1.6ers Owners (Mitsi/Proton)

good tips/info bro riggy..CAI is good la..waja use this method oso.

zan : what model of ur car? is it millenium edition? some ppl said that millenium edition use new design of g/box to correct this prob.

idling prob = maybe check ISC first..

so,just change the throttle body to perdana throttle body??got some people use mivec t/b..which one is better??and just plug and play??

riggy,best upgrades for 1.6??what does it improve??pick up??top?response?

im using 1.6 soch for my satria..is it better for me to stay soch or better to go doch? (change head to doch )..teach me please..

reddice said:
so,just change the throttle body to perdana throttle body??got some people use mivec t/b..which one is better??and just plug and play??

riggy,best upgrades for 1.6??what does it improve??pick up??top?response?

im using 1.6 soch for my satria..is it better for me to stay soch or better to go doch? (change head to doch )..teach me please..

The perdana throttle body is optimum for the 4g92. The MIVEC is too large, unless you got cam (or a tc head - cams), porting, larger injectors, a fuel regulator, a piggy back ECU to compensate. I run the perdana throttle body on my car and its enough. My car got lots of mods already.

SOHC has more low end torque than a DOHC head. If you're into town driving and if u note that the 92 tends to make all of its power at around 4500rpm and above, the extra horsepower of the dohc head would not feel much different than the soch head below that rpm. it depends on your driving style and what you want. I'd even stick with the stock camshaft if you want your power to come in early, fast road cams tend to have a higher up than usual powerband and it wouldnt suit the 92 unless you wanna use it at sepang for your kicks.

Best upgrades? I'd have to rate it as follows:
1. auto transmission cooler - no. 1 for autos, gearbox will last, shifts are better but i think if you have no. #2 below, its sufficient to cure all heat related problems.
2. oil cooler, - even feel how much power your car feels in the morning or at genting? now you can feel it all day and allows for continuous high speed cruising helps protect the engine by running cooler especially if youre running a hi-compression head like me(therefore everything lasts longer).
3. lightweight crankshaft pulley - easily improves response, and adds power all the way thru, low end, mid range especially.
4. perdana throttle body - greater response, mid range and top end . add it allows more air to enter the intake manifold, the ecu compensates for more fuel, hence a little more power.
5. K&N replacement air filter with heat shielding (CAI)around the stock airbox (block off the area beginning from the battery to the airbox - the battery also doesnt like the hot engine as heat degrades the battery's longivity). Also add a couple of extra air intakes to the stock airbox while youre at it.
6. Port, polish and skimming (or thinner head gasket)- better flow allows for more air and fuel, the extra compression from the skimming adds a lot of horses. you cannot go wrong with this mod. I'd say with this alone adds a good 8-10% more horsepower at minimum. power comes in earlier due to increased compression making engine response better.
7. proper exhaust system - dont run too big pipe sizing , your 92 is NA not turbo. nothing more than 2in. or you'll lose torque.

there are so much more, if you have the budget of course, a blueprinted, balanced engine would be good also, but only advisable if your engine needs an overhaul if you you're just blowing your hard earned money away. a piggyback ecu OR any ecu upgrades should only come after all these, why? coz if youre running the mitsubishi mass airflow sensor system, and not the siemens, its fine. that system can handle almost all you can throw at it, until you throw cams, extremely large throttle bodies, and tons of fuel at it.

regards

thanks riggy for the quick reply bro..

so,when changing the head..what should i need?

head,distributor,new timing belt (what timing belt?),what else?

what about the wiring??since previously im using soch,do i have to rojak the wiring to suite the dohc head??

go for GSR / 93T head with 0.8mm metal gasket, MIVEC 60mm TB (if possible 64mm rebore), injector 210cc from 4G91 and ECU & wirings from 1.8 SOHC.

muahhahahaha... or get RM2000 and bolt on GSR td04H turbo ler... 0.6 bar oso edi 170whp...

bro kopi..and how much do that will cost??

are you already done all the modifications??how the performance??

gsr head??aint it the same as 4g93 gti @ putra head??

p/s : sorry guys..noob here...dont want to waste my money on unnessary modifications..i done the thing when i was changing the absorber..waste so much money..damn stupid la me..

another 92p reportin' .. hope can get helpfull info to make better mod.

reddice said:
bro kopi..and how much do that will cost??

are you already done all the modifications??how the performance??

gsr head??aint it the same as 4g93 gti @ putra head??

p/s : sorry guys..noob here...dont want to waste my money on unnessary modifications..i done the thing when i was changing the absorber..waste so much money..damn stupid la me..

same head, but different compression. You may have to use a very thin gasket or skim the head to get it high-comp. If you're running NA, you need the high compression to get the power. Run around 11.0:1 for this (stock 1.6 sohc is around 10:1) and you'll see gains.

HOWEVER, i suggest you get the chassis right first before you add more power to your ride. I dont find it fun to drive a car if the chassis is stock. especially if you drive a stock 1.6. The car rides firm, but somehow its just firm and choppy but lacking in high speed control. I'd recommend you use at least the local GAB shocks or if you have the money, a set of KONI adjustables or HWL equivalent. With a set of good sports springs (eibach comes to mind) or full coil overs (i use this with KONI adjustables).

Secondly, get that chassis rigid. Means strut bars front and rear, fender bars. Use PU Bushes for the front lower arm and the rear trailing arm (the rest you can keep stock but keep them fairly new and change every 2-3 years or so).

By doing the above, you'll find that your wira/satria 1.6 can run rings round most cars (provided you set the car up to your preference and driving style - IF you know how to do it that is!) and make full use of the standard engine's 111bhp. remember - power, WITHOUT CONTROL MEANS absolutely NOTHING.

regards,

need help

dear brothers....hi...im a 1.6xli owner who is havin some problems wit the engine.......here is da problem(s)....wen my air cond cuts in (say wen im stopped at d traffic light ),the cars revos drops to about 400 rpm...tried adjustin d timing but problem still exists......my frend says its d throttle body problem....is it possible ???im gettin fed up of de vibrations....Second problem.....wen drivin i always hear a knocking sound comin from somewere but i dont know were....any ideas ??PLZ HELp !!! thank u very much all brothers....may god bless u all !!! :tee:

ACM said:
I oso plan to change engine lah. But dunno which engine to change. Any suggestion?

yo bro planing to change engine ah.... (bo ceo leh...) i also planning to change... see when free we go together and check the price can ah... :biggrin: let me know ok :tee:

riggy said:
Honestly, the perdana throttle body flows enough air for even a 4g92 using 1.8 injectors, you do not need a larger throttle body than the perdana one. What you need is nice cold air into that intake, as if you're still using the mitsubishi airflow sensor, that thing alone measures (and restricts) the air comming into the throttle body. One size up is a 2.0 MIVEC throttle body, but thats ridiculously huge and you will have lots of flat spots if you dont change your 1.6 injectors and fueling to something bigger (and also the ECU or piggyback to suit). Get a Cold Air intake made for your car, use the stock airbox with some mods to it, cover up the area where the airbox gets its air from. Even if you get the perdana throttle body bored out in malaysia, no one here can change the throttle butterfly to a bigger size, which in itself restricts the size of the opening since it flows the same size as before. so it is pointless to try doing so. AND, if your not running a ported or flowed head, such extra volume of air is pointless also.

ALUMINIUM CRANKPULLEY. it weighs approx. 850g instead of approx 2100g of the original. its sold and costs around rm400. its made out of aircraft grade aluminium machined from a solid aluminium billet. you gain by losing rotating mass, hence better engine response and some horsepower, hence better overall performance.

regards

did i forgot to mention that i already use perdana sohc engine...
that's why i wanna custom enlarging or is there any others throttle body suitable n larger then perdana one?

amad108.. said:
that's why i wanna custom enlarging or is there any others throttle body suitable n larger then perdana one?

Means you're no longer a 1.6xer la...i thought you were running the original engine. Use the MIVEC throttle body then. Should fit.

amad108.. said:

wow amad..diam2 change engine aaa....how much cost ur project?..:biggrin:

reddice : plus plus all should be around RM1500-RM1800. But can do step by step... no need to plonk everything once. (add another RM600 ur car is turboed with TD04 edi! ur choice ler)

ah-singh : u should try to check below your throttle body (joining the TB), there's a plastic plate. Touch with your finger and see if the plastic melted or still hard. If it has melted then ur throttle body has to change. forgot edi what its called. Only the very few mech would change just the plate but most would suggest change TB...

Amad108 : u edi on my idea, hehehe... 4G63 SOHC huh? why dun u source for EVO throttle body ler. Eh, since u edi do that, I want to meet u up ler brader... want to see how the engine is installed in ur bay. PM me bro. Maybe we can teh tarik together. I'll get fugz to come together.

Another 92p reporting. How bout a tt someday for all 1.6ers?

Btw, swapping DOHC from 91 soon as well. hehe

sure why not... ehehe.. goodluck blowfish. ur doing complete swap or head swap btw?

Head swap only. Coz i dun wanna downgrade from 1.6 to 1.5 Hopefully performance is good. Acquiring SAFC to tune

Still can't find a workshop that charge reasonable labor prices. Student ma.

Any to recommend ka?

Blowfish said:
Head swap only. Coz i dun wanna downgrade from 1.6 to 1.5 Hopefully performance is good. Acquiring SAFC to tune

Still can't find a workshop that charge reasonable labor prices. Student ma.

Any to recommend ka?

you wanna use 4G91 head?why dont use 4G93 head??

p/s : ya..when wanna TT..and anyone from seremban??