15" rims on a kelisa..

rollin_inc said:
well bro if u decide to use 15" with 175 or 185 for sure gone hit the fender...but u choose 14" no worries.... I'm using 165/50/15..tak kena fender
if u all using 175 or 185...for 14"tyre it will be very very heavy..ask uncle tohsan..he got the experience of using it on the way up to genting

speedmonk said:
i'm also contemplating on whether to change my kelisa wheels to 15's. can i use 175/50/15 or even 185/50/15 instead of the usual 165/50/15?? the wheels that i'm interested to get has a 6.5jj.

apart from the obvious 'fender-touch' once in awhile when carrying heavy loads or even hitting some uneven road surface, is there anything else that i should be worried abt?

sifus please advice...
taikor...for ur statement..do u wan to be like the rally style kelisa ah?
i got one fren using 13" with 185 series of tyre...very very high...he already use bush to jack up the spring and also cut the fender..but still hit the car body when turning into corner and also..on the way up hill...same experience as Uncle tohsan also...cannot hit more then 40km...

Ya thats right big rubber n small rims recepi for snails crawler up Genting,max speed for my kenari is 40 km/h,can see all the lumber truck overtake my car on the way up, and the fuel consumption is a but high too. Cornering time is like floating boat hit by big wave.

Yeo 6009 bro sorry lah i don't have the pic rite now maybe next time...ANyway if using big tyre can make the car heavy ah??? hmmm intersting...And for 14 " they have michelin tyres size 165/55/14...but same size for 15" they don't have....my dad using one for his 17"....dah 3 years and the thread still good...

yes...ur car need to generate extra power to pull the tyre to spin...so it will burn more fuel to make it move..but comfort is there if u use this type of tyre....

rollin_inc said:
Yeo 6009 bro sorry lah i don't have the pic rite now maybe next time...ANyway if using big tyre can make the car heavy ah??? hmmm intersting...And for 14 " they have michelin tyres size 165/55/14...but same size for 15" they don't have....my dad using one for his 17"....dah 3 years and the thread still good...

ya they have the michelin pilot preceda 165-55-14,some fella in K2OC is selling at a bomb price rm260 per piece!:regular_smile:

thanks for all yor expertise...

tohsan - true what u said abt stretching the tires...if i use 165/50/15 it'll surely give uneven wear.

kelisa6009 - abt the rally look...i'm not to fond la. but u have a point. i will definately take it under consideration.

and as for all the lag from heavy tires and a heavier profiled set of wheels...can't do much there unless i fork out mad ringgit for lightweight wheels :sad_smile:

result - after the debate, i guess i'm still opting for the 15's on 175/50/15. shouldn't be a problem, right? just hope the damn wheels don't touch the fenders. anyway, thanks again guys and i'll let u know of the outcome soon.

Bro remember this if u using 17/50/15.... make sure you lower your car with using your stock absorber...if not for sure garanty your rear fender mesti kena punya....wa dah kena dulu.. Anyway all the best bro....do post your rim pic ait...

speedmonk said:
thanks for all yor expertise...

tohsan - true what u said abt stretching the tires...if i use 165/50/15 it'll surely give uneven wear.

kelisa6009 - abt the rally look...i'm not to fond la. but u have a point. i will definately take it under consideration.

and as for all the lag from heavy tires and a heavier profiled set of wheels...can't do much there unless i fork out mad ringgit for lightweight wheels :sad_smile:

result - after the debate, i guess i'm still opting for the 15's on 175/50/15. shouldn't be a problem, right? just hope the damn wheels don't touch the fenders. anyway, thanks again guys and i'll let u know of the outcome soon.

no matter how light the rims also useless if the rubber is too thick n big, that time i was using 185-60-14 on a 5.5"jj Volks racing Ce28 my top speed going up Genting is oni 40km/h, so tell me is there any other kcar rim that is lighter than 2.8kg,please feel free to notify me i am willing to sell my current rims :biggrin:

Anyone using 14" rim with the width of 6 and used 165/55/14 potenza tyre hit the fender?
Currently i'm having this problemon the rear driver side fender only.
Previously i'm using simex tyre, dun have this problem.

Eric18 said:
Anyone using 14" rim with the width of 6 and used 165/55/14 potenza tyre hit the fender?
Currently i'm having this problemon the rear driver side fender only.
Previously i'm using simex tyre, dun have this problem.
i've changed my rims to 15" 6.5jj using 175/50/15 and there's definite touching. stock abs and still touch.

front seems ok except when i make a full left turn. seems to touch the front spash-guard rather than fender.

rear pulak touch the lower control arm or something when i hit uneven road surface and lubangs.

remedy - i suppose adding spacers would help me solving the rears. but the front dunno la...anyone experiencing the same problem??

Taikor..y u wan to put 15”…a lot of problem…if u put bush…ur car stability during corner and high speed not that good….better change small JJ rim or change the rim size

speedmonk said:
i've changed my rims to 15" 6.5jj using 175/50/15 and there's definite touching. stock abs and still touch.

front seems ok except when i make a full left turn. seems to touch the front spash-guard rather than fender.

rear pulak touch the lower control arm or something when i hit uneven road surface and lubangs.

remedy - i suppose adding spacers would help me solving the rears. but the front dunno la...anyone experiencing the same problem??

theres a pc of metal plate just above ur springs behind ... did u cut it ... after cut i think will solve ur problem ... i use 15" lowered b4 and my rim offset is 38 and no problem

danzyyk said:
theres a pc of metal plate just above ur springs behind ... did u cut it ... after cut i think will solve ur problem ... i use 15" lowered b4 and my rim offset is 38 and no problem
Danny taikor….wah long time u MIA liaw….

kelisa6009 said:
Danny taikor….wah long time u MIA liaw….

my office 14 ppl share 1 line ... take me 10 minits to make 1 post or to check 1 mail ... malas to log in la ... anything sms me ... i wanna log out liow