Balik Kampung in Fear

PocketRocket

'(00) Mod'er
Just came out on TheStar....
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2010/8/9/nation/6823215&sec=nation

IT is going to be a “scary” ride home for motorists during the ba lik kampung rush this coming Hari Raya. Unlike previous years, there will be no goodie bags or piping cuppas.

Instead, what will be “served” at rest areas and selected stretches will be pictures of gory accidents and gruesome injuries — to shock everyone into driving safely.

This is the scare tactic the Road Transport Department will em ploy to stem the rising accident rate during festive periods.

During the Raya balik kampung rush last year, 261 road fatalities were recorded, compared to 208 in 2008 and 225 in 2007.

This year, it won’t be Selamat Hari Raya. It will be Selamat Guna kan Jalan Raya."

Lucky my kampung not so far...they will show you what you don't wanna see

Be careful when drive balik kampung when raya, plan they journey, get enough rest, take as along the time you may take, the point is reach safely to the destination and can celebrate Hari Raya with family and friends together!

lucky im not gonna balik kpg this year.....if not another 13hrs on the road....kelantan ma...:)

ur kampung also in kelantan ke danz? we usually do 7 hours in the toyota unser and i usually do 4hours driving my charade-bengong, what are u doing getting there in 13hours? dont tell me a lot of quickies ler.. ke? ke? hehe

yeah i remember a few years back balik raya time for kelantaneese was more than 12hours due to landslide rite???/

no no, cos i travel wid my in laws, got bout 4-5 cars alltogether...everytime raya aidilfitri or raya haji sure takes 12-13 hrs, minus the stops bout 2 hrs...bout 11 hrs on the road....cos of the traffic jam bro...

2 yrs ago we left kl to join karak bout 2am, we tot no jam la....after the toll gombak, the jam starts....until the exit (forgot wat exit edi).....that time using full bucket seat, imagine the back ache hehe......

pomen GTR, during that landslide that year my fren also told me he took bout 12-13 hrs...but i wasnt at kelantan that time......

xtremeleo,
yup, my kpg is in kota bharu, my wife is in pasir tumboh...so dekat la....
1-2 nites before raya sure got race wan.....but sure got ppl accident & die....every year without fail....

11 hours on the road...thats really long. 3 hours in the car aredy feels like legs no blood...taking extra leave just for travelling time is the only thing can do to avoid these jams....every year oso same thing n now there r more n more ppl buying cars...it'll only get worse n worse.

i usually balik 2 to 3 days in advance danz, avoiding unnecessary traffic jams. i hate jams, kalau jem takpe ler jugek.. correction on the timing, 4.5hours wit the charade, alone of course.. iam not as crazy as every tot i am, at least i like to think so, lol

jam if still got move still ok...dont la jam until stuck in same spot for hours...can die wooor...kena once. jam on nse for 1 n half hour...at same spot at nite...open window can hear the crickets singing...wanna go toilet oso kenot.

xtremeleo,
yeah i also balik 2-3 days before raya...jam jugak....the jam its not at a standstill, but moving slowly, bumper to bumper....can c some ppl stop at roadside to sleep, some overheat, kesian u see them, because of overheat, might not be able to balik in time for raya.....

my record from JB to KL was 1hr 45 mins, my dad broke my record by 1 hr 30mins...

naik rocket ar?

kl - jb about 300+ km..if less than 2 hours means about 160kmh avg? 1 1/2 hours means at least 160kmh avg...

YUP..
other sgporeans are even faster than me.....

---------- Post added at 03:18 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:17 PM ----------

Where to see those pictures ?

wat pics bro?

u can see it here first...and later then at RNR along the highways maybe??? >> http://ondscene.blogspot.com/

singaporeans no need say 1...biasa kena flash n tiong by them already. all oso big big cars mah.

really ar????because most of the time i only saw them only dare to tekan around 140km/h :hmmmm: even when driving a Twin-T Legacy.....only after that speed they willing to go into middle lane...

(*only some of them dare to tekan habis) fast car were cheap there easy lerrr...here vios 1.5 oso ppl squeeze to the every ounce of power available left.......:biggrin:

Wah, what a scare tactic. First time driving to kampung this year, Scary picture not really Confidence boost. lol

Distribute photos like this is better la...at least our heart feels better and put a smile on our face, at least can avoid accident by cruising slowly later...cuz heart is already in peace after receiving a nice poster :rofl:

http://lsfqog.bay.livefilestore.com/y1p9DAeto7sCoh060d0h0yQIoaIDpprumXWfyJdr6bTfXirHO2ZwvPMTo8DG0m9nU62C-dW1LzPWT0x1EjHTyLRK9N7kQNDj3qU/violet3.jpg?psid=1

maybe cos my car dun look fast thats y they bully me...i normally if go back mlk will run about 120-150kmh...but however fast oso sure kena flash n cucuk. wierd thing is the BMW n Merc will follow behind politely at a distance till i overtake lorry or anything n when i go in slow lane baru they open throttle..n u can see how fast they pickup at speeds...then those who normally flash flash n cucuk are those in lancer MR, Fit, Wish, Camry...cars u dun normally think as fast cars...

SF..how to concentrate la with pic like that...

Distribute photos like this is better la...at least our heart feels better and put a smile on our face, at least can avoid accident by cruising slowly later...cuz heart is already in peace after receiving a nice poster :rofl:

http://lsfqog.bay.livefilestore.com/y1p9DAeto7sCoh060d0h0yQIoaIDpprumXWfyJdr6bTfXirHO2ZwvPMTo8DG0m9nU62C-dW1LzPWT0x1EjHTyLRK9N7kQNDj3qU/violet3.jpg?psid=1

LOL, Then if travel with wife? Terus kena scold, then stress. hahah!