourself-garage/199180-exhaust-silencer.html
Using simple stainless steel cup only.

Also, your exhaust piping type and diameter also contributes to exhaust loudness. Remember to check and replace the center bullet/midbox if the fiber is already out.

thanx for all the input, i also have the same thought as wfhan, juz being very curious how come those exhaust systems makers wanna to make it bassy at 3-4000 rpm that is the range that we always travel in, 100 kmh - 130kmh.... thats why wanna try ecv to control the sound a bit, less bassy, coz i always travel on highway.. too bassy cannot enjoy my sound systems already lah.. hehehe....

as for silencer, i customize one before and works like magic, but the problem is must go and removed every time wanna make changes... prefer on the fly alteration.. muahahaha....
to make the ecv, know what to do already, juz need some time to find the item required.. if found can do it in 1 day also.... not really that complicated..

Actually scott, u are thinking in half way... U have a formula here.. :D but then u didn't work it properly ^-^ hAHHAHA!!!

One words, This butterfly can be use to close the loop hole up to 95% right.. :) well, what if u apply this onto a twin exhaust system? ^-^

etc, Stock levin hidden at left... while Apex GT THUNDERBOLT+ASAMKILAT+apahlahhSUPERLOUD Gt exhaust.. on right hand side.. ^-^

then you need 2 valve, left opens, right close.. while right close and left opens... :D i can say, your exhaust will be twice heavier.. this one confirm you can get noisy ride and silent ride. ^-^ but a bit insane la.. macam DIY until pyscho level already.

For me, I rather buy a big jack back home... then use 2 exhaust set up... anything i like.. just plug in for fun :D hahaha!! it takes me around 30 min to change it only.. :D

Dun think too much la... and btw, next month i am looking for APEX Dunk Megaphone.. anyone know about this exhaust? i am looking for a silent low bass type.. which u rev also like tersumbat sound ones... :) does this exhaust provide this sound?

One words: not family nor gf complaint.. but U just look ahead at the NIGHT scene la.. KL block, then PUTIH biru sama sama satu row block u... hisk!! gila...

bro... the butterfly is for the main piping before the y seperator lar.. meaning i only need one ECV lor.. i was thinking placing only one on one of the twin muffler, but dunno how is the effect. so try with the main pipe first loh.. hehehe...

go and order one from Apexi, just plug and play ^.^ if really free, get a throttler body, grind off 5~10% of the butterfly shim and plug in the throttler cable and you were done lol~ hohoho~

scoot,i tell u wat lah,u dun wan the bassy sound very easy wan lah....juz use bk the ori 4AGE twin muffler then no more sound loh...and then u can sell me the apexi twin muffler loh...LOL...:thefinger:

Put the tong tong in between, ma quiet lor ... my kakimotor got 2 tong in between, super quiet .. lolx ...

actually, i lupa there is one Starlet buddy told me before ones. He mentions the sound is different ones... because the air flow is difference already... it is being seperated into 2 column once u are using the valve. :)

and yes, normally people would put into the Before* Y bracket there :) that why i said, hahaha!! if u wanna custom and diy an exhaust system which can have both.. :P it will be on the after Y bracket there... with 2 valve.. :P

then u sell ur pioneer system out and get some money :biggrin::biggrin:

actually, i lupa there is one Starlet buddy told me before ones. He mentions the sound is different ones... because the air flow is difference already... it is being seperated into 2 column once u are using the valve. :)

and yes, normally people would put into the Before* Y bracket there :) that why i said, hahaha!! if u wanna custom and diy an exhaust system which can have both.. :P it will be on the after Y bracket there... with 2 valve.. :P

then u sell ur pioneer system out and get some money :biggrin::biggrin:

hehehe.. try n see lor.... bro sound system i dun play pioneer one... morel, helix or mb quart.. muahahaha..... morel dotech best!!!

Bangla r.. Pioneer exhaust system la... :D means sell the DIY thing make by your.. since u born it out... Not pioneer sound system!! SLAP kao u ka! HAHAHAHAH!!!:thefinger::thefinger:

knn... mention clearly mar... mahai.. come slap me lar.. but have to come to penang woh...
if like that then i got a lot of pioneer stuff to sell already.. muahahaha....

Put the tong tong in between, ma quiet lor ... my kakimotor got 2 tong in between, super quiet .. lolx ...

bro.. how is your car ar? can jalan already? dat day u sound like wanna die only... go track whack over limit already kot...

Have to understand, our engine aged and wear / tear very high if you are having fun with the trumpet sound. :driver: Anyway, fresh rebuild are up very soon and new heart with new blood vein is on the way. :proud:

Scott ! Dun like the twin muffler sound izzit? use the fgk mid box already ar?? told you this 2 lanpa is heavy lo....:thefinger:

i love the twin muffler.. just at the range of 3000-4000 rpm got bassy sound lor... which i dun like coz always traveling at h.w way mar.... dats y wanna do it mar... if i dun like, early early already sold to howard lor... thanx a lot for your midbox replacement..

later i rank u as good seller har... ok..

any sifus mind to share more of any experience regarding the ecv or the bassy sound at certain range... ....