1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

yalah..its quite hard to find it..especially the one with m/t..my frens who drives satria 1.6 all got auto box..

encikmasen said:
yalah..its quite hard to find it..especially the one with m/t..my frens who drives satria 1.6 all got auto box..
Yes thats right, It took me awhile to find a manual transmission satria 1.6.
Lucky i found one even in the colour that i wanted, heh heh.

anybody can recommend any good chop shops where i can find stuf like lower suspension arms (mivec) and steering wheels?

Maybe you can ask some of the threadstarters on chop shop sales and ask them in the engine and performance section

hye all..my car make some funny sign..again!!

when i place my key in the "ON" positions (not starting the car ),some sound will be heard from the engine..sound like "eeettt" sound...i examine it and thought it may come from the starter...or distributor...maybe..so,anyone have this problem before??and i notice that my radiator water is decreasing..little by little...what is the problem??

p/s : calling for riggy sifu...:_:

REDDICE: Most probably its your fuel pump making that noise. from the rear. But from the front it could be your idle control switch setting itself before the startup.

Try changing your radiator cap. You may either be losing water thru there if its very worn out. secondly, you may have a water jacket leak at the cyl head or at the cyl head gasket. or check all your hoses.

regards

riggy said:
REDDICE: Most probably its your fuel pump making that noise. from the rear. But from the front it could be your idle control switch setting itself before the startup.

Try changing your radiator cap. You may either be losing water thru there if its very worn out. secondly, you may have a water jacket leak at the cyl head or at the cyl head gasket. or check all your hoses.

regards

if the idle control switch is making some noise,is it damaged??or is it normal?

i examine the hose but nothing leak out..i 'll try to change the radiator cap first..thanks a lot bro..will keep u update..

p/s : if u come to seremban,call me..i owe you some nasi goreng ayam and mylo ais...

Reddice: dont think its damaged...mine sometimes does that but it functions normally. it could be your pump, sometimes the noise travels and you cant tell whether its from the front or back.

Try looking at the hoses near the throttle body, there is a water hose near the throttle body/ inlet manifold area. people seldom notice this hose. its purpose is to ensure cold weather startups.

IF you come down to KL you could also spend me nasi ayam laaaa. :)

regards.

IMHO, its the idle control thing adjusting itself..i also have the same sound coming out when i put the key to ON position..always happen in the morning (cold start)..i assume its the idle control (or the automatic choke)

2 cents..

i examine my car yesterday and the sound really come from the intake manifold (am i right? )..i put my hand and can really feel it shake inside there..but yes,it only happen when cold start...after a while,i went to some petrol pump..and when i put it into the "ON" positions..no sound can be heard...lately im using my bike to work..and seldomly start my car...no wonder that happen..

p/s : thanks to riggy and encikmasen..you guys the best!!:shades_smile:

i'm new here, know about this thread from another thread
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?p=1565007&posted=1#post1565007
any c-fu can give advice on 1.6 local block wf GTI head, wat timing belt to use? for this rojak, wat gbox to use?
thanks in advance!!!

reddice said:
i examine my car yesterday and the sound really come from the intake manifold (am i right? )..i put my hand and can really feel it shake inside there..but yes,it only happen when cold start...after a while,i went to some petrol pump..and when i put it into the "ON" positions..no sound can be heard...lately im using my bike to work..and seldomly start my car...no wonder that happen..

p/s : thanks to riggy and encikmasen..you guys the best!!:shades_smile:

My car does the same thing. Guess its nothing to worry about. It still starts right? so no worries...

I also got the same issue, but only if I stay in high gear. but after converting to 93 head, problem gone. (i didnt change the tb though)

leftfoot said:
I also got the same issue, but only if I stay in high gear. but after converting to 93 head, problem gone. (i didnt change the tb though)

how do you done it? i thought that to convert dohc also need 1.8 tb... or maybe u got some mod to it's wiring? n all the wiring isnt the same.. maybe i wrong dunno la..

4G92P stock standard, year'94

FYI, good engine....mine mileage is 322 388km now....what u guys think?

hello, i'm now currently driving wira year 2000 1.6 xLi. I bought it second hand and i feel the car very eat fuel. Can i know how many km did your car can go for full tank. Mine is around 250-300 for full tank .. i think very eat fuel la .. nothing mod all original. can anyone help me ? wat is the problem actually ?

Ur's is Milenium edition? Auto or Manual? If for Manual.. FC quite bad...cause mine Rm60 can go for 370km... with Open Pod, Muffler...few mod..

lsj_87 said:
mine is not milenium edition.. . btw is auto not manual..

Im sorry to say that Auto transmission cars will always drink petrol like nobody's business.

lsj_87 said:
hello, i'm now currently driving wira year 2000 1.6 xLi. I bought it second hand and i feel the car very eat fuel. Can i know how many km did your car can go for full tank. Mine is around 250-300 for full tank .. i think very eat fuel la .. nothing mod all original. can anyone help me ? wat is the problem actually ?

I think this time the problem its becoz its ALL ORIGINAL. mine (1.6 auto 98reg) gets around 270-300 with RM50. Most probably you still have a catalytic converter choking your exhaust system, and that alone takes about 4-5bhp from your setup and you need all the power you can get to move an auto. However, ideally, make sure you service your car according to the schedule, spark plugs in the correct heat range, engine oil should not be anything higher than 20w50 rating - dont use 60, too heavy. make sure everything from the fuel filter to the air filter has been changed and try getting the ignition timing and engine timing checked. This is important.

regards