Is HID legal in malaysia for all cars?

Tohsan said:
My kenari is fitted with 2 pairs of HID 6500k, both head light n fog light, most time i passby road block by JPJ at night, so far they didn't stop me at all. I don't see any problems at all.

If u read the JPJ bye-laws, every car without "mugd-flat" is an offence according to JPJ rules, thats mean all new car on the road are illegal and liable to a fine!!!Will the JPJ be so stupid to do that, i donno!!! :D
i dunno JPJ fellas really that stupid or not. Here in penang, i'm more worried about those blue uniformed police who always wanna cari makan wan...lame guys...

ftzone said:
4300K bulbs confirmed not illegal for street use. I myself is using it... been into several JPJ / Police Road Blocks they got no comments on my HID... I ask them also.. boss ok ah.. ini lampu... they replied bagus.. terang baru orang nampak.. :D
hey ftzone, i know u sure say ok with 4300k HID, cos u r selling it urself wat rite? Don worry, i'm not here to criticize ur product, its a great product so far i've heard from a dude named MOVE_NRF from penang oso. But i wanna ask u, is it necessary that i fix glass head lights for my kancil before i fit in this HID kit? Cos MOVE told me my stock plastic headlights might not be able to stand the heat. And oso won't look that great with plastic headlights. Any advice here? Thanks...

BLaCkHoWLiNG said:
eating while driving is illegal.. so's sms-ing.... i guess HID carries death penalties..

hahaha, bryan, how about those who have bolt-on turbo? die 3 times loh... hahaha

guys, wat about projector headlights ?

Im planning to install projector headlights in my car. Does it have those 4500k 4000k thingy ?

MystaJ said:
hey ftzone, i know u sure say ok with 4300k HID, cos u r selling it urself wat rite? Don worry, i'm not here to criticize ur product, its a great product so far i've heard from a dude named MOVE_NRF from penang oso. But i wanna ask u, is it necessary that i fix glass head lights for my kancil before i fit in this HID kit? Cos MOVE told me my stock plastic headlights might not be able to stand the heat. And oso won't look that great with plastic headlights. Any advice here? Thanks...

What i am saying is a fact. not because i'm selling it. and definately not because i want u to buy from me or whatsoever. Its your money, u choose your product and seller. U have no obligation to buy from me.

BMW's comes with 4300K xenon bulbs as standard. Fixing anything which is of better quality den stock is an additional advantage. It is up to you. I'm using stock wira headlamps (bosch) with the 4300K HID. The heat generated from halogens are no better or worst compared with xenon bulbs. They both generate heat. Of coz glass headlamps looks better den plastic headlamps. It depends on the quality of the reflector inside the head lamp to really use the full potential of the HID.

Rdgs,

ftzone, well spoken, point taken. No offense to you ok. Really good info for me. Just to make sure, when u guys talk about glass headlights, are u refering to those like toyota altis etc or even kancil bug-eyed type of head lights with clear glass as a front? Or are u all refering to the head lights material is made of glass?

if JPJ say HID is illegal than you complain to MCA ask the G why HID can be bought in malaysia since its illlegal?

Its like guns are illegal but you can buy it at 7-11.... dumb dumb

ftzone said:
What i am saying is a fact. not because i'm selling it. and definately not because i want u to buy from me or whatsoever. Its your money, u choose your product and seller. U have no obligation to buy from me.

BMW's comes with 4300K xenon bulbs as standard. Fixing anything which is of better quality den stock is an additional advantage. It is up to you. I'm using stock wira headlamps (bosch) with the 4300K HID. The heat generated from halogens are no better or worst compared with xenon bulbs. They both generate heat. Of coz glass headlamps looks better den plastic headlamps. It depends on the quality of the reflector inside the head lamp to really use the full potential of the HID.

Rdgs,

Bro i think u wrong.
HID is ilegal if inproper usage.
Yes 4300K Philips or Osram bulb is OEM but it make for projector base not reflector.

That is none OEM bulb make for those car with H4,H7,H1,9006,9001 etc .......

Retrofit a none HID head lamp to Hid it need a better skill and knowledge other then simply conver the base .....

the reason why GOV wanted to ban is not of the colour is GLARE .....

Need more answer about HID google it ...

Recently I heard rumors that JPJ is actually catching HID users and if convicted, can be summoned up to RM2500. Any one out there can confirm this? I'm currently using 6000K HID. Still wondering if I should take it out.

10 out of 10 Perodua's I have seen on the road with HIDs have glare. Shine everywhere. There is just no way of properly of adjusting a non HID headlamp to use HID unless it's projectors with a very clear cut off... unless the HID's come stock with the car of course. As a lot of R&D has already gone into producing it.

By the way, this does not only apply to Perodua's...

so now..hows hid news? coz so far..for my car..i fix 8000k hid..bluish one..but self adjust the lights to 100% shoot jalan onli...and so far..from most of my fren ask me y my hid not glare...and haven meet probs wif the authorities so far..btw..i m using projector headlights

if JPJ say HID is illegal than you complain to MCA ask the G why HID can be bought in malaysia since its illlegal?

just my 2 piece opinion. it all about the law. invitation to treat. can sell but cannot buy. same goes by people selling tints. u can sell even the darkess tint but the question is, can you buy it or use it? of course you can buy but the jpj officers will fine you for using it. you will ask them, "kenapa org boley jual", then they will tell use back, "you tau salah, kenapa beli?" the road blocks sometimes will go by thier priorities. some are ops tint film, some are hid. will go by thier priorities.

to tell you guys the truth. i hate people using the HID lights. really bugs me when i'm driving infront of it. no matter it's a bimmer or a kancil. this things should be ban in Malaysia as it may endanger other people. wut's the purpose of this things? can get clearer road when driving in the dark? before hid was introduce, people can still drive using the normal headlamps rite? create more accident on the road is that i see. some people dont see the positive side of using the product. please dont use this hid as it will endager the other road users. maybe it is good for you (whoa are using it and got the money to buy it) but for other people? pls dont be shelfish.

just my 2 piece opinion. it all about the law. invitation to treat. can sell but cannot buy. same goes by people selling tints. u can sell even the darkess tint but the question is, can you buy it or use it? of course you can buy but the jpj officers will fine you for using it. you will ask them, "kenapa org boley jual", then they will tell use back, "you tau salah, kenapa beli?" the road blocks sometimes will go by thier priorities. some are ops tint film, some are hid. will go by thier priorities.

to tell you guys the truth. i hate people using the HID lights. really bugs me when i'm driving infront of it. no matter it's a bimmer or a kancil. this things should be ban in Malaysia as it may endanger other people. wut's the purpose of this things? can get clearer road when driving in the dark? before hid was introduce, people can still drive using the normal headlamps rite? create more accident on the road is that i see. some people dont see the positive side of using the product. please dont use this hid as it will endager the other road users. maybe it is good for you (whoa are using it and got the money to buy it) but for other people? pls dont be shelfish.

this is called advancement in technology, bro. you can't say moving from carb to fuel injected caused a lot of problems right? many a research has been done, and i'm sure if it's unsafe, they wouldn't release it to public. what we have here is just people who have headlights that aren't made for HIDs and thus spreading the glare, not focused. and yes, there are definitely people who are in it "just because others are", these are the kinds that should be fined/banned/whatever, as they're ignorant of the facts that their lights blind oncoming cars because they're too dumb to adjust it.

the blame shouldn't be shouldered by the irresponsible drivers only, but also the arses who fitted the HIDs for them.

Last edited by a moderator:

....there's people that have the same thought as me...That's what bugging me for a long time. If it's illegal why still can get in the market...It's all down to them 'G'. If it's illegal, MITI & Custom should not even let the shipments of HID to reach the shore of Malaysia.

They will never cut the root of their 'extra income' If they do so, they will die of hunger and no duit raya. Just imagine if all the cars are stock standard and all the commercial vehicles are up to standard. JPJ has nothing to catch....but as you all know they will still try to find the tiniest fault you have...'secure bolt not tight' SAMAN!!

Slic, the fault is not at the technology itself, the problem lies in the person who fitted it un-properly and the person who don't give a damn to other peoples' feeling. I'm using HID but I make sure that I'm not 1 of the bastard that keep getting cursed by other drivers. Accidents at night is created when you can't see the road clearly. I've already posted posting in another forum discussing this, even wrote to the state JPJ Pengarah and the newspaper. Why I do that? not because I'm defending for myself. I'm defending a technology that has brought better road safety to us. If HID is consider a step backward in technology. World renowned car manufacturer won't be fitting HIDs to their cars.

wut slic has written may have some significant truth in it. i, myself have encountered the problem whereby i nearly hit a motocyclist because of this ignorant driver who uses HID lights. the glare is so bright until it reaches a blank spot in my eyes. may be is good for the driver that has HID lights. good for them to c in the dark. but what's the effect on others who is infront of him/her. well, it's true that we can say that it's a technological breakthrough in motoring for HID lights but how do we curb this situation whereby it does more harm than good. this so called sellers that sell HID lights, i think they themselve don't have the technology to install or fit this HID. if it's a factory fitted, it think it should be ok as what we can see in those merc and bimmers.

titanrev,

it's good that you're well aware of others when you're using HID lights. by god, i hope many people will think like you (which i dont think so). writing to jpj is not the solution. who are we? we need to educate Malaysian drivers about safety awareness. i think website like 0-100 will eventually educate them bit by bit.

The HID and HID conversion kit works ok on the original HIDed car. But because quick $$$, they install for those which is not originally HIDed car. So, besides the seller, I think the car owner cannot escape from being blamed. You cannot stop people from buying caught medicine because some people over dozed themselves for gaining the so call 'high' feeling.

The lesson to educate them, is either saman and keep on saman (kopi o also will do) or break their front lamps. I guess only the saman thing will works. But those bluish or even violet bulbs should be banned on the road as well.

Last edited by a moderator:
The HID and HID conversion kit works ok on the original HIDed car. But because quick $$$, they install for those which is not originally HIDed car. So, besides the seller, I think the car owner cannot escape from being blamed. You cannot stop people from buying caught medicine because some people over dozed themselves for gaining the so call 'high' feeling.

The lesson to educate them, is either saman and keep on saman (kopi o also will do) or break their front lamps. I guess only the saman thing will works. But those bluish or even violet bulbs should be banned on the road as well.
Agree... actually those blueish or violet colors do not come stock with the car. I have seen many BMW's or Mercs with those lights and they are still glaring!!! It's more for looks. Normally all original HID fitted cars come with 4350K which is kind of yellow to white.