4AGE bhp figures from dyno

oo i see.. i confused coz some ppl said if your engine is healthy enough, you can get 140++hp with stock engine..:rolleyes:

er... not really sure leh.. coz as 2o2r said, different machine produce diff figure.. the best way is to drag or to drive each others' car.. hehehe..

Stock BT cant get 140hp bro... more like 125-135hp on dyno, depending on dyno machine and engine condition.

Today I went to dyno at Trial Tuning and it showed 138HP and 15.3 for torque. So is this a good number? All stock except HKS Super Flow Intake, they said this made the power drop because it messed up the AFR? They also said my twin muffler is too restrictive?

Good stuff.... wah bro, u came to Trial all da way from Taiping?
138hp is quite good already for stock BT... In fact, I think the engine is not totally stock (maybe modded in Japan itself?)
Is it yours 5spd or 6spd?
I've personally witnessed a bone stock BT 5spd only crunching out 133hp at Trial, so there must be a reason why you're getting 5hp more ;)
Yup, twin muffler is quite restrictive.... straight flow it!

Good stuff.... wah bro, u came to Trial all da way from Taiping?
138hp is quite good already for stock BT... In fact, I think the engine is not totally stock (maybe modded in Japan itself?)
Is it yours 5spd or 6spd?
I've personally witnessed a bone stock BT 5spd only crunching out 133hp at Trial, so there must be a reason why you're getting 5hp more ;)
Yup, twin muffler is quite restrictive.... straight flow it!

It can be stock also. I personally witness 14xwhp on a SVT too.

140whp on stock SVT?? For real? :adore:

Mine is a 6 speed. I am currently in studying in Cheras thats why I went to Trial. My engine looks stock. I got the halfcut for RM5k after all. I just transplanted less than 2 months ago

• 01072009180.jpg
    01072009180.jpg
    74.5 KB · Views: 180
all this very headache issue, bcoz cannot compare straightaway from 1 dyno machine (brand) to another. cannot also simply say this dyno or that dyno inaccurate haha. wanna go to many different dyno machine pulak, no money :bawling:

as for me, i went to a Dastek machine. weird la how they extrapolate FHP from WHP, but i dunno shit oso cannot talk much. the operator said can even know the % transmission loss for each car & not all cars lose the same % of hp via transmission. by this point my brain wanto shut down oledy wahaha :sleep:

Info:
BT head, skimmed 0.5mm
Stock gasket
SVT block, SVT pistons, SVT conrods, SVT crankshaft untouched
Stock cables + BRISK spark plugs
C52 SVT non-LSD; dyno ran on 4th gear
BT flywheel machined to 5.5kg

Peak HP (flywheel - extrapolated): 151.7 @ 7000rpm
Dyno guy told me my car in particular had 20% transmission loss. i forgot to write down the actual WHP but i was told its 130~ish on wheel.

BHPJun09.jpg

Peak Torque: 174.7Nm @ 5500rpm

TorqueJun09.jpg

very sorry for the blur pics, its the best i could get from my phone camera. :bawling:

an interesting argument between me & my mech ensued after the session. i thought that if i had dynoed with my previous full BT bottom end, id get more happy results. my mech however, pointed out that the lightened nature of BT conrods could lead to less peak & overall torque. issue is still unresolved till now. any thoughts?

all this very headache issue, bcoz cannot compare straightaway from 1 dyno machine (brand) to another. cannot also simply say this dyno or that dyno inaccurate haha. wanna go to many different dyno machine pulak, no money :bawling:

as for me, i went to a Dastek machine. weird la how they extrapolate FHP from WHP, but i dunno shit oso cannot talk much. the operator said can even know the % transmission loss for each car & not all cars lose the same % of hp via transmission. by this point my brain wanto shut down oledy wahaha :sleep:

Info:
BT head, skimmed 0.5mm
Stock gasket
SVT block, SVT pistons, SVT conrods, SVT crankshaft untouched
Stock cables + BRISK spark plugs
C52 SVT non-LSD; dyno ran on 4th gear
BT flywheel machined to 5.5kg

Peak HP (flywheel - extrapolated): 151.7 @ 7000rpm
Dyno guy told me my car in particular had 20% transmission loss. i forgot to write down the actual WHP but i was told its 130~ish on wheel.

BHPJun09.jpg

Peak Torque: 174.7Nm @ 5500rpm

TorqueJun09.jpg

very sorry for the blur pics, its the best i could get from my phone camera. :bawling:

an interesting argument between me & my mech ensued after the session. i thought that if i had dynoed with my previous full BT bottom end, id get more happy results. my mech however, pointed out that the lightened nature of BT conrods could lead to less peak & overall torque. issue is still unresolved till now. any thoughts?

I tried both the same day with 2 types of cars. Run it this way, one 4G93T with 20V. Noon, tried the Dynojet. Rest another 3 hours, go for Dynamometer and test. I got a factor of 1.179 sharp as the ratio.

Assumption the 145whp on Dynojet, it will multiply by 1.179 thus it is 171 horsie on Dynamometer

on the reverse, 171 horsie on Dynamometer, it will divide by 1.179 thus it is 145whp on Dynojet

Don't believe right? Give it a try and see what you got :wavey:

I tried both the same day with 2 types of cars. Run it this way, one 4G93T with 20V. Noon, tried the Dynojet. Rest another 3 hours, go for Dynamometer and test. I got a factor of 1.179 sharp as the ratio.

Assumption the 145whp on Dynojet, it will multiply by 1.179 thus it is 171 horsie on Dynamometer

on the reverse, 171 horsie on Dynamometer, it will divide by 1.179 thus it is 145whp on Dynojet

Don't believe right? Give it a try and see what you got :wavey:

ill take ur word for it bro, imma stick with the machine that prints out bigger numbers wahahaha wanna get dumb gratification :biggrin: :rofl: :rofl:

besides, for testing the mods on our own cars its better to just stick to the same dyno. choosing the one which prints out larger digits is just my 10year old mind's instinct LOL. i wont & have no intention of dissing any other dyno machines. just as long as owner him/herself is happy, enuff rite? :rofl:

thx for the enlightening test comparison info. good to know. happy driving! :driver:

wah.. stock to the bone? or with flywheel, extractor piping, intake....??

Stock BT extractor got more horsie / peak torque than any aftermarket if your configuration is stock to the bone.

Flywheel / lighten pulley help in response and doesn't increase in horse or torque. Dyno-ed and the result is 00.xx difference only.

Anyway, it is just numbers only right ? The last final peak horsie is not important. It is the mid range to high is very important because we use the most time to wait on this part. I can light up cigarette while waiting :smokin: for the RPM to reach the peak b4 a shift.. Imagine the sluggishness of my gears.

Lolx

Stock BT extractor got more horsie / peak torque than any aftermarket if your configuration is stock to the bone.

Flywheel / lighten pulley help in response and doesn't increase in horse or torque. Dyno-ed and the result is 00.xx difference only.

Anyway, it is just numbers only right ? The last final peak horsie is not important. It is the mid range to high is very important because we use the most time to wait on this part. I can light up cigarette while waiting :smokin: for the RPM to reach the peak b4 a shift.. Imagine the sluggishness of my gears.

Lolx
Bro, so are you saying that bone stock BT with BT stock extractor outputs more hp / peak trq than any aftermarket extractor (HKS/FGK/Apexi/etc)? So using aftermarket extractor on bone stock BT will cause power loss?

I also thought that lightened flywheel (Toda) and lightweight crank pulley will free up hp&trq which will result in more power on dyno. Yes, it will not increase hp/trq but it will free up some due to less weight on flywheel and less rotational weight on LCP.

Yup, its the mid range power that's important but this is the first time I'm seeing a stock SVT hitting 145hp. Besides, we all love the 20v for its high RPM output, don't we?
FYI, a fully modded SVT (with AFM, cams, pistons, ECU+piggyback,FPR) only managed to hit 150hp at Trial. So I'm really curious about getting 145hp on a stock SVT. Maybe you can share your secret recipe with us all.

Bro, so are you saying that bone stock BT with BT stock extractor outputs more hp / peak trq than any aftermarket extractor (HKS/FGK/Apexi/etc)? So using aftermarket extractor on bone stock BT will cause power loss?

Yes, this is firm for stock to the bone by just changing the extrator only. I don't have the chance to test the brand above, the one i'm comparing is the Cusco Bola 4-1.

Yup, its the mid range power that's important but this is the first time I'm seeing a stock SVT hitting 145hp. Besides, we all love the 20v for its high RPM output, don't we? FYI, a fully modded SVT (with AFM, cams, pistons, ECU+piggyback,FPR) only managed to hit 150hp at Trial. So I'm really curious about getting 145hp on a stock SVT. Maybe you can share your secret recipe with us all.

Hardly to get people believe it. On the dyno database, there is other 20v run there too. Stack it and it is real for sure. Lolx .. On the chart, note that there is 2 graph there. Before and after. That was only adjustment on the Fuel Regulator. The horse run up like a scramble boost on it's legs.

Well, when i say stock it is only the Engine. Hope i didn't mislead anyone. Here is what i can share.

Before the chart attached,
Stock SVT, with AFM still and stock SVT ECU, and the rest stock to the bone except Cap Kakimotor big exausht come by 135whp (with C56 gearbox)

After
Stock SVT, with Map and stock SVT wiring + BT's ECU, Fuel Regulator (still 135whp) but super choking effect for opening the throttles :banghead:

Turn turn the Regulator, magic happens. That is the before and after the attached picture. A big surprise. :driver:

Current,
Still break in condition, and will share up if it is a successful story.

Note for you guys, C160 gearbox doesn't change anything on the dyno as well.

So your SVT is actually on open trumpet?

Bump: So your SVT is actually on open trumpet?

Yes, this is firm for stock to the bone by just changing the extrator only. I don't have the chance to test the brand above, the one i'm comparing is the Cusco Bola 4-1...

After
Stock SVT, with Map and stock SVT wiring + BT's ECU, Fuel Regulator (still 135whp) but super choking effect for opening the throttles :banghead:

Turn turn the Regulator, magic happens. That is the before and after the attached picture. A big surprise. :driver:

Current,
Still break in condition, and will share up if it is a successful story.

Note for you guys, C160 gearbox doesn't change anything on the dyno as well.
I do quite agree on the Cusco P-ball, but shouldn't all other aftermarket extractor bring up the power a bit on a stock BT? In fact, most engines does show some improvement upon installing aftermarket header.... so I'm a little confused now.

Wow... you gained 11hp by just setting the FPR? Mind sharing which brand of FPR are you using and also the fuel press w/ & w/o vacuum. UGPM!