4-1 0r 4-2-1 works best for drag racing??

a very3 informative website u got there cartoon. thx alot. do u all know which brand have a gud extractor? ive heard of some brands but ppl always recommend hotbits extractor. any opinion r most welcome.

Common performance extractor:

-The pipe from all exhaust port is in same length, so each of the exhaust pulse will not be conflict, smonth exhaust flow.

-Oxygen sensor located in the collector that all pipe from exhaust port join together. If the oxygen sensor is located on one of the pipe, the reading may incorrect, this will effect the ECU giving wrong air/fuel ratio, hence limited engine performance.

-Dyno tune information will be much better.

thx 4 d info again. can u recommend me any shop tht i can do up my exhaust? gud shops lor. price estimation also would b gud

Hard to tell.... if the product is direct plug & play unit, there is not much worry about.

But if the product is not a plug & play unit, and require minor welding modification, the finishing work is depent on machanic him-self.

For local product, Hot-bit do offer detial information about the exhaust system, Matec have very good product finishing job.

Just bear in mind

4-2-1 is for low end respond (for better drivablity purpose)

4-1 is all the way to red line (peak power all the time)

as simple as that.....dragsters uses NO mid box or muffler, straight 2.5-3 for N/A.....Straight 3-3.5 for Turbo

So how do u wanna drag ur car, may i ask ?

Hard to tell.... if the product is direct plug & play unit, there is not much worry about.

But if the product is not a plug & play unit, and require minor welding modification, the finishing work is depent on machanic him-self.

For local product, Hot-bit do offer detial information about the exhaust system, Matec have very good product finishing job.

The important part is tuned-length and good mendrel-bent tru out the curving areas of the extractor and piping

hi all..
just curious wanna ask wat if my car altis vvti 1.8 auto wanna chg to the mid box to twister design, izzit gud or bad?

for auto bolt on turbo..better get a 4-1...
coz low end torque already have turbo support....get a power at top end speed :):biggrin:

for auto bolt on turbo..better get a 4-1...
coz low end torque already have turbo support....get a power at top end speed :):biggrin:

I heard if Auto car remove Cat or change piping will lost in low end as i heard they need back pressure and sensor can't detect when to change gear. I not sure abt this.

For auto bolt on turbo...low end already have turbo support...so there is no need to worry about low end will suck!! (There is not much different!!)
JUST worry when you top speed ...reving high....
so.. i suggest..for a AUTO TURBO...
better straight flow !! the sound wont be too louder than N/A !!
For the N/A auto...
i suggest Sflow is the most suit.... if N/A auto doing straight flow...
your power will gonna DROP !! my friend had try it !! his drive the car go genting....
his power totally lost !! sound BIG car SLOW !:biggrin:
and ...
i not agree that the open port air filter not suitable for auto...
HOT BIT had done the lancer GTS with K&N open port air filter...
that having the GOOD RESULT !!the point is ...
how you gonna modify with it....
open port with HEAT SHIELD !!
it will be GREAT!!:biggrin:

hi zthrian,

if u guys have experience with drag racing either 300m or 400m, please share ur knowledge & infos on which header/extractor works best for drag racing especially on NA setup.Thanks

wiramax

Maybe this is a dumb answer, but if look at US drag racing.... they use 4-4, rather than 4-2-1 or 4-1.
And their 4-4 is short, normally from engine block to just outside of the body (short cut :biggrin:)
I'll bet it'll sound freaking loud! :biggrin: