1piece,2piece or 3piece?

can just tumpang thread and ask sth related to Toyota Mark X??? I have a friend looking to change his original Mark X speedometer which is only 180KMH to those above 200KMH one? He do not want to put additional device on the dashboard for "KMH display" but he prefer to change the whole meter in the dashboard.. His opinion, look neat and want to maintain "ori" .... Anyone know where he can get this done ???

I crashed one of my enkei 2 piece rims from japan into a sharp corner of a stupidly-placed manhole covered in grass. The damage is this.... :(

http://images.fotopic.net/yoa68z.jpg

http://images.fotopic.net/yoa6cy.jpg

http://images.fotopic.net/yoa6c1.jpg

Can even see that the shape is not fully round anymore.
http://images.fotopic.net/yoa6c2.jpg

I crashed one of my enkei 2 piece rims from japan into a sharp corner of a stupidly-placed manhole covered in grass. The damage is this.... :(

Can even see that the shape is not fully round anymore.
That is what happens to an Enkei rim, if it was JRD.. gone case lah.. it will bengkok till become like a tongue..

If you could really dig deeper into the internet with combination of old racing books, you can find that 2/3 piece wheels are actually used to facilitate repairs and wheel tuning.

Long time ago wheel sections are made of different materials. Lets just say alloy for core/spokes and stainless steel or aluminum for rims. Or the other way around. To the normal layman it just fancy metal for wheels. But to those who race and spend a lot of time balancing wheels would know why. (Not me la!)

Last time in the 70/80s', if you have magnesium wheels, it was waaay expensive. So they used different types of metal for the rims. If they dent it, they can just change it. Whats more, the outer and inner rims can be changed in size and the offset of the wheels can be changed. This one modern people don't play anymore simply because of cost. And there are no special shops that want to make this rims anymore.

Nowdays if the wheel is 3 piece, it is made of same type of metal. the cost expensive because of manufacturing process, exotic metals and brand desirebility. And its justs a direct one way modification. and not mind boggling compared to last time. But this is only true to racing community and not the general car moder.

The items posted about PIAA wheels is good. but only to the person intending to pay money for brand. If by any chance you approach them with customizable / tunable wheels, be prepared to pay F1 prices.

3 piece wheels are no better or worse than 1 piece or 2 piece wheels. Since we dwelve in the market of halfcut and used items, we don't have accurate tech nor history of the wheels in used. It is most possible the rims are damaged and was replaced with a new local custom made ones (low cost solution) in Japan and shipped here.

So does this answer your question?

tajulsans,
This rim is from japan cos inside the rims, it's engraved "made in japan" but really, it could be malaysians working in japan doing it. hahaha just joking. I've yet to find a trustworthy rim repair shop to fix up my rims. sigh...

no rims are invincible... but taiwanese rims are more prone to bent compared to japanese rims... but JRD and BSA are champions of bents... so it's highly dependant on yr style of driving.. I have 2 piece rims... bengkok once u hit potholes (i hit it at 130km/h) ... so considered ok laa... i got another set of 1 piece rim.. ORIGINAL M5 rims... hit pothole at 100km/h also bent... but both of which can be repaired at RM50.00 @ sunway ... so considered 'still ok!'... i've got a friend who used BSA 16"... hit a small pothole in Old Klang road... 60km/h.. d inside torn to shreds like paper... champion!

hehehe... rite, both are champion!! btw BH wat rim on ur supra?? damn deep.. think i can sit inside lol..

but outer parts of 2/3 pcs quite 'soft', don't think the material was same wit wheel base n inner part.. my fren got bent his 2pcs Advan Super 16" (outer parts) hitting pothole many times n it was easy to repair..