move baby, MOVE!!! Honda S600

thangoh

Hey guys, I got the Honda S600 off mudah.my
http://www.mudah.my/Honda+S600+1966-6103132.htm
The original S600 is crazy. Red lines at 9500 rpm!

The car was purchased new by the seller's uncle and was transferred to uncle's wife after he passed on.
Seller told me that the hood ornaments have been there for as long as he could remember (uncle used to drive him and bros around).

The shell and interior are still in quite a good condition, unfortunately, the engine and lights are no longer original. The current engine is a 31hp :slug: 659cc kancil engine with a faulty 4 speed gearbox (third gear dead). Anybody know where I can get an S600 engine? The seller was kind enough to give me the original gearbox.

The first thing to do now is to move the car over from Ipoh to KL. I don't think the car will be able to make it with its current engine and gearbox though. I can imagine driving it at 40km/h down the North South highway only to have it break down 1/4 of the way through :(

So, I have 3 options:
a) pay RM500 to tow to KL
b) replace the faulty gearbox/ engine with a cheap ass gearbox/engine
c) replace the engine with a 600cc motorcycle engine and use the original gearbox (anybody know of any workshop in Ipoh that can do this? cost?)

I am leaning more towards option b) currently as I am thinking of driving it while restoring the car bit by bit, scavenging parts and searching for a proper engine.

Any Ideas/ advice would be most appreciated. Thanks

Jonathan

P.S. I have read Kev84's thread http://www.zerotohundred.com/newfor...s-of-soichiro-hondas-gem-1965-honda-s600.html
way to go, Kev!

• 4575548692.jpg
    4575548692.jpg
    54.4 KB · Views: 380
  • 4565341538.jpg
    4565341538.jpg
    54.3 KB · Views: 309
  • 4511921796.jpg
    4511921796.jpg
    49.6 KB · Views: 279
  • 4505678305.jpg
    4505678305.jpg
    46.3 KB · Views: 226
  • 4543735244.jpg
    4543735244.jpg
    55.5 KB · Views: 268
use 1000cc suzuki gsx or 1300cc hayabusa engine the best..rev up to 14k rpm.... :adore: ....(i think there's z-car uk custom final drive w/reverse i think for cars that use bike's engine)

but sensible is use 850kancil engine would be good enuf i think...or else plonk in L5 jb-jl turbo...

pomen, 850 kancil engine is still only 36hp...

the hayabusa engine sounds really good... also really expensive.

The 1980s suzuki GSX-R750 spins at 10000rpm, about the same as the S600 engine. Will I be able to use it with my S600 gearbox? And how much will it cost? hahaha

pomen, 850 kancil engine is still only 36hp...

the hayabusa engine sounds really good... also really expensive.

The 1980s suzuki GSX-R750 spins at 10000rpm, about the same as the S600 engine. Will I be able to use it with my S600 gearbox? And how much will it cost? hahaha

-i'm not really sure about gearbox because i've no experience creating car with bikes engine that comes with reverse gear..(done a buggy with 20hp single cylinder bike's engine but only with 6speed foward only)...

about engine halfcut for bikes only 2place i know u can get hold onto....

1)penang...
2)singapore....

i'll pm the detail for penang area (from my trusted friend) if u really want it.... :burnout:

That would be great, but can you please help me ask what the approximate price is first?
I do not want to run out of budget even before I start restoring the car haha

thangoh....congrats! finally somebody took that red devil with small heart. n even better is a member of ZTH...i'm looking forward to another thread headlined "yet another s600 restoration!" about the engine...i think best to PM kev directly and ask him if during his search, has he found an intact engine...but i really doubt it. u'll most likely have to buy overseas n import in. another option is to go to yr favourite halfcut shop n ask them to find for u. u'll have to be prepared to belanja them more than a few cups of coffee for this favor...anyways, all the best.

if the original engine is out of reach, i'd vote for the bike engine. gearbox will be a problem tho. dunno how yr gonna match it up...

That would be great, but can you please help me ask what the approximate price is first?
I do not want to run out of budget even before I start restoring the car haha

if in singapore sub 1000cc bike engine running condition is around 1k if not mistaken..

(u have to consider about the gearbox/transfercase price also..this i'm not familiar)

-a reliable source is to plonk in 1000cc kelisa engine..or turbocharge 850kancil engine...less headache on gearbox/drivetrain related things....

(*for sure u also can BOT turbo on engine bike if u were planning to plonk in bike's engine) :adore:

I guess cars are not like lego... Sure wish i could use the s600 gearbox and a bike engine tho. Would be very cool, actually.

Guys, the car is still in ipoh. Puspakom this wednesday, tentative ownership transfer this friday. What do I do with the car after that? Hahaha maybe i'll just take a leap of faith and drive it back, cross my fingers and hope that it doesn't die

Hi , congrats on your purchase, well how much dis you pay for it, iirc it was 22k on offer, I paid mne for rm10k, but came with the nice single alpha number, btw it's not possible to find the halfcut here, ur best bet is from japan and at least rm 10k for the engine plus shipping without the ap, the carburetor is seperate pricing too about 3k if u even can find it, I have spent 30 to 40 k in the car, if u don't have 50k, u can forget about getting it to original, if you want to fit a bike engine, make sure ur chain drive is still there to posibbly fit a bike engine, btw I am from kampar, only 30 mins from Ipoh, could meet up for yumcha if interested thanks

Hey Kevin, you're a legend. No need for me to tell you how great a job you've done.

Got mine for RM16k. A bit pricey, I know, but the body and paint is in good shape with rear wheel drive and only the engine gone. I'll have to ask the guy which junkyard he dumped it at. Hope by some crazy miracle that the engine is still there hahaha.

I'll be in Ipoh this Saturday, early morn. I have decided to first bring the car to the workshop, check that everything that should be lubricated is lubricated, everything that's supposed to spin is spinning and then drive the car back to KL. Would be great if we could meet up for brekkie before I start off on my absurd adventure.

thanks dude

im the same age as u, i cracked up my savings from selling my first car and my previous car and bought this car and started restoring it. its no easy feat. a year ago, i had a contact who had the s800 engine in his possesion. theres a s600 convertible in sungai petani though seller not wanting to sell. s800 convertible in sabah for sale. s600 convertible in both kuala kangsar (just sold) and in KL (still for sale). but yeah i dont know why would you ended up by this car, cos its very incomplte, the interior is incomplete. i have the magazines and pictures to refer how the inside should look like anyways. but yeah, i guess u bought it, its good as it is then.

i suppose u should do a f20c (s2000) engine transplant, or a 4age toyote engine transplant or if not just stuck a honda CBR engine for the fun of it. theres one car that is already transplanted with the kawasaki zx engine, go youtube it, its there.

but yeah, give me a ring on 016-5511035, cheers. i should be going to KL in the afternoon, mind bringing along and drop me off subang? i can show u my crankshaft which i intend to pick up from JC racing, cheers

kevin

thangoh...absurd it may be....but its a story to wow ppl during mamak breaks hehehhe hats off to u!

hahah, well, always good if u have, someone trailing u at the back when ur car fails. my friend had his wife drove the land cruiser with tools in case the fiat 600d failed, lol

good idea actually...and bring a few bottles of water n some buns or stuff too...Ipoh - KL isnt really a short trip...

4th gear still works rite?i think it's doable...

Sure, Kev, provided that I actually make it back to KL at all haha.

Arturo, its great that someone actually understands ones need for adventure.

hahaha give you a call if I survive.

Using a bike engine in the S600

Pros
1. lightweight
2. comes with sequential gearbox
3. high revving
4. very cool
5. rare in malaysia

Cons
1. requires additional gears and pulleys
2. classic car no longer classic
3. additional device to automatically cut power off to engine when shifting gears
4. need to shift down one gear at a time, down till neutral when stopping.
5. rare in malaysia

Anyways, attached is a diagram of how I would connect a bike engine to the car and an article + pic of the S600's rear wheel drive.

Layout 1 = Original engine
Layout 2 = Bike engine mounted sideways
Layout 3 = Bike engine with bevel gears

prefer layout 3 because it is more flexible

• Engine installation.GIF
    Engine installation.GIF
    10.5 KB · Views: 228
  • honda_chains.jpg
    honda_chains.jpg
    104.5 KB · Views: 207
hahaha give you a call if I survive.

Using a bike engine in the S600

Pros
1. lightweight
2. comes with sequential gearbox
3. high revving
4. very cool
5. rare in malaysia

Cons
1. requires additional gears and pulleys
2. classic car no longer classic
3. additional device to automatically cut power off to engine when shifting gears
4. need to shift down one gear at a time, down till neutral when stopping.
5. rare in malaysia

Anyways, attached is a diagram of how I would connect a bike engine to the car and an article + pic of the S600's rear wheel drive.

Layout 1 = Original engine
Layout 2 = Bike engine mounted sideways
Layout 3 = Bike engine with bevel gears

prefer layout 3 because it is more flexible

Cool project,

Can you not mod the clutch pedal to pull the bike's clutch?

Here's a car that's been my favorite, the escort with a turboed 900
http://www.situne.no/

YouTube- Ford Escort RR By Situne