The Star: Brake parts must meet Sirim standard from next July

rickarch

KUALA LUMPUR: All vehicle owners have to replace their brake parts at authorised workshops to meet the MS1164 Sirim standard starting July 1 next year.
Road Safety Department director-general Datuk Suret Singh said this was to ensure all vehicles on the road were fixed with quality brake parts.
“Brake safety is a very important issue to protect people from serious accidents, especially during the rainy season,” he told reporters at a road safety advocating campaign here on Thursday.
“We discovered that there are too many sub-standard and poor quality brake parts and brake oil in the market.
“If consumers are not careful, they will be cheated by some workshops out there,” he alleged.
He urged that car drivers and motocyclists go back to their authorised car dealer’s service centre or workshop to change their brake parts.
Suret said the Government would make the MS1164 Sirim approval a legal standard for brake parts affective July 1.
Suret said that the Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Ministry has agreed to work with the police to conduct raids on shops which sell non-compliant brake parts after that date.
Currently, Suret said parts like the brake pad, brake lining and brake shoe that meet the MS1164 Sirim standard were from appointed manufacturers approved by the Road Transport Department.
“Within three to four years, we also want to the make anti-lock/ anti-skid braking system (ABS) a standard feature and compulsory for all new car models in Malaysia,” Suret said.
He said his department was now talking to car makers about the implementation.

Source from http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/11/5/nation/20091105161211&sec=nation

Is your brake Malaysian made??

JPJ has announced starting from July 1st next year, all cars must be fitted by SIRIM approved brake parts, which means sacrificing my Sumitomo made 4pot caliper with Endless brake pads & steel braided hoses?? take a read in this

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/11/5/nation/20091105161211&sec=nation

SIRIM standard is a joke. proton cars supposed to SIRIM approved, but the parts are far more inferior when compare to international standards.

so guys, throw away your JDM brakes, go to some government linked spare part shops and buy JPJ-approved brakes. cap Ayam, or cap Najib, take your pick according to your car model.

Re: Is your brake Malaysian made??

it's sorry to said that SIRIM standard is ........ for me I still prefer quality product certified under other quality standard such as BS, DOT, EU or what ever la .....

waa...now they talking about ISO ? Standard ? wtf. one after another, all full of craps. G really poket kosong
well, tell me how are they gonna check it, need to remove the tyres & looks for sirim chop ka ? everyone car owners needs to go Puspakom for inspection($$$$$$) ?....hmm...I smell that same smell again...its smell like shits...

JPJ has announced starting from July 1st next year, all cars must be fitted by SIRIM approved brake parts, which means sacrificing my Sumitomo made 4pot caliper with Endless brake pads & steel braided hoses?? take a read in this

http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/11/5/nation/20091105161211&sec=nation

SIRIM standard is a joke. proton cars supposed to SIRIM approved, but the parts are far more inferior when compare to international standards.

so guys, throw away your JDM brakes, go to some government linked spare part shops and buy JPJ-approved brakes. cap Ayam, or cap Najib, take your pick according to your car model.

the article only mention about those shop selling n installing must meet Sirim standard, never mention will conduct check on the brake pad of car user. Btw i don think they will be so hardworking to check each n every car, history shows that they are a bunch of lazy scumbag oni want a cup of kopi o n nothing else up til now still the same.

huh???? so meaning in malaysia, project u or endless is perceived as lower quality than those mother fxxking cheap inferior sirim local cap ayam pads ar??? stupid government... sirim can be bought easily lah....

additional information to you all, sirim is a measurement for workability of the project as stated, not a measurement for quality or performance... anyone can get a sirim cert, provided the sample submitted for the test will perform as they claim..

welcum bro. jz wanna highlight to fellow car enthusiasts another 'smart' policy introduced by the authorities... :stupid:

a very legal and subtle way for the G man to extort the people...using sirim and puspakom as a cover...those f**ckers should look at bigger issues rather than to poke and mess around with the people rides...

dunno endless or project mwu will passed sirim test or not ler/?,,, hahahahah

Smell like another "tak boleh jadi" project from gov.

sirim standard = petaling street standard.....

sometimes petaling even better

next time road block hv to open tyre and check brake pad got sirim ornot.... then hv to stick a sirim sticker tht said installed by SIRIM approved mechanic? :rofl: faint.....

SIRIM approved? Ivan approve ada lah....

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/attachments/toyota/193868d1235228056-brake-upgrade-completed-thanks-ivan-tayar-008.jpg

Road Safety Department director-general Datuk Suret Singh - earlier there was another fuker! Now bring up another clowns name...

“We discovered that there are too many sub-standard and poor quality brake parts and brake oil in the market. - What BRAKE oilSS?? u sohai or whut!!! DOT 3 or DOT 4 only ma.. OR go DOT yourself la... BRAKE OIL got what so special la? Steel Braided HOSE i know la... sei sohai!~ quality brake pad? rm30 one pair r..

“Brake safety is a very important issue to protect people from serious accidents, especially during the rainy season,” he told reporters at a road safety advocating campaign here on Thursday. - Sck MY COCK LA!!! brake makan or not makan on raining time is YOUR TYRE!!! soham!!! Go home and ride your bicycle la!!!

“If consumers are not careful, they will be cheated by some workshops out there,” he alleged. - You is the one who is cheating here lor... *uUndek!~

Suret said the Government would make the MS1164 Sirim approval a legal standard for brake parts affective July 1. - I am thinking of storing a bottle of DOT 4 used brake oil and bath on his car..

"Within three to four years, we also want to the make anti-lock/ anti-skid braking system (ABS) a standard feature and compulsory for all new car models in Malaysia,” Suret said. - Yah!~~ that time all FERARRI also using ur sucking brakes with their ori 6-4pots... and melting like jelly just like those fakes sohai BREMBO cover....

He said his department was now talking to car makers about the implementation. - SHOW US PROOF LA!!! U tok tok only, I Lciao can see r... Use YOUTUBE LA!~~

Fking bengang with these monkeys already!~~

.pdf document from Sirim on standard MS 1164. refer page 5
http://www.sirim.my/iscl/iscl05-pr.pdf

Department of Standards Malaysia (STANDARDS MALAYSIA) [agency under the ambit of Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation (MOSTI)] .pdf document, refer page 10
http://www.standardsmalaysia.gov.my/6-Road%20Vehicles%20Engineering.pdf

HAMKACHAN!!!! If my Myvi brake is DAMN GOOD LA!!!!!!!!!!!! If my Myvi brake not VIBRATE like COCK la!!!!!!!!!

Damn panlai go wasted all da $$ at F1 but dun 1 put $$ on ownself national car 2 build more better quality car.. Dun 1 spend some $$ 2 build better Myvi disc brake n now askin ppl 2 own good quality brake?

---------- Post added at 11:26 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:06 AM ----------

DIU NIA SENG!! Wat wana prov at F1? ur national car damn nice meh!! Better use da $$ 2 build more track.. let ppl improv skill or may lower down accident like the nice supra wont simply bang wall.. Or put in drift as our m'sian a lot good driver...