1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

riggy: thnks for the advise, but will i see any obvious increase of fuel consumption if setting to such higher psi??

extrememech said:
guys, i have a question to ask .... what u think if this combination....

1.8 block
1.6 sohc head
mivec piston

Better torque ?

I bet you be vevry happy with this combo.

I initially was rebuilding my car with a 1.8 Block and SOHC head. The torque was amazing but the engine blew cause I got a bad block.

so had to revert to my original engine.

But with your engine balanced dynamically, I bet you that you be happy at this combo.

pifecto14 said:
riggy: thnks for the advise, but will i see any obvious increase of fuel consumption if setting to such higher psi??

maybe slightly increase of f/c as you're increasing the amount of fuel into the engine..and according to famous equation, as you trying to get more power, more power = more fuel burnt

encikmasen said:
maybe slightly increase of f/c as you're increasing the amount of fuel into the engine..and according to famous equation, as you trying to get more power, more power = more fuel burnt

Ok thanks alot for the advise fellow 4g92 mates...:regular_smile:

Riggy :Any suggestion on where do i get my exhaust piping done??

pifecto14 said:
Ok thanks alot for the advise fellow 4g92 mates...:regular_smile:

Riggy :Any suggestion on where do i get my exhaust piping done??

anywhere will do. the only thing you must make sure is that they cut and weld properly, make sure they use new joints, as sometimes when then cut and weld, the part where the pipe joins the flanges tend to be abit smaller (restricting flow) than the pipe size. in other words, be a bit fussier than usual.

as for fuel consumption, its ever so slight only. nothing compared to when i changed to larger injectors without setting the fuel regulator properly and waiting for the ecu to adjust itself to the different injectors

rodeeoo said:
I bet you be vevry happy with this combo.

I initially was rebuilding my car with a 1.8 Block and SOHC head. The torque was amazing but the engine blew cause I got a bad block.

so had to revert to my original engine.

But with your engine balanced dynamically, I bet you that you be happy at this combo.

i wonder which ECU i should use and injector as well.... any comment or suggestions ?

hello all taiko-taiko, i got some problem with my car, 4g92. sometime the check light appear and my car feel no power. b4 i transplant, no this problem but after 2 month driving, check light appear. now hp drop after doing dyno..... when check light appear, rpm will trying to pull down. after awhile when check light disappear, everything seems to be normal. is it senser kong? which sensor do u know? got any workshop can help me solve this problem?? thanks

B18C.com said:
hello all taiko-taiko, i got some problem with my car, 4g92. sometime the check light appear and my car feel no power. b4 i transplant, no this problem but after 2 month driving, check light appear. now hp drop after doing dyno..... when check light appear, rpm will trying to pull down. after awhile when check light disappear, everything seems to be normal. is it senser kong? which sensor do u know? got any workshop can help me solve this problem?? thanks

this happen to me once... mine also 92p... it was the fuel filter that cause my problem... may be u can check it out ...

oh, i already replace to a new fuel filter but problem still there. sometime engine mati at jam. So malu and make problem to me!!! Some foreman say it might be sensor problem but they can solve it for me,talk cock only!!!

go n do some diagnosis test.. it might help!!!
check ur TB as well!!!!

hei guys,
for those who are driving 4g92 auto...
Is it advisable to drive with your OD off?? or with OD on??

OD off = Save fuel, higher top speed; OD on = 3 gears, hi-torque but remember to change back to OD off once u hit high rpm on 3rd(somewhere 6krpm the gb will help change from 3rd to 4th in OD off mode, OD on wont, so no top speed)...

OD off : 1st - 5krpm, 2nd - 5krpm, 3rd 6krpm, 4th - ??rpm...

Correct me if im wrong... Thx...

pifecto14 said:
hei guys,
for those who are driving 4g92 auto...
Is it advisable to drive with your OD off?? or with OD on??

Leave it on. The 4g92 autobox is basically a 4 speed auto with an electronically activated 4th gear. Those days this was the easiest way to make a 4 speeder. Even toyotas of the period (see the 1st gen estimas for a good example) use this setup. circa early 1990s.

if you leave the od off...the 4th gear wont come in. means bad fuel economy, no top speed. It wont change automatically as what the other posted suggested. No matter how hard you floor that accelerator pedal of yours.

Also dont be smart and decide to switch between economy and power mode while using the car. I suggest u keep it in power mode all the time as in economy mode its too lazy, will never hit redline even if you attached a 20kilo weight to your foot. Petrol consumption wont be much different if you drive gently. Reason for doing this is that you dont confuse the gearbox's ecu (yes, your autobox has an ecu to shift gears) too much so that the gearbox lasts longer (and you know how fragile mitsubishi autos are).

regards.

Hey guys. Anyone heard of gear oil cooler 4 our 1.6 ers? Proton is now including it into their Perdana V6 ers as stock!! New ones dat is. In actual fact, all the perdana auto has this as stock but coz of keeping lower cost, proton opt it out. No wonder a lot of perdana having problems with their auto transmission. Its probably the same as 1.6 ers wira auto too. I'm still investigating.

tk2005takeru said:
OD off = Save fuel, higher top speed; OD on = 3 gears, hi-torque but remember to change back to OD off once u hit high rpm on 3rd(somewhere 6krpm the gb will help change from 3rd to 4th in OD off mode, OD on wont, so no top speed)...

OD off : 1st - 5krpm, 2nd - 5krpm, 3rd 6krpm, 4th - ??rpm...

Correct me if im wrong... Thx...

tk2005 : u say OD off to save fuel?? Are you sure?
i thought when u press the OD off button, the car drops down to
lower gear?

Riggy : So does it mean if i wan to reach top speed faster, i only ON the OD after
getting to 5-6k rpm on 3rd gear. In order to get to the 4th gear??
And about putting on the Economy mode, its purpose is it to make the
gearbox upshifting below 3k rpm..?

Cos wat i noticed is with OD on, the gears don't drop down much when the car slows down and it felt like the car sticking to 4th gear when i slowed down to around 50-60km/h.

jtys said:
Hey guys. Anyone heard of gear oil cooler 4 our 1.6 ers? Proton is now including it into their Perdana V6 ers as stock!! New ones dat is. In actual fact, all the perdana auto has this as stock but coz of keeping lower cost, proton opt it out. No wonder a lot of perdana having problems with their auto transmission. Its probably the same as 1.6 ers wira auto too. I'm still investigating.

what is the year of made for ur car?mine is 97's,1.6xli.the coolant system is much more bigger than the manual made of car.becoz it do the coolant job for the auto gear oil as well.u can check there is a tube that come out from somewhere and link your radiator.i could not remember where is the locatioon already,but surely u can find it.becoz i juz have my gearbox changed to manual and there is one tube hanging there w/o doing anything

jtys said:

You can buy aftermarket ones under the brand name hayden (usually sold out in malaysia lots in singapore). What i can suggest is buy a small oil cooler, use it with hoses after the fluid goes thru the radiator cooler before going back to teh transmission. I was thinking of using one, but i already have an oil cooler so that too helps with the overall reduction of heat in the engine bay.

pifecto14: in my car, i leave the od on all the time. My autobox will shift in all gears at redline. No need to do like what u state. I do not depend on engine braking with the autobox unless it is absolutely needed (like in emergencies). U should drive it like a manual with a lightened flywheel (same feeling as having little engine braking).

My gearbox shifts at around 3k rpm if i drive sedately...i dont need the economy button for it do to that. Think its becoz i have more than enuff power from the engine.

regards.

kob3bryant : mine is 96 xli....ok will cek dat out. Din noe the radiator coolant was flowing thru the transmission all dis while. Tq

riggy : O i c....but ur current oil cooler is 4 engine oil or transmission? Was tinkin if have an oil cooler jus 4 transmission only better rite? Coz wen i'm on the road consistently 4 over 2 hrs( not neccesary high speed all d time) my transmission sum how gets sluggish, draggy, so much so sum times it gets stuck between 3rd n 4th gear. I had 2 stop n rest 4 bout 20 mins or so den it'll be back 2 normal. Hmm.....hope dats not a sign 4 me 2 get a replacement.....:cry_smile:

tk2005takeru is nearly right..but the OD on/off is terbalik...better just drive with OD on unless u need extra power like going up the hill with full passenger, overtaking, or need a serious engine braking (i do that sometimes)..elsewhere, just let the autobox do their work..

IMHO, there's no need to on/off OD to much, it'll stress out the engine..my mom kena once..and if i need extra power, just floor the pedal..rpm will straight jump to redline, change bout 5.5-6krpm..

also the power and economy switch, means that if u want to drive agressively (cos u have more money to pay for fuel) then switch to power mode..the gearbox will change nore often..if u want to save fuel, switch to economy lah..the box will change gear early (like mine around 2-2.5k also can change), but you'll drive slower then an uncle la

Hey riggy, u mentioned earlier in dis thread bout running 45psi on d fpr in ur set up...
My set up pretty close 2 urs. Hot bits ext, 2" piping all d way, 1 ctr box n a 'S' muffler at my tail (entirely fr Everco), except 4 hot bits. HKS drop in n d rest stock.

But my fpr i'm still experimenting. Problem is....wen set at 45psi=2 draggy....i mean reeeeally draggy. So i went up bit by bit up 2 50 psi n was fine bout a day or so n it starts 2 pink. Even went up 2 60 psi oso eventually it pinks. Cant go below 50 psi otherwise it'll b 2 rich. So i'm stuck btween 50 n 60 psi.

But wen i rev hard a few times(on d road), pinking stops but comes back after a while. Any idea wats wrong??

lost.......lost........:retarded: :confused_smile: