National Automotive Policy 2009 Review Results

well it is fortunate that we have so many well educated and well informed members sharing the info. the G really thinks were so stupid.

each time i read statement from the G i feel like someone is telling a really bad lie or making a ridiculous excuse like 'my dog ate my homework'. for fuck sake, G, hire better PR person to prepare your statements. the whole world laughs every time they read the news statement from our G.

i wish we can post all these facts up to the newspaper and have the G answer this.

our rising imbalance standard of living costs, car prices, housing costs, education costs, health care (is there any at all apart from individual bought) ?? all these things has been around for sometime, we have been enduring not only day in n day out, by generation upon generation, however has there been any CHANGE for the better ? oil producing country but petrol price is no joke for a normal joe on the street; last time own some normal rides to save cost, but now no more with the looming 2011 parts banning regulation; come on, wat else do u wan from us ? do u seroiusly think how long more can we keep quiet and refrain from going onto the streets to protest ? we are peace loving bunch of ppl, but come on, dun push us to dat brink man, the country is deteriorating !! anarchy will come :( sigh

We need just to look back at the US automotive industry during the fall out in 2008.Their auto giants impose a 'just in time' practice on their suppliers.And when they(auto giants) were in trouble,part of the aid package went to paying off debts to the parts suppliers.Other auto-makers(Japs operating in US) were also concerned that the parts suppliers would go under as this would impact on their own cost and supplies.

'Just-in-time' production schedules is more of a Japanese practice than American. If you order new parts direct from Japan, you can sometimes see the effects of this in operation, meaning there is a longer wait-time before you get your stuff. They keep minimum ready stock and if they don't have enough, they will put your requisiton into the production manifest and produced the item for you. Part of the reason for this is cost efficiency...you reduce accumulated and idle stock and therefore you reduce holding cost and turnaround time for sales. Americans, by comparison, tend towards a less efficient and more excessive culture of going about things.

There is no economies of scale;there is not the demand to warrant such.In short the local auto-parts industry depends on Proton to do well both locally as well as overseas.Since the export part(for proton parts) is not there and the local demand is so so only;how are these suppliers gonna scale up without any help from Proton
or the G.Again should we the taxpayers be made to artificially support an industry that is not doing well.Look at the UK-Leyland,Rover,Jaguar etc.

This is a good point because the viability of Proton and other local makes is still very much dependent on domestic consumption which as you suggested has reached a plateau. In the case of Proton, they have lost quite a bit of local market-share since Perodua came on the scene, hence the pie is smaller than it was before. Any further sustainability have to come from ramping up exports or with new models that are desirable to the public....both of which have not really been particularly encouraging. As it is, the NAP looks to have more of an forcible effect on domestic consumption rather than having any real impact on elevating export performance of local brands in foreign markets. In short, the G is squeezing the Malaysian public again.

Now after 15 years they start to dust the dust of Lotus.They even considered renaming it sometime back?Whether how much of the goodwill or technical expertise is left?The G should have built on Lotus technology and brand 15 BLOODY YEARS AGO

Lotus is a famous marque but it was never a large-scale road car producer. It has a different lineage and business philosophy than, say, Toyota or Honda. It's roots from the days of Colin Chapman was that of a supplier of race cars and it has not strayed far from its roots. It is still more or less a cottage-industry scale manufacturer geared towards the production of a small batch of cars each year that specifically cater for a very narrow consumer niche. There are no family saloons, sedans, etc in the Lotus line. You notice most of their cars in their product line are not wholly pragmatic for family use, being mainly lightweight sportscars of minimalist amenities which emphasize performance rather than comfort. The company for most of its history was a small scale operation run on a seesaw budget, with a production facilility and production methods of relatively slow rate of production...because they are not a mass market supplier.

The following 2.5 hour documentary gives a very good idea of what Lotus is about :-

http://video.google.co.uk/videoplay?docid=-7072924456318931568#

No doubt there is good technology there but also issues how easily incorporated into mass market cars, how relevant and how pragmatic and whether it lends itself easily to mass production. Looking at it all, it gives some perspective that Lotus may not be the ideal role-model for an aspiring mass producer of road cars....because that's not what Lotus is about.

In any case, it will be difficult for Proton to offer a high-quality (Lotus quality) car to the Malaysian public without a corresponding exorbitant premium price tag, because they have put themselves into the awkward position of pricing much lower quality cars beyond what they are really worth.

some funny yet thought-provoking read by http://art-harun.blogspot.com/search/label/Proton. it really 'opens' your eyes when he did a crude calculation of why Proton posted a loss even for 2008/2009 even when they sold more cars compared to 2007/2008 in his Proton Saga (Part 2) blog entry.

although i hadn't visited Proton before but i had the chance of talking to some vendors who have sold IT systems, engineering software and tools to Proton. fact is, Proton probably has the best in tools available today yet, why are they performing so badly? the answer lies in the stewardship of the company. how else can we explain such poor performance and the lack of direction it has?

as mentioned by FVel, Lotus is considered a player in the niche market and it is not practical to acquire a company just new technology transfer and mate it to a 10-15 year old technology. after spending billions, Proton could only offer the Satria GTi (a mirage platform) with 'Lotus tuned handling'? what kind of RoI is that?

if a mass producer cannot even compete in its home ground when the competitors already have a handicap, how does spending more money to buy a foreign company that totally targets a different market help a mass producer? even if it was a diversification exercise, what makes the senior management think that proton is ready to diversify when they are still competing with a very strong handicap?

to me, those guys sitting in the BOD of proton are just puppets dancing to the tune of whoever is controlling them. it is sad that a company cannot realize its full potential and the customers cannot enjoy better products the market has to offer because a select few is only interested in protecting their pocket money at all costs.

Found this is todays star paper....... im like wtf?

Wednesday November 25, 2009
Most cars can use RON95, says Ministry

THERE is no truth to the claim that RON95 petrol can damage a car’s engine, according to the Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumerism Ministry. Deputy Minister Datuk Tan Lian Hoe said the ministry was unaware of notices displayed at some petrol stations telling the public that RON95 fuel could damage some types of car models. “We will send our enforcement officers to conduct checks on these petrol stations,” she said to a supplementary question by Datuk Johari Abdul (PKR — Sg Petani). Johari had said the notices, shown at some petrol stations, but not Petronas, listed the type of cars that cannot use RON95. “These cars are also used by MPs, like vehicles with 1.6-litre capacity and above. “This can mean there is sabotage against RON95. Maybe the notices are suggesting that RON95 users are buying lower quality petrol,” he added. Earlier, Tan said most cars in the country can use RON95 petrol. She added that consumers in major car manufacturing countries in Japan, Europe and the United States also used RON 95. Tan told Hamim Samuri (BN — Ledang) that the Government allowed the sale of RON97 and RON95 petrol to give consumers a choice. “Good quality petrol is not necessarily one with a higher RON or Research Octane Number value, but one which suits the engine,” she said.

[H] [K] [S];4011429 said:
Found this is todays star paper....... im like wtf?

Wednesday November 25, 2009
Most cars can use RON95, says Ministry

THERE is no truth to the claim that RON95 petrol can damage a car’s engine, according to the Domestic Trade, Cooperative and Consumerism Ministry. Deputy Minister Datuk Tan Lian Hoe said the ministry was unaware of notices displayed at some petrol stations telling the public that RON95 fuel could damage some types of car models. “We will send our enforcement officers to conduct checks on these petrol stations,” she said to a supplementary question by Datuk Johari Abdul (PKR — Sg Petani). Johari had said the notices, shown at some petrol stations, but not Petronas, listed the type of cars that cannot use RON95. “These cars are also used by MPs, like vehicles with 1.6-litre capacity and above. “This can mean there is sabotage against RON95. Maybe the notices are suggesting that RON95 users are buying lower quality petrol,” he added. Earlier, Tan said most cars in the country can use RON95 petrol. She added that consumers in major car manufacturing countries in Japan, Europe and the United States also used RON 95. Tan told Hamim Samuri (BN — Ledang) that the Government allowed the sale of RON97 and RON95 petrol to give consumers a choice. “Good quality petrol is not necessarily one with a higher RON or Research Octane Number value, but one which suits the engine,” she said.

whats their freaking problem?? crazy :stupid::stupid::stupid::stupid::stupid:

they are just informing what....SOME CARS are NOT suppose to use..why the G back side so itchy !?!?!?!?

so if i pump 95 into my 4G63T and my engine gets farked up, will the govt buy me a new engine? petrol station owners are being ethical and informing the customers. wtf is wrong with that? sometimes can't really differentiate if idiots are talking or farting through their mouth. :stupid:

thts y they r smart... say turbo cars not suitable...:smokin:

feel lack of power when using RON95 in kelisa.

I think what G mean is RON95 is suit for most of the cars as can start the engine and drive.
However, performance wise, belakang kira.

i guess they are juz born deaf blind & stupid. petrol station staffs are advising us consumers whilst the G's assuming a boycott is on goin... wtf? dont they read their car manual? if they dont know anythin bout chemistry, juz stfu! god damitt!

[H] [K] [S];4012736 said:
i guess they are juz born deaf blind & stupid. petrol station staffs are advising us consumers whilst the G's assuming a boycott is on goin... wtf? dont they read their car manual? if they dont know anythin bout chemistry, juz stfu! god damitt!

well we're the one's that vote them in, perhaps next round could just give them a taste of being the opposition..... what say you guys:listen:

Dont say car use effected .. even my Suzuki Scooter feel the Different .
LAck Power + Engine Noisy + Vibrate Engine .. = Fuel Burning Not so Effective
Now my Scooter Use back Ron97 to Prevent Engine Damage ..
Ron 95 = Save Money Pay More for Engine Damage Repair

i used ron95 for 2 months but results were horrible...lack of power and the horrible pinging sound. even 2 of my colleagues car(wira 1.5 and saga 1.3) had this horrible pinging sound continously throughout the drive. i switched back to 97 and had to drive for 20 minutes everytime to get to a pump that sold 97...

now...from what i understand, the pinging sound is the sound of pre-mature ignition of the fuel/air mix which is caused by the ron95 fuel type's lower resistance to ignite when compressed. pre-mature ignition will in the long run cause damage to the valve(both intake/outlet) as the valves may not be fully closed when ignition occurs. from my understanding, RON95 WILL damage your car if you hear pinging sounds. not all cars can accept RON95. the petrol stations are just doing their civic duties by informing the public that some cars are not suited to use the RON95 fuel and it will cause engine damage in the long run....

THIS IS WAT THE G WANT TO SPEAK, ONLY USE PROTON AND PERODUA, BUT NOT A IMPORTED OR 15++ OLD CAR, :thefinger::thefinger::thefinger: