120Y Old School

waa volvo bro...ur car looks really neat la and cool too :rock: some more got alarm system ar? i see the siren inside the engine bay there. :biggrin: just landed in kch less than an hour ago la.. see when the sun shines tmr i'll take some pics of my car and maybe upload a.s.a.p. i see your engine fan liaw..i think i gonna install 1 too. ahaha. maybe i prefer not to install the relay or pump la. i dont think its worth the money. mileage of my car is so high already. i wonder how long it still can go... :rolleyes:

bro sam, the compressor dont want to turn is because u switch it to auto la. it only runs when the engine reaches certain rpm, which can be adjusted too, nid to kopek out the round rubber thinggy somewhere near the auto/manual switch and turn the thinggy inside using a small flat screwdriver.but if u switch on manual it will run all the time la. interesting uh the car? hahaha.

i attach up my car interior pic 1st...taken few months back.my glovebox abit discolour liaw.initially wanted to install mp3 player but scared kena curi..so get d cheapest digital radio cassette enuf la.sigh..next to the 2 pics is the JDM spec catalogue for the last b310's with E series engines. damn nice oh?

wah.. you all got nice dat lar...
good work on maintenance there....

volvo bro the engine bay really.. like NEW one just comes out from factory..
mine not nice liao

and abubu bro your interior also nice...
i tell u the 3 horn button.. my car one, one of them already broken.. so got hole there... dono what to do (i lost the broken part already i think)

ya.. now i switch the aircond the manual liao.. very cool.. hehehehehehe
nice lar got that switch... i just leave it to manual all the time will do

again, some pics of my car. thats the speed i managed yesterday. hehe..dont dare go any faster coz only hold steering with 1 hand..other hand take phone to take pic

bro zyfull, your car doesnt look that bad at all leh. i dont see any really can see rust leh..haha

bro sam, ur car so bad condition? isit secondhand? got pics? haha

btw...my car still very stock..i need better rims ah...those ori steel wheels really ugly.used to have chrome trimmings around the wheels but my dad GAVE it AWAY! he gave away an amp too...grrr..it used to have a full sound system inside, digital equalizer, tweeter, amp, now only left a pair of 20+ year old 3 way pioneer speakers with ciplak brand digital radio and cassette.the speakers are made in japan lahh..i tidak sampai hati wan buang, sound crack d, but still can listen..haha

abubu: yeah bro, have to fix alarm lar here in kl. lost one sony player once before i had the alarm :frown: .btw, dont worry ur car will still serve even after u finished the mileage one whole round. plus, i see ur car everything is still orginal. respect man!. just get a new pair of rims and ur datusn will rule kuching man :biggrin: . also, thanx for all the pic uploads.

zyfull: ur datsun still rocks lar bro :rock: . abubu is rite.. cant see ne rust all. hehehe

sam: last time my car horn also one piece broke. dunno what to do...so went n got a new steering wheel. using a small diameter momo now. cannot find the original one from half-cut also :tee:

abubu said:
again, some pics of my car. thats the speed i managed yesterday. hehe..dont dare go any faster coz only hold steering with 1 hand..other hand take phone to take pic

bro zyfull, your car doesnt look that bad at all leh. i dont see any really can see rust leh..haha

bro sam, ur car so bad condition? isit secondhand? got pics? haha

btw...my car still very stock..i need better rims ah...those ori steel wheels really ugly.used to have chrome trimmings around the wheels but my dad GAVE it AWAY! he gave away an amp too...grrr..it used to have a full sound system inside, digital equalizer, tweeter, amp, now only left a pair of 20+ year old 3 way pioneer speakers with ciplak brand digital radio and cassette.the speakers are made in japan lahh..i tidak sampai hati wan buang, sound crack d, but still can listen..haha

wahhh.. u still have the original pioneer speakers in the car :rock: . i dunno what happened to my original speakers coz bought the car second hand. the speakers were pretty lousy. had it changed later.

thanks for d compliments bro, actually d car is repainted d la...it looks as horrible as those contractor datsuns b4 respray. what do u think of a nearly rm2k work+paint for restoring its bodywork? rust holes everywhere :eek: .my car is restored by my dad la not me..haha.i jus drive, btw bro, my car is goin to be sent over to melaka soon.i need the car to go college lah..moving to new place not so near liaw.in melaka i see alot of datsun's which is also very well restored, and mine wont be ruling there liaw.. datsuns are rare items in kuching tho.. :cool:

btw bro, how much does it cost u to install the alarm system plus the central locking ar? i also want to install 1 ler, nonid good alarm system la..more like just wan keyless entry...must make my datsun high tech abit la..keyless entry, central lockin, mp3 player...wahaha. :biggrin:

erm but my 2 rear doors doesnt come with door sensor la. means when the doors are open, there's room lamp wont illuminate and door ajar warning light wont light up. only 2 front doors got. aye, i wonder if thats needed to install keyless entry/alarm system.

my car's sound system aint original la. its aftermarket ones installed by my dad 20+ yrs ago but hasnt been changed ever since except for the player.las time no digital tuner mah..haha.

sam, my horn din break la...u know why? coz the horns on d side arent working at all la, so never press lo...so we only press middle wan. i kinda like the ori steering wheel la..very sporty shape..haha

abubu said:
thanks for d compliments bro, actually d car is repainted d la...it looks as horrible as those contractor datsuns b4 respray. what do u think of a nearly rm2k work+paint for restoring its bodywork? rust holes everywhere :eek: .my car is restored by my dad la not me..haha.i jus drive, btw bro, my car is goin to be sent over to melaka soon.i need the car to go college lah..moving to new place not so near liaw.in melaka i see alot of datsun's which is also very well restored, and mine wont be ruling there liaw.. datsuns are rare items in kuching tho.. :cool:

btw bro, how much does it cost u to install the alarm system plus the central locking ar? i also want to install 1 ler, nonid good alarm system la..more like just wan keyless entry...must make my datsun high tech abit la..keyless entry, central lockin, mp3 player...wahaha. :biggrin:

erm but my 2 rear doors doesnt come with door sensor la. means when the doors are open, there's room lamp wont illuminate and door ajar warning light wont light up. only 2 front doors got. aye, i wonder if thats needed to install keyless entry/alarm system.

my car's sound system aint original la. its aftermarket ones installed by my dad 20+ yrs ago but hasnt been changed ever since except for the player.las time no digital tuner mah..haha.

sam, my horn din break la...u know why? coz the horns on d side arent working at all la, so never press lo...so we only press middle wan. i kinda like the ori steering wheel la..very sporty shape..haha
wow nice...
pic of all your car in good shape lar....

my car is pass to me by my dad one.
so now i take care her lo.. maintenance, insurance, road tax. etc etc....

actually not to said bad shape la.. but always got small things i wish to be perfect.. like the left side passenger air cond... the 'leaf' broken already... the dashboard a bit broken... then the horn button gone....... (last time my dad press side, but me during learn driving use iswara.. so used to press the middle one), leak water, etc etc....

ya.. really agree
the ori steering really sporty~! :D
really like the 'steel' feeling of the steering

and bro the PIONEER speaker really got good sound
mine comes with pioneed cassette player
but wiring all mess up liao cannot use anymore.. :( must find a day to do..

abubu: i think ur paint job is very good lar bro. its worth the amount u paid. ur car really looks nice now. i spent more than 5k on my paint job itself. had everything stripped down into pieces. all the old paints removed till u can see the metal. then start back with undercoat and antirust. did all the welding works for the leaks. took the car almost 4 months before it was back on the road.

bout the alarm, u can go for a moderate one lar. there are even cheap ones that only cost u bout Rm150. but dont think it will last lar. take something with average of rm250-300. just fixed one for my old volvo the other day for rm280. it will auto lock once u turn the ignition key. will also auto arm when u leave the car unlocked for over 1 min. plus, the alarm produces 7 different sound :biggrin: .

for the back door u have to fix the door sensor if u wish to fix the alarm. same applies to the front hood and the bonnet. not sure though how much extra u have to add for this. but its not that expensive.

sam: i miss my old steering lar bro. like u said, it has a really sporty look :biggrin:

volvo: wah rm5 k can buy 2 secondhand datsun leh..ahah. mine already can buy 1. wah i regret din spend more then. why? water still leaks ar! :frown: yesterday i took out the right front seat stripped the right side carpet to get find the right front door sensor wire. the workshop ppl forgot to sambung the wire. and i realised that got rust already below the drivers side carpet. my car was patrially stripped off only while repainting. the engine and front and back windscreen din take out.aih~

bout the alarm, if im not mistaken we need to install the central locking 'gun'/mechanicsm on each door lock which is not cheap...ppl say around rm20 smth for each door. isit included in the price u quote or not? haha

sam: my middle air cond vent oso broken already..just look intact nia but cant adjust air direction up and down liaw. the middle got smth lost already. kenot hold in position. left side air vent also kenot direct air to left and right..spoilt d. haih old car likethat la.

my friends think my datsun steering looks better than new proton steerings. which i find very weird. haha. my steering metal part got rust d lah..LOL

hahahahahhahaha
if giv me chooose between my datsun steering and proton putra steering...
my preference still my steering.. like the 'steel' feeling..

i found the lost horn button today.. hehehe
later post picture here....

me now saving money
hope one day can strip everything up and do spot welding
and also hope someday can do the suspension la.. ( i mean replace)

wanna share with u guys

http://penangtalk.com/nmvccr/posts/722.html

http://penangpage.com/pics/echo18.jpg

A Datsun 120Y immaculately driven by Lee Kwai Leong and faultlessly navigated by Jimmy Yeoh won the Perak Rally 1978 organised by the Royal Perak Motor Club last weekend.

The rally was run over approximately 300 miles of tarmac roads, rubber estates and tin mines and most of the competitors felt that the route set by rally veteran Douglas Choong was "very tough".

In fact when I asked William Mei what he thought of the route, he replied "Douglas Choong is sick!".

The list of entrants for this rally was small but most of the top rally drivers in the country took part and therefore competition was very keen.

Lee Kwai Leong & Jimmy Yeoh were in the winning Datsun 120Y, Phillip Leong & Johnny Deng in a Honda Civic, Croc Tang & YS Khong in a Ford escort, William Mei & Steven Sya in a Mazda RE and Peter Tan & Sam Brownfield in a Toyota Hardtop were among the more notable entrants.

Sidelined were Lim Chong Lai, Cliff Zimsen and Thomas Lim who all had previous important engagements. Yours truly was the Club Steward.

Before the start of the rally it was whispered that the three Honda Civics were extremely fast with one of the most consistent rally drivers, Phillip Leong driving the lead car and the back up was provided by Au Chee Hung.

However, Honda lost the chance of winning the rally outright when the Civic of Phillip Leong & Johnny Deng got lost at the Kinta Kelas Estate but they managed to salvage the team first prize.

The Ford Escort of Croc Tang & YS Khong was said to have the most appropriate gear ratios for this type of rally and it was capable of hitting 100 mph in a rubber estate! This was proved when the Escort set the fastest times in both the special stages.

In the special stage held at the Kamuning Estate near Sungei Siput, Croc Tang equalled the time set by Paddy Hopkirk of Great Britain in the SIA London-Sydney Rally 1977 and Croc was driving for the last 200 yards of the special stage with one flat tyre.

In spite of the fierce competition the Datsun 120Y of Lee Kwai Leong was the eventual winner. Datsuns are rallied round the world and they have chalked up very illustrious wins like the Safari and so their reliability is well proven.

In the hands of good drivers they make formidable foes. Kwai Leong told me that his car went like clockwork and never gave him a moment's anxiety and he should know Datsuns very well as he has been rallying and racing them for the last five years.

By the way, another Datsun, a 160J won the first prize in the 1300-1600 cc class and it was driven by Khor Eng Thye and navigated by Foo Kean Fun.

http://penangpage.com/pics/echo18.jpg
wow.. very cool ~
if i not mistaken inside the pic that is 120y B210
where the rear got leaf spring one..

here... the pictures of my horn button.. :D
even the horn button also got 2 parts.. :) so quality.. i take them apart
so that i can wash it before stick it back...

attach here also a picture of my engine bay....

sam1741 said:
here... the pictures of my horn button.. :D
even the horn button also got 2 parts.. :) so quality.. i take them apart
so that i can wash it before stick it back...

attach here also a picture of my engine bay....

wow cool how did you manage to make such a nice adapater for your
carb :biggrin:

hi...
when that A15 engine come.. so teruk lo.. no air filter...

the 'adaptor' thing and the small rubber at front also comes with the engine
but the air filter (apexi, get from a member here), and the tube after the air filter (buy from hardware shop) also i do myself one.. :)

but not so 'stable' lar the thing.. now 'lye' on the air cond tube there.. :)

hey thanks for the article. really nice to know we r driving a winner..haha. but b210's are generally tougher i think. seen quite a number of them on highways compared 2 b310's. they speed very fast too o. btw, jus wonder how far do u ppl go with your datsun these days ar? bsides bro zyfull who drives from perak to melaka. my car wheels get very hot aft long drive la. can masak egg d. brakes sure not jammed cos already checked with mechanic. alignment is ok..but havent sent for checking. wonder why :rolleyes:

sam: yah our datsun steering got more grip also la...try waja's...no grip at all la! btw, share la pics of ur car body bro...from the engine i see its shouldnt be that bad wad. :biggrin: yeah i agree that the suspension is abit too soft la...but with a few passengers baru it works fine..humm~

volvo850: i just noticed that your brake oil container is different from ours. did u change the brake master pump? u change it for better stopping power or the old 1 spoilt already? my datsun brakes very flimsy wan la..rasa no confident when press wan..haha

hahhahaha
yalo... volvo850, why your brake resevoir looks like new car one? and only got one 'bottle'? i remember original got 2 small 'bottle' right? :) got any effect after changing? share with us la.. :)

my brake also soft soft one... dono lar maybe the rubber tube soft alreeady after all those year...

abobo : yalo.. datsun one more grip.. and originally its kinda 'skinny' :) then my dad go wrap one later become more 'fat' :D

later when have time i post the pic of my white dat... but.. not wash it for sometimes liao.. cause always raining..

my car occationally travel penang island alor setar..
about 2 times in a month i travel.. :) no problem
goes up to 140++ no problem (can go up more la.. but not dare to push.. until the time i upgrade brakepad and get the brake service)

hey guys..

i actually modified my brake pump and fitted the one from proton saga. the mech told me its from the first batch of saga (orion). wonder whats the difference with the new one. ne way, the conversion really helps in making the car stop faster. its way faster than the original one. had to modify it coz the old brakes made me feel worried at high speed. cant really remember how much it cost me coz did it bout 2-3 yrs ago.

i have driven my datsun both to singapore and kedah a few times. my grandparents live there. best part is people in singapore really looked suprised to so see the car still around. probably because its no longer on their road :biggrin:

btw, i tried my datsun yesterday on the highway while coming back from nilai. pushed it max 160kmh. suspension was a little hard and bumpy coz there were only two of us in the car.

wah sam bro.. ur datsun seems quite good lar since u can travel from alor setar to penang frequently. after u wash the car then can post some pics to share :biggrin:

btw, have to agree with u abubu that i really makes me feel proud to know we are driving a winner :tee: