How to improve my car...B20b vtec.

hornydrifter

Hi there,

To all the B series sifu's out there...Please help me out...first let u guys know's my car spec.

Honda ef9.

B20b 86mm X 89mm (DC5 pistons)
Custom sleeves with supertech block guard.
carrilo conrod.
Full balance on all rotating anchileries.
Skunk 2 intake with super90 70mm.
Cometic gasket 0.6mm
H22a injectors.
VAFC tune onli (money finishing).
NGK cables and plugs.

MY HEAD spec..
ALL STENDED..SMALL V head. with skunk 2 tuner cam pulleys.
Clutch ACT.

Now my car dynoe'd at 202hp@7600rpm sumthing2 and torque at 22kg/cm.ALL at the wheels hp. (Dynoed at jacky's)

My aim..gaining [email protected] playing cams..
Im trying to playing "efficiency", rather than whack sum cams and see BIG HP"s...Im no that person.

MY questions are..do ignition play a big part on this?
2nd...
Regarding the HYTECH headers and shit. heard the tuned runners are mathameticlly calculated to get the best hp and torque..Or there's any better out there? My fren using on his b18c stock... 177hp using this get 189.22hp...Huge gains...But the cost of lotsa $$..(i'm using tonnka type 4-1)

To all sifu's are the any point of changes to mke more power rather than cams?
Such as decreasing the frictions and stuff..

Any pointers will be greatly appreciated.:driver:

dun mind me asking,who built ur engine?w 86mm DC5 pistons(hi comp oredy!) ur only getting 202whp n 22kg/m torque?w all d goodies in ur engine,u SHUD b pumping 230whp @ least!
but thn again,u mentioned everythg else is stock standard,so i assume no head job was done n ur running stock B16A cams.well,wat do u expect?w d stock cams,der's only so much air dat's being drawn into d combustion chamber......
it'll b tough if u dun plan 2 chg 2 high cams....head job might net u ard 3-5whp...dat's all it'll go....n yes,d Hytech header WORKS..even d replicas....haf a few frens using 'em pumping in excess of 240whp(84mm n 85mm pistons).......

do the head job... pnp, valve angle job etc.. it will produce better hp...
nothing much ignition can do to gain more hp...
but to make it 220atw, high cam is compulsary...

and one more thing, get standby with oem head gasket n bore it to 86mm... it last longer than cometic... :)

dun mind me asking,who built ur engine?w 86mm DC5 pistons(hi comp oredy!) ur only getting 202whp n 22kg/m torque?w all d goodies in ur engine,u SHUD b pumping 230whp @ least!
but thn again,u mentioned everythg else is stock standard,so i assume no head job was done n ur running stock B16A cams.well,wat do u expect?w d stock cams,der's only so much air dat's being drawn into d combustion chamber......
it'll b tough if u dun plan 2 chg 2 high cams....head job might net u ard 3-5whp...dat's all it'll go....n yes,d Hytech header WORKS..even d replicas....haf a few frens using 'em pumping in excess of 240whp(84mm n 85mm pistons).......

Only the blocks are fully loaded...the rest pretty much stock~ includes the head work. Nasty's head job...let say..if a really good one...flowing 240cc air flow per port will it give good power?

How much is the hytech...heard it its around 1700 siap pasang..AND that's only the replica's~

---------- Post added at 12:05 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:03 PM ----------

do the head job... pnp, valve angle job etc.. it will produce better hp...
nothing much ignition can do to gain more hp...
but to make it 220atw, high cam is compulsary...

and one more thing, get standby with oem head gasket n bore it to 86mm... it last longer than cometic... :)

HAAAH? Y is it will last longet than comatic??? dun make me scared la bro..driving around with 86mm daily already like driving on time bomb~ (like jacky's said)...hahahaha!

ANY MORE POINTERS OUT THERE?

hornydrifter,
owh..4got 2 mention..all my peeps r using d Hytech REPLICAS..not d original item.....n yes,they r still pumping in excess of 240whp....even a fella w basic 84mm B20 set up netted 215whp....

hattech-v,
dun mind me asking....r d cometics reallt dat lousy or only recently?coz i heard d market is now flooded w fake cometic headgaskets too....

Aiyo....comatic also got fake....1st the skunk intake, then this...after this wat? fake race fuel?

BTW....the b20 84 mm netted 215hp??? wow..thats high~ stock arr bro akuma? or got sumkind of 'hantu" innnit?

hornydrifter,
eh,sorry....it's a 85mm Wiseco.....stock bottom....high cam n "massaged" head....it's d other 84mm CF4 pistons equipped B20 dat's pumping in excess of 240whp...hehehhee.....so,r u gona go high cams now?

r u running on cable type V-Tec? since u mention bout small V... suppose to be on EF9/EF8 Models

change to b16b cams...still OEM :biggrin: can get bout 7-8HP
hondata maybe? another 7-8HP

already 220HP :biggrin:

Swap the header for hytech, toda or SMP (spelling?). Check out honda-tech.com. Most of those fellas there swear by the new long primary design 4-2-1 headers. But be advised, it is freaking expensive.

Sorry i meant SMSP header. It's about the same as the hytech ones i think. Search google images.

look awfully similiar 2 Hytech's unit.who copied who?ahahhahahaa...........
anyway,searched ard n found d header test done by d hondatech guy...
m surprised Hytech actually netted lower torque compared w d OEM header?

TEST ENGINE:
JDM B18C Integra Type-R STOCK

PLACING:
1st RMF NARROW 4-1 185.61whp/128.49TQ
2nd SMSP Prototype 4-1 184.70whp/128.98TQ
3rd SMSP 4-2-1 182.38whp/123.82TQ
4th ANR w/Merge 181.05whp/125.79TQ
5th DTR B-Unit 180.82whp/125.46TQ
6th Hytech Production 180.63whp/124.19TQ
7th DC JDM 4-1 174.24whp/124.04TQ

or they only work best w modded engines perhaps?

brother horny,

nice build you got there...

Why not go for b16b cams? at least something also right? +with PNP + with hondata like bro camshaft mentioned .... if you + with tat header i think its safe to say your are hitting your target figure.

Good luck bro.

SHIT!haf been reading up on dat RMF Narrow(replica) header...looks like it's kicking ass everywhr!any1 know whr 2 get them in M'sia?heard a few drag Hondas attended d recent MUSC drag event w dis headers........

n speaking abt cams,specificaly TODA..is it true dat Toda B is d BEST?coz der is Toda A2 n C2,but not a B2.....sum say dis is coz d B is flawless while d A & B needed improvement,while another party sez der's A2 & C2 coz der is room 4 improvement while d B is hopeless,hahahha..whc is whc?

If you are going for all out performance Jun Type 4 or Toda C cams.

Cams for street are like Toda A or B cams, Jun Type 1 or 2. And if you are wondering about which is better, you should consult the cam chart

http://hondaswap.com/reference-materials/b-series-cam-guide-12660/

Honestly it comes down to how well the cams are tuned. Some have higher lift than others blah, blah, blah, takes a lot of know how.

Definitely if you have an aggressively ported head and kick butt headers you may need the cams to keep up with the extra breathing space. Otherwise a mild port job and the right header should do the trick i figure. But as far as netting another 18hp... maybe not.

r u running on cable type V-Tec? since u mention bout small V... suppose to be on EF9/EF8 Models

Head small v..GBox also ef9 cable spec loor...

---------- Post added at 10:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:37 PM ----------

brother horny,

nice build you got there...

Why not go for b16b cams? at least something also right? +with PNP + with hondata like bro camshaft mentioned .... if you + with tat header i think its safe to say your are hitting your target figure.

Good luck bro.[/QUOTE

Hmmm..still oem cams rite? will think bout it~

How bout this spec...full b16b valvetrain and cams....and better management?..hondata..err....no money edy loo...+ this afternoon some mat rempit hit my side miror..patah edy...fuck him....need to replace that...that parts i mentions for 1.3~5k..ok arr? if anyone got..pls pm me...nanti my money finish on my gf....DAMN..its not worth it~

---------- Post added at 10:50 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:42 PM ----------

You guys / SIFU's havent answered my other questions...yes...seems that header can net around 10++hp...how bout ignition/ fire power...I mean..MSD shit and etc2..will it help in that "getting power division"?..

Sory for the hardship to you guys/ sifu's helping me on this..is not im short on money to buy cams or wat..but..to me....the harder to find that hp..the better~ u can enjoy urself in doing so~ cams and stuff..NO OFFENCE...for those got $$...efficiency is the way for me..

Err..and that header..where to buy? im going this weekend to get that hytech (good) shit~

I'm not sure whether spark efficiency will help improve horsepower. Definitely going with an external coil will help increase reliability as regular B series distributors aren't so great. Perhaps it comes down to tuning. But largely i feel that producing more efficient spark may only salvage some lost horsepower, maybe one or two at best.

Anyone else with a view?

AFAIK,a fren is running sum sort of digital ignition on his monstrous B18C n i heard he gained like 3-4whp ONLY.......but i haven't got a feedback frm d owner wether d car feels/behave differently or not after instally d ignition system.....