Hydraulic Lifters for 4G93T

2 std washers? so, is shudve just shoved in a 3mm washer ler ni? lol

its getting better by the day, but i think i can accelerate the process by introducing sum good fresh oil into it. gonna try dat soon before i dismantle the lifters.

2 std washers? so, is shudve just shoved in a 3mm washer ler ni? lol

its getting better by the day, but i think i can accelerate the process by introducing sum good fresh oil into it. gonna try dat soon before i dismantle the lifters.

bro....any update from ur end???? howz the lifters now???

share share abit

iam lucky u updated dis thread tony, thank you.. err, ive forgotten about it, keja banyak sangat sekarang, audit is killing me!!!!

so, about the 4g91, good news!!! the noise went away, so morning start isnt so noisy anymore. shims+serviced lifters+good oil eliminated the dreaded sound, yay!!! i did for a fren's car pun, same jer.. his 4g93T is quiet jer now

i've installed the washer to stiffen up the spring. but the foreman tells me to be careful and keep alert to any oil leaks around the gaskets and maybe oil filter would 'blow' due to higher pressure.. i wonder...:hmmmm:

thank you for the heads-up wailup, we havent face dat problem so far, hopefully never ler..

i've installed the washer to stiffen up the spring. but the foreman tells me to be careful and keep alert to any oil leaks around the gaskets and maybe oil filter would 'blow' due to higher pressure.. i wonder...:hmmmm:

no lar... Won't blow the oil filter la... It won't be up to that extend. By the time the oil reaches the filter, the pressure already drop dramatically.

thank you for the heads-up wailup, we havent face dat problem so far, hopefully never ler..

aproximately what's the shims' thickness have u added onto the spring?

I have a situation now. One of the water hose to TB came off last week on highway. Engine stalled before I realized. Then waited for ard 15min, I filled in the water n the engine started again. The tappet sound came back. I wonder if it's the heat causes the oil in the tappet to drain due to reduction in viscousity. Or there might be worse possibility. But so Far after driving for a week... No indication of temperature rise n no white smoke. But coil burnt the other day... Coincidence maybe...

i added around 2mm kot.. maybe a tad thicker, cant remember.. iam bad at documenting things, dats what my lil brother is for, hehe..

Lolz... Tqtq... Size is like 10mm rite???

Hopefully I don't need to spend on the aussie's tappet n spend it on my other project. Lolz...

yah.. berterima kasih sama dia.. im already getting improvement. now it's more quiet liao.

Finally... I had my oil sump removed minutes ago and got the 22mm nut open. 1 spring n 2 spring washer droped from the hole. Is the spring supposed to be there??? Or some has already added the shims before me???

Anyone???

yes, its supposed to be there.. put the shim in already, change new oil sump gasket and u'll be set : )

wait, 2 spring washers? err.. i dont remember those from my engine, iam using 4g91 fyi.

yes, its supposed to be there.. put the shim in already, change new oil sump gasket and u'll be set : )

wait, 2 spring washers? err.. i dont remember those from my engine, iam using 4g91 fyi.

ya.... Those spring washer normally used betweel plain washer n bolt head to prevent bolt turning n keep the bolt in tension.

So, I guess it's pre installed by the Japanese... And proBlem still exist.

i see, if they were pre-installed then, i dont see y adding a tad more is a problem..

by "problem still exist", u mean the ticking noise?

before i did the shim mod, i used lubricants dat is known to have high moly in it, maybe u shud try dat first? idemitsu is one of the oil dat contains high level of moly, millennium supplies dis brand for a good price tag per bottle

Yeah... Maybe need to service the tappets.

bro, i thought u said that ur engine doesn't have any lifter noise on the mivec engine??? if so, why u need to remove the relief spring valve?

best to check ur engine blueprint if those washers u found are OEM or not to confirm.

IMHO, if after installing washers into the relief valve spring doesn't solve the lifter noise, then there could only be 2 reasons:

1. lifter internal spring has broken
(which i doubt very much due to reasons explained previously)

2. relief valve spring in oil pump has gotten way out of OEM spec, despite installing washers

therefore, as 1st stop guide to solving the problem, suggest to replace entire oil pump to brand new, or find a second-hand oil pump and replace relief valve spring. this option should be cheaper than replacing all lifters. after experimenting myself on this issue, i WILL NOT suggest a lifter change becoz:

i. that's not the problem (unless its broken...which is highly unlikely)
ii. its very expensive to change lifters (ridiculous price to pay to upkeep old cars)
iii. have to go to the root of the problem, which i have found out is the relief valve spring located in the oil pump

CAUTION: DO NOT over-add washers into the relief valve spring assembly as it MAY lead to excessive high pressure in top engine head. For my engine (Mazda B8 - 180), i added 2 standard type washers. This was about 2 years ago, and has totally solved my hydraulic lash adjuster ticking noise :)

good luck to you bro

---------- Post added at 11:25 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:12 AM ----------

no lar... Won't blow the oil filter la... It won't be up to that extend. By the time the oil reaches the filter, the pressure already drop dramatically.

aproximately what's the shims' thickness have u added onto the spring?

I have a situation now. One of the water hose to TB came off last week on highway. Engine stalled before I realized. Then waited for ard 15min, I filled in the water n the engine started again. The tappet sound came back. I wonder if it's the heat causes the oil in the tappet to drain due to reduction in viscousity. Or there might be worse possibility. But so Far after driving for a week... No indication of temperature rise n no white smoke. But coil burnt the other day... Coincidence maybe...

oh bro...so sorry i din read this post.....

ic ic ic, i fear you may have a serious problem now :bawling:. do you mean water was mixed with engine oil in engine block?????????? if that's the case........then my gosh :banghead: ...... happened to me before and my engine head was burnt !!!!! sumore you said ur engine stalled ka???? i had to replace my engine head then bro..... ur case sounds very much unfortunately like a case of f**ked lifters dy....

best you immediately change engine oil and re-change every 1000km for a couple of times to thoroughly clean up the engine block.....

i assume u've let ur mechanic check, everything ok with the head????