WTA - Any S2000 users????

Oh yes, I might plan a S2K trackday next year if I can get enough numbers from Singapore and Malaysia. Including myself, there are a few s2ks from Singapore that track more often, and I'm also bringing in a few more new s2k faces to the track. Hopefully if there are enough s2k numbers, we could have a S2K trackday next year. If there are enough numbers and a slot is available this year, that could be possible as well. Well one thing for sure is that there aren't enough s2ks on either side, so if we wanted to make a S2K trackday come true, it has to be a combined effort. :driver:

there are a couple SG S2k witht the traction circle club. no bad drivers too.

Hi J-Boy. I'm the owner of the red AP1 u met at SIC. I'm definitely interested to join any of your track days. My no. is 012-3503140. Keep in touch, bro.

---------- Post added at 01:02 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:09 AM ----------

Hi bros. As promised earlier, I'm writing a report on my track experience last Saturday. I also think I had better keep this report private, so all of you who are interested to read it pls PM me with your e-mail. Cheers.

there are a couple SG S2k witht the traction circle club. no bad drivers too.

I track with Traction Circle quite often and know the other S2K owners that usually go up with them. Currently there's 2 of us who did 2:36 at SIC, 1 of them is me and the other 1 is Adam who drove for Team TracySports during MMER2009 and Team N1 Racing last year in MMER2008. There are a couple other SG S2Ks that have done 2:38 and 2:39 as well. 1 of them that some of u might have heard of, is a Porsche Signal GT3RS green AP2, but the owner has sold his car.

Hi J-Boy. I'm the owner of the red AP1 u met at SIC. I'm definitely interested to join any of your track days. My no. is 012-3503140. Keep in touch, bro.

Hi! I'll PM u my number dude and we can keep in touch. Sure I'll let u know the next time I head up to Sepang. Currently the next 2 possible dates are the MPT Timeattack Round 2 on Sept 17 and Traction Circle trackday on Sept 19.

Actually I'm looking for more s2ks to take part in the timeattack as well. With about 6-8cars, I can open up a one-make class. Or even a FR NA class. When we did MPT timeattack Round 1, I ran in class 3, which is "Above 2000cc 2WD unlimited" class, so turbos and NAs were not seperated.

hey J-boy,

i havent met you before but ive met your s2k buddy Daniel (back when it was still white) :)

i've never tracked my s2k but would like too. Just would like some insight on where to begin.

Do you have any tips for us in terms of track preparation etc. My car is pretty much stock and im just looking to have some fun on the track. From your experience what kind of preparations should i be doing prior to going on the track? example ensure brake pads are ok, engine oil levels are at an optimum level etc etc.

Would like to hear some of your experiences in regards to the above, your advise would be very helpful to me and im sure to most of the guys here.

I track with Traction Circle quite often and know the other S2K owners that usually go up with them. Currently there's 2 of us who did 2:36 at SIC, 1 of them is me and the other 1 is Adam who drove for Team TracySports during MMER2009 and Team N1 Racing last year in MMER2008. There are a couple other SG S2Ks that have done 2:38 and 2:39 as well. 1 of them that some of u might have heard of, is a Porsche Signal GT3RS green AP2, but the owner has sold his car.

hah, i only know mo* & eugen* personally, others, only remember one S2k we ehlp to change his slicks at one KL hotel one fateful night (really cool AP2/red interior) forgot their names. I think there were another S2k.

2:36 is hell-lava impressive time. not to far away from the jap drivers :driver:

edwintst, when coming over to KL?

hey J-boy,

i havent met you before but ive met your s2k buddy Daniel (back when it was still white) :)

i've never tracked my s2k but would like too. Just would like some insight on where to begin.

Do you have any tips for us in terms of track preparation etc. My car is pretty much stock and im just looking to have some fun on the track. From your experience what kind of preparations should i be doing prior to going on the track? example ensure brake pads are ok, engine oil levels are at an optimum level etc etc.

Would like to hear some of your experiences in regards to the above, your advise would be very helpful to me and im sure to most of the guys here.

Hiya Tugsta,

Yup Daniel has now changed to a BMW Z4 35i..dunno if he intends to track that car though. :driver:

Track Preparation for the s2k is quite straightforward and similiar to other makes and models, with a couple of items to be more cautious about. I shall just touch on more of the essentials and not so much on performance parts. A stock s2k with basic track prep done can provide a whole lot of fun already~~

Brakes - Make sure u have decent brakepads(many brands and models to consider) that can handle heat up to at least 600degC or higher, change yer brake fluid to something with higher boiling points, such as the Motul RBF600, Wedsport REV, Brembo LCF600, Castrol SRF etc etc. Ensure that the brake system gets bleeded properly and that u dun have a spongy brake feel.
Stainless Teflon brake lines are recommended. Stock calipers and stock rotors are perfectly fine, I'm still on stock brakes myself, with just aftermarket brakepads, teflon brakelines, brake fluid and brake ducting. My front stock rotors lasted me 10 trackdays + a total mileage of around 30000kms. It could have maybe done 1 more trackday but I didn't wanna risk cracking it on SIC since many hairline marks have already appeared and it was down near to minimum thickness, which is 2mm from new, basically 25mm down to 23mm for front, and 12mm down to 10mm for the rear.

Tires - Stock RE050s are perfectly fine to start with, or other tires of personal choice. Question here for most s2k owners, especially for people who buy aftermarket rims, is "Staggered or Non-staggered??" For beginners, it might be better to stick with a staggered configuration first, perhaps move up to 225/45/17 front 255/40/17 rear if possible. Running non-staggered, e.g. 255/40/17 front and rear, theoratically should yield faster laptimes, since the positives of putting more rubber on the road outweigh the negatives. Points to note for going with non-staggered is strong oversteer tendencies, needing more adjustment to dial out the oversteer up to a comfortable level. My advice is choose rim width and offset carefully when purchasing aftermarket rims. Decide wot size tires u want to run and buy the right rim width. Offset is more tricky as it might involve BBK clearance, fender rolling, bumper tab relocation, amount of negative camber etc etc, all depending on how aggresive an offset u choose.

Oils and Fluids - A few choices in the market, engine should preferrably run a 40weight (e.g 5W-40) on track although OEM is 30weight due to heat. More importantly here is the DIFFERENTIAL oil. Try to change the diff oil between every trackday. Our rear diff is known to be a lil weak and there's alot of heat generated there on the track. It's only 1L anyway. Gearbox oil is 2L, and can be used for about 2 trackdays. Viscosity for the gearbox is typically 75W-90, for the rear diff some use 75W-140 and some use 75W-250. Proper maintainence will help prolong diff life. My stock rear diff is still doing fine after >10 trackdays and almost 40000kms. Coolant just ensure that it's not overdue.

Cooling mods - I've been running an oil cooler kit since the beginning and temps have been very healthy on SIC. I dun see anything more than 110degC max for oil. I currently use Roar RS 5W-40 and a Greddy oil cooler kit. U can do without an oil cooler but wun be able to run too many continuous laps, especially on a hot day @ SIC. Radiator is perfectly fine stock, u just need an aftermarket fan switch and thermostat and good coolant. I'm still using the stock radiator, started with a J's Racing thermostat and fanswitch but both of them spoilt in less than a year. Currently the car is on a Mugen fanswitch and a modified thermostat and has been working well for more than 6mths. Coolant I've been using Billion Super Thermo LLC Type PG+ from the start and am happy with the temps. I also have an ARC air pocket removal kit. Water temp is usually around 94degC max @ SIC for my car. Point to note is that the lifespan of Type PG+ is only 1 year, and if mixed with Billion Racing water, drops to 6mths. Brake Ducts are highly recommended for people who intend to do more continuous laps, like more than 6 hot laps up to 10, 15laps without pitting in. My brake duct system was customised at Lye Designs in Singapore.

**Oil Filter Stopper is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you intend to track the s2k. 2 SG S2Ks have blown their engines at SIC and both blew because the oil filter came off and resulted in major loss of engine oil while on track. Excessive vibrations from the F20C/F22C in the S2Ks have resulted in such incidences. Aftermarket alternatives are available from J's Racing or ASM etc. We have also customised our own oil filter stopper and that's available for people who are interested as well. I will post photos below.

IMG_1067.jpg

IMG_1068.jpg

IMG_1069.jpg

If you intend to track more, a baffled oil pan would be good to have. We've been using the Spoon baffled oil pan and no issues with it thus far. Extra checks would be to hoist the car up, ensure all bolts and nuts are tightened properly. Check that all bushings are not worn out and due for replacement. Ensure that your suspension is not leaking or damaged as well.

That's about it I guess for the basics to have a great time out at Sepang! :driver:

---------- Post added at 11:38 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:25 PM ----------

hah, i only know mo* & eugen* personally, others, only remember one S2k we ehlp to change his slicks at one KL hotel one fateful night (really cool AP2/red interior) forgot their names. I think there were another S2k.

2:36 is hell-lava impressive time. not to far away from the jap drivers :driver:

edwintst, when coming over to KL?

Yeah I know mo* and eugen*...eugen* last did 2:38 from the last time I spoke to him. Good driver manz. The S2K which had the puncture sounds like me, lol. In fact I think it's me. Discovered as we walked back to the hotel after dinner, and Mar* patched the semislick on the spot yeah??

Actually I dunno wot kindda timings the japanese-pro drivers would do on semislicks in a S2K, only referrence are the MME timings, but that's on slicks. And not to mention lotsa lightening and chassis rigidity on a whole different level. Thanx dude~~I'm hoping to finish 2009 with a 2:33~2:34 if possible. :driver:

Yeah I know mo* and eugen*...eugen* last did 2:38 from the last time I spoke to him. Good driver manz. The S2K which had the puncture sounds like me, lol. In fact I think it's me. Discovered as we walked back to the hotel after dinner, and Mar* patched the semislick on the spot yeah??

Actually I dunno wot kindda timings the japanese-pro drivers would do on semislicks in a S2K, only referrence are the MME timings, but that's on slicks. And not to mention lotsa lightening and chassis rigidity on a whole different level. Thanx dude~~I'm hoping to finish 2009 with a 2:33~2:34 if possible. :driver:

ya that you then, all i remember was the absolute beautiful interior, (almost betting who gets what if we rip u up in KL (jk))

will then catch up on coming TC track days.

thanks for taking the time to write that up for me, provided a lot of useful information.

Looks like there are quite a few things to consider before heading to a track. i will take note and hopefully one day take my car for a little spin :)

How long you been running around SIC for in your s2k?

what reading would you recommend for those beginners like myself? for example ensuring your using the right racing lines etc or is it better to just head to the track and get a feel. I just want to ensure im mentally ready for when i head out.

ya that you then, all i remember was the absolute beautiful interior, (almost betting who gets what if we rip u up in KL (jk))

will then catch up on coming TC track days.

^^ Catch u up @ TC trackdays....haven't been to a TC trackday fer sometime already....Which car r u driving by the way? I think I remember there was a msian mr-s I think...geez it's quite sometime ago and can't really remember clearly...

thanks for taking the time to write that up for me, provided a lot of useful information.

Looks like there are quite a few things to consider before heading to a track. i will take note and hopefully one day take my car for a little spin :)

How long you been running around SIC for in your s2k?

what reading would you recommend for those beginners like myself? for example ensuring your using the right racing lines etc or is it better to just head to the track and get a feel. I just want to ensure im mentally ready for when i head out.

No worries mate~~The first time I went to and drove on Sepang was in April 2008, so it's been about 1.5years? Before that I was living in Australia for a few years and I actually started tracking there with a circuit-built GTR32 from Japan.

It will be good to have someone roughly show you the lines @ any track during yer first outing there. That will give u a clearer idea. Actually it's better not to stress yerself out too much the first couple of times at any racetrack. Just relax, go out there n drive within yer own limits, explore the car's limits bit by bit, remember the track layout n lines n remember the important points from the safety briefing(such as wot to do during yellow/red flags, wot to do when a faster car is trying to pass u etc etc). Most importantly, have fun! It's a trackday afterall and not a race. :driver:

hi jyoji ,
im william the white colour s2000 tat non stop pesting u bout the itb the other day haha. i overheated my car ,the engine light was on so i just drove b to the workshop n didnt manage to get yr no.anyway its nice to meet u.u n daniel did a very good job ,i read every of yr post in s2ki .At the moment we got 11 s2k members ,for the time being hope we can recruit more members as its really rare here.btw hows the moton suspension?manage to clock a better time?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
guys ,we just got another supercharge's s2k member fr kuantan we should organise another meet up very soon .the next meeting mayb we can meet up at pauls workshop.

Guys, for those track newbies I would recommend the following alignment specs:-
Front:-1 degree camber, O toe
Rear:-2 degrees camber, 3.175mm-6.35mm toe in.
This works well for me on the street & at SIC.

---------- Post added at 11:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:23 AM ----------

J-Boy, how much does the GReddy oil cooler kit cost in Singapore & who's the stockist? Tq.

^^ Catch u up @ TC trackdays....haven't been to a TC trackday fer sometime already....Which car r u driving by the way? I think I remember there was a msian mr-s I think...geez it's quite sometime ago and can't really remember clearly...
likewise, its been transformed now. cant wait to see Jon***** Elise, too.

No worries mate~~The first time I went to and drove on Sepang was in April 2008, so it's been about 1.5years? Before that I was living in Australia for a few years and I actually started tracking there with a circuit-built GTR32 from Japan.

It will be good to have someone roughly show you the lines @ any track during yer first outing there. That will give u a clearer idea. Actually it's better not to stress yerself out too much the first couple of times at any racetrack. Just relax, go out there n drive within yer own limits, explore the car's limits bit by bit, remember the track layout n lines n remember the important points from the safety briefing(such as wot to do during yellow/red flags, wot to do when a faster car is trying to pass u etc etc). Most importantly, have fun! It's a trackday afterall and not a race. :driver:

very true, trackdays are quite nerving for new chaps but once basics are set, its vrrrooom for you guys. track lines, warm up laps,warm down laps, etc are essentials but most of all have clear mind, relax, dont panic & go have fun.

hi jyoji ,
im william the white colour s2000 tat non stop pesting u bout the itb the other day haha. i overheated my car ,the engine light was on so i just drove b to the workshop n didnt manage to get yr no.anyway its nice to meet u.u n daniel did a very good job ,i read every of yr post in s2ki .At the moment we got 11 s2k members ,for the time being hope we can recruit more members as its really rare here.btw hows the moton suspension?manage to clock a better time?
------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
guys ,we just got another supercharge's s2k member fr kuantan we should organise another meet up very soon .the next meeting mayb we can meet up at pauls workshop.

Hi William..Nice to mee ya too~Hey no worries it's always nice to have fellow NA purists who are willing to go down the all-motor route. Coolz there are a fair few s2ks in Singapore, although still a smaller community. Perhaps we could even have annual or bi-annual meets for s2k owners in both countries, that would be rather nice. I organised the first S2K dyno event a few months back with Uber Garage and it was quite successful, with a total of 18cars going onto the dyno, 13 of them being s2ks. Thus we have quite a good database on s2ks as well. The event post and pics are in the SHC links below.

Singapore Honda Club :: View topic - Event: S2000 Vtec Symphony Dyno Day

Singapore Honda Club :: View topic - S2000 Vtec Symphony Dyno Event PHOTOS!!

The Moton testing went alright. Couldn't get a single clear lap as traffic was a lil congested and besides the suspension, there were a couple of other handling parts that were changed. We still need a bit of time n adjustments to be made. We only managed a 2:38 on saturday, so no new PB. We might run the car in the MPT Timeattack Round 2 @ SIC on Sept 17 to get a clear lap test of the Motons.

I will post up pics and a review on the suspension(probably on SHC or s2ki) after I finalise some stuff with Moton. Anyway for s2k owners who might be interested, I'm currently testing a new suspension model from Moton for S2Ks. It will be a more affordable 1-way coilover, compared to the Moton ClubSport, which was the lowest option previously available for the S2K. The Moton ClubSport retails at around SGD 9k, and this new model that will be launched soon will be retailed less than SGD 5k. For those who have never heard of Moton, google it and I'm sure you will be able to find info on it. They have supplied many successful race teams and winners.

[/COLOR]J-Boy, how much does the GReddy oil cooler kit cost in Singapore & who's the stockist? Tq.

Well 1 year+ ago I paid about 1.2k for it installed. I'm using a S2K specific kit with NS core, not universal kit with HG core. Cooling efficiencies between the NS and HG cores are quite significant. Gan Motorsports is the main dealer.

likewise, its been transformed now. cant wait to see Jon***** Elise, too.

Oh yes yes....the elise will be niceee~~~~

great then bro...love to hear the fact that its working fine for daily use...mine haven't got abnormal sound yet so far..hopefully it's maintain that way..hehehe...for the wear n tear..have u found any good bushings for S2K? i've found the superpro..but they didn't cover the whole bushings for S2K..:driver:

Havent found them yet, but I'm looking at the teflon bushing available now in the market, see if its good enough material to replace the standard ones, they claim they machine out to exact whats needed for S2K. Someone also mentioned complete set from Mugen, but its just pricey. Superpro, its kinda hard to my liking. Does anyone know of an alternatives? Worst case scenario, back to standard OEM hehehe....

If you dun want something hard and not too pricey like aftermarket JDM, OEM would be the best. Fuss free, comfortable and they last pretty long.

Hi J-Boy...

Are you the one driving the white S2k with type-s bodykit?

Might have meet you before in TCC or SGT track days... Myself driving FD2R with type-s bodykit.

Hi J-Boy...

Are you the one driving the white S2k with type-s bodykit?

Might have meet you before in TCC or SGT track days... Myself driving FD2R with type-s bodykit.

Hiya, it's white but mine is not a Type S and I dun have a kit as well, just an APR rear gt wing. U rem wot colour wheels that s2k had? Hmmm I remember 1 or 2 FD2Rs that I always see during TCC sessions. Single repeated number?

i had seen one with APR gt wing :)

Color of wheels cant remember le... but i remember one ap1 had some strinking color wheel like green or something..

If i go TCC i normally tag along another fellow FD2R friend. Or another friend that drive a S15.

mine is a triple digit. :)

J Boy,

**Quote**

**Oil Filter Stopper is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED if you intend to track the s2k. 2 SG S2Ks have blown their engines at SIC and both blew because the oil filter came off and resulted in major loss of engine oil while on track. Excessive vibrations from the F20C/F22C in the S2Ks have resulted in such incidences. Aftermarket alternatives are available from J's Racing or ASM etc. We have also customised our own oil filter stopper and that's available for people who are interested as well. I will post photos below.

**Unquote**

I note that you said the excessive vibrations that s2k have is due to a loose oil filter? The vibration you mentioned is it when you re idling or clutching in when slowing down?

hopefully a long way drive won't loosen up the oil filter eh J-boy...
i did ask the soft top from "8 cushion" in singapore..whoa..the soft top is quite somewhere arnd $SG 2050/-
plan to get it end of this month..dunno yet bout the price of courier that thing to here...

---------- Post added at 08:21 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:18 PM ----------

If you dun want something hard and not too pricey like aftermarket JDM, OEM would be the best. Fuss free, comfortable and they last pretty long.

err.. i think it would be a lil bit hard to get the bushings from malaysia..what bout in singapore? do they have a ready stock?

---------- Post added at 08:23 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:21 PM ----------

i mean OEM bushings..