3S-FE,GE,GTE Discussion/Gathering

Nope, I'm not using Celica's 4 pot, too expensive. I'm only using Skyline R32's. I think you should upgrade your brakes lar, bro. It's for safety sake. I think you'll feel a big difference when braking hard at higher speeds, it really slows down much faster than a single pot. I was also initially using a single pot from the Celica. Now I've tranfered the single pot to my wife's BT. I'm going to upgrade it again; to the twin pot from the ST202 coz the BT being auto trans, uses brake more.:biggrin: Safety first.

My BEAMS' red top.

u convert the R32 4pot with the disc? how much u done it??? i heard that R32 4pot brake pad quite expensive woh...

In that case, I'll pass on this coz I'm looking for ventilated ones. Thanks for replying, bro Toyo. If you happen to come across ventilated ones, pls inform, k. Thanks.

I'm not using the R32 disc coz the it's only 320 mm (if I remember correctly), I'm greedy, so I bought a new pair of Brembo discs, you know those meant for BMW or Merc. It's also slightly (I think about 2 mm) thicker & the diameter is also slightly bigger, at 330 mm. The ori pads were Tokico & they're good but I couldn't find any around here. So I bought Endless for about RM 360. Then now I'm trying out Bendix, Rm 280.

wow R32 4pot with Brembo disc!!! out of my budget!!! :hmmmm:

Anyone knows what's the difference between a red top

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Beamscelica2.jpg

and a black top BEAMS ?

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/bdf2_1.jpg

I know where the red top comes from but I've no knowledge on the black top, meaning the spec, which model of Toyota & soforth. :hmmmm: I heard that the BT comes from a RAV4 but no idea if it's true. On the contrary, some say that the BT is more powerful than the red.

So I'd appreciate if any light could be shed on this mysterious BT. This BT is definately not the Altezza model with Dual VVT-i.

Bro, ST202 twin port can PnP to Levin 111?

anyone hv twin port front PnP to Levin 111 please pm me,im looking for 1.

202R...
BEAMers dont called it as BLACKTOP... they refer it as GREYTOP... it is EXACTLY the same as REDTOP... only different is it has GREY colour plastic engine cover and GREY colour intake manifold...

tuning of REDTOP and GREYTOP might be different depend on what type of chassis it dump into... if in SUV... mean it has slightly more torque but less hp... if in ST202 celica SSIII... mean it has slightly more hp but less torque... it is just like those xJZGTE u found in different chassis...

BEAMers refer BLACKTOP is always point to the SXE10 3SGE...

tC...
yes... all toyota FF calibres within it's own categories r swappable... no mod required... ur main concern is the disc size... if ur ori disc is small... u replaced it with larger diameter disc... then u might need to fabricate an adapter for ur calibres...

my car is on sales now!!! :biggrin:

202R...
BEAMers dont called it as BLACKTOP... they refer it as GREYTOP... it is EXACTLY the same as REDTOP... only different is it has GREY colour plastic engine cover and GREY colour intake manifold...

tuning of REDTOP and GREYTOP might be different depend on what type of chassis it dump into... if in SUV... mean it has slightly more torque but less hp... if in ST202 celica SSIII... mean it has slightly more hp but less torque... it is just like those xJZGTE u found in different chassis...

BEAMers refer BLACKTOP is always point to the SXE10 3SGE...

Thanks very much for the explanation, sifu.

my car is on sales now!!! :biggrin:

Are you serious ? Why are you selling your car, sifu ? :confused: What's next ? :hmmmm:

mi aint sifu... YAP is the MASTER!!! :adore:

yea... on sell... :stupid:
wanna get 4 doors vip sadan... :proud:
OLD ppl liao mar... :bawling:
2 doors coupe is not so convenience... :mad:
if u hav frenz interested... let mi know... :love:

how much u wanna let go???

it depends on whether u want a new paint or not?! :biggrin:
i dont wanna paint my car now coz i can show that my car's body is in good condition... no big bang nor small bang theory at all!!! :proud:

anyone interested juz let mi know...

Hi everybody , long time didn't check the thread , surprise to see thread
still very active !!:proud:

Bro GT4 Kevin , where are the picture we took in Fraser Hill ?

2O2R , great to hear you bought a beam half cut , it is a nice engine,
be sure you use back the same gear box from the half cut , it is a
close ration GB , you will get a better pick up and great fun to rev .

yoo, brother yap~!

the pictures is up and running on the TUV forum, lolz
http://ultraviolet.theiforum.com/15-09-07-fraser-hill-convoy-t167.html

I'll be buying the CD's this weekend, hopefully everything works well.

Cheers

Hi everybody , long time didn't check the thread , surprise to see thread
still very active !!:proud:

Bro GT4 Kevin , where are the picture we took in Fraser Hill ?

2O2R , great to hear you bought a beam half cut , it is a nice engine,
be sure you use back the same gear box from the half cut , it is a
close ration GB , you will get a better pick up and great fun to rev .

Good to hear from you again, bro Yap .Thanks for the kind compliments & advise, appreciate it.:biggrin:

Bro Kanazai2001,

Have you changed the timing belt on your BEAMS before ? How much did it cost you ? :hmmmm: I just found out that the original Toyota timing belt set; meaning incld. timing bearing, oil seal etc. costs about RM 700+ wor ! The timing belt is 4 teeth shorter than my present 3S-GE; it's not the same. The timing bearing's also different. Didn't expect it to be much more expensive than my present engine's.

Bro Kanazai2001,

Have you changed the timing belt on your BEAMS before ? How much did it cost you ? :hmmmm: I just found out that the original Toyota timing belt set; meaning incld. timing bearing, oil seal etc. costs about RM 700+ wor ! The timing belt is 4 teeth shorter than my present 3S-GE; it's not the same. The timing bearing's also different. Didn't expect it to be much more expensive than my present engine's.

sorry... late reply...

i have changed my timing belt together with other 2 or 3 external belts...
i changed 1 bearing... use back the ori tensioner since it is in god damn good condition... use back the water pump also... it is only cost me bout 4xx (couldnt recalled how much exactly)... i even use back the plugs... :biggrin:

what do u mean ur timing belt has 4 teeth shorter?! :confused: :hmmmm: im using the standard 3SGE timinng belt... is same with the redtop... i use the standard 3S non-turbo oil filter as well... everything keep standard n simple... :smokin: coz im lazy... :flute:

what do u mean ur timing belt has 4 teeth shorter?! :confused: :hmmmm: im using the standard 3SGE timinng belt... is same with the redtop...

I don't have the timing belt's code with me right now. I'll get it from my mechanic tomorrow but I can sure confirm that they're different in length coz the BEAMS cylinder head is actually smaller than the 165 ps 3S-GE that I'm using now. The distance between the 2 cam pulleys are also closer in between than my present which explains why its timing belt's 4 teeth less.

So there's no way you could be using the same timing belt, maybe you've forgotten leh....Hehehe.

The BEAMS cylinder head is also shorter than the ST 202's 180 ps coz I bought an extractor for the ST202 & it couldn't fit the BEAMS !:mad::banghead:

The extractor's 3rd & 4th piping is too far away from the ports, which means that the BEAMS' head is shorter / smaller.

All in all, there're now 4 units of 3S engines in the workshop. My present engine = 165 ps NA, BEAMS, 1 MR2 245 ps GTE & 1 ST205 GTE. I believe the 245 & 255 GTEs have same timing belts, which is also different in length with the 2 units of GEs.

Hehehe...which is a good chance for me to learn more about the different models of the 3S engines.

warh... so many engine in the workshop, bro

where's this place located exactly, i go sapu all back
lolz jokes~~~

all the best on your transplant!

warh... so many engine in the workshop, bro

where's this place located exactly, i go sapu all back
lolz jokes~~~

all the best on your transplant!

Thanks, bro.

:laugh: I think it's quite impressive for a small shop & a small town. Alan (Toms) was here last Saturday to deliver the 255 engine. I think he'd be quite shocked to see the workshop actually repairs bikes as well.:ahhhhh:The elder brother repairs bikes & the younger brother repairs the cars.:flute:

Below are some pix to illustrate what I was talking about regarding the differences in the 3S family:

1. This the BEAMS cam pulleys. You'll notice that the cam pulleys are rather close to each other... as compared to the ST205's in the pix below.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image232.jpg

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image235.jpg

The BEAMS timing belt code is 174Y25, the ST 205's 177Y25 & ST183's 178Y25. I was told that the first 3 digits indicate the number of teeth & the Y25 indicates the width of the belt.

The ST205 & ST183 has only one tooth difference in length but the BEAMS' 4 teeth shorter. The reason should be the that the cam pulleys are closer to each other.

The exhaust ports are also different on the BEAMS & the ST 202/3's 180 ps model. The distance between the 3rd & 4th exhaust ports are unevenly spaced with the the 1st & 2nd ports. Look closely...

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image236.jpg

This is the cylinder head of the ST205 but the extractor from the ST202/3 below fits right on, meaning the exhaust ports on the 180 ps ST202/3 is exactly the same.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image237.jpg

And below is the pix of the BEAMS extractor showing that it has an equal distance between the 3rd & 4th exhaust ports.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/Image240.jpg