4G93T Or Mivec 1.8

zero_kool said:
well, i hv sat/tested a number of mivecs....range 1.6 -1.8. silver tops...black tops....hybrids....it's nothing like gsr......so...i MAY not be one of the experts here but if u are talking about FAMILIARITY with mivec....well...i guess i just explained myself....
no hard feelings tho...

sorry bro...pls accpet my apologise...having a bad day recently...sorry...

back to the question, depends on wat u want...u want N/A feel or turbo feel? try test drive ur friends car first then only decide lor...

HyperRevved 6313 said:
Cannot say like that lar bro .... It depends on Yak whether he wants to play n/a or turbo category lor . If u say choose GSR which is under turbo category , do ur maximum modification u can't even beat an EVO engine that has done wit mod of high cam and cam pully. Maintanence for GSR turbo engine is defenatly higher den mivec engine . Mivec 1.8 wit oversize piston can even beat GSR with TD-04 TURBO !

Precisely what I was trying to say loh... depends on whether he wanna play n/a or turbo. GSR is one of the slower turbos around... where as 1.8mivecs u'll be one of the fastest n/as around town loh. 1.8mivecs still got chance at beating the slower turbos... GSR u play with mivec/vtec of what ever n/a also ppl say u turbo bully n/a... if u play back wit ur own turbo category, u can probably only look for pther GSRs and 4G61T or B6 to play back only... if u look for VR4, EVO, B8s... its a death wish.

Then again it probably depends on who has the deeper pocket.

now MIVEC TURBO is possible :D look at EVO9 .. yahoo! I'll wait for another 12yrs b4 i could get my hands on them... lol ... cheers mate... do whichever u think suits your driving spirit... there isn't any bad choices really... it's a passion!

alvin24 said:
Precisely what I was trying to say loh... depends on whether he wanna play n/a or turbo. GSR is one of the slower turbos around... where as 1.8mivecs u'll be one of the fastest n/as around town loh. 1.8mivecs still got chance at beating the slower turbos... GSR u play with mivec/vtec of what ever n/a also ppl say u turbo bully n/a... if u play back wit ur own turbo category, u can probably only look for pther GSRs and 4G61T or B6 to play back only... if u look for VR4, EVO, B8s... its a death wish.

GSR win Mivec 1.8 precentage will be higher .... but if u're saying vtec engine B18C can easily makan GSR like makan vegetable ....

HyperRevved 6313 said:
GSR win Mivec 1.8 precentage will be higher .... but if u're saying vtec engine B18C can easily makan GSR like makan vegetable ....

agreed.

turbo----drag/straight roads
n/a-------corners

n/a easier to control than turbo in corners. it's speed in the corners can make up for it's loss on the straight road.

Just my opinion.:)

ya, mayb u r turbo category but when the time u kena sapu (VTEC N/A) really really embrassing!!

guys,
my personal opinion eventhough have been with a turbo engine for the past 8 yrs,
I LOVE the sound of mivec/vtec when the rpm hit high. You won't get that kind of
feeling with turbo engine as everything is so fast :) but there are pros and cons.
It comes to what you prefered and your $$$

Well... either way u go... u won't be wrong lar. Different people got different opinions. Go with which suits u best. I also played both n/a and turbo before... now, i'm converting back n/a... drivability is better, and when u play track... n/a is definitely faster out of corners... then again, of course depends on how big the hp difference is lar.

If u play 150hp 1.8mivec vs on 180hp GSR... 30hp difference... on drag GSR will probably win... on track, i think the mivec can surely take on the GSR.

When it comes to 1.8 Mivec turbos... most of them can match up an evo's performance... but reliability wise, better get ready to spend... BIGTIME!

sorry i haven't read all the posts in this topic jus the 1st few but in my opinion since ur driving a 1.5 wira i think u should go straight for a 2.0 litre 4g63 turbo engine man... either a VR4 if ur budget's a bit on the tight side or evo engine la. i know ur worried about JPJ issues but u can PM me if u need some help on that, last week 2 friends of mine converted their 1.3 satrias to vr4 rs engines, JPJ approved, but they did it thru their workshop which is somewhere in gombak la. one of 'em told me he spent thousand plus RM for the inspection 2 green light his car... so i'm sure if they can get it approved, so can u...

in my opinion, its way tougher 2 get the cc upgrades approved, but i think the half-litre (500cc) jump is still possible - jus need the right connection and some cash, right timing i suppose too... jus my 2 cents, basically on what i would do if i was in ur position...

either option be prepared to save at least RM10k for your transplant and problem solving process, probably a bit more if you're thinking of a 1.8 mivec due to the complications. Theare are bound to be gremlins that appear later.

1.8 mivec =
1.6 mivec halfcut (approx 5.5k)
1.8 4G93 head (approx 0.5k)
Transplant cost = RM1500
Replacement of worn parts, new timing belt, jpj approval cost (RM1000-2000)
Piggyback ecu to control opening of mivec (RM500-2000)

1.8 gsr turbo =
1.8 4G93T halfcut (approx 5.5k)
Transplant cost = RM1500
Replacement of worn parts, new timing belt, jpj approva (RM1000-2000)

another option you have is :-

use the 10k + trade in your car as a downpayment for an actual sports car eg. Evo 3/4, Subaru or RX7.

Both 1.8 mivec and 4G93T (GSR turbo). have their pros and cons. A proton with a 4G93T isn't hard to control during corners once u've gotten a hang of it, of course it'll be helpful if you get a decent set of tyres eg. AD07 and suspension.

Hmm banyaknye idea menarik korang kasi...Sory geng, tgh busyle... hectic work load. Korang bile ade buat gathering yek???
nak join sekalile..

can u share wit me the piston ring, piston bearing u are using? did u change your piston? if yes what piston u are using? what injector u are using? your block is sohc or dohc?

i am also using 1.8 mivec, sohc block, changed to adj. cam pulley, thats all. i bought the complete engine with wiring and com. without the g/b. i use the mivec head, wiring and the brain only. like i said before only change to adj. cam pulley.

the problem i think is not enough fuel coz i feel that when the rpm is around 8k, the car wont go anymore. but sometimes the rsm shows the highest rev is 11k plus. when i first take the car the power is good but now, sigh... can the sifus help me here? thanks a lot..........

alvin24 said:

Alvin this is good 1 i totally agree with u on this.. Make sence is real life...

Well Yak_95 i got a story to shared with u. Dun ever believe to those people who do not own that engine currently or before. I tell u 1 thing they know nothing about the engine if they dun own it.. How much they about the engine ? Can they feel it ? do they drive daily 365 days a year ?do they get real experience ? maybe seat at friends car or drive once a while ? Do they know much about maintainese of the engine ? Wat is the best oil for the engine ?? 10 litre can go how much KM ? What modification needed ? Sympton of the engine if problem come ?

3 months back i was like u that time i wanna change my car i was driving a mivec head + 1.8 block. I was getting information about BMW !! You know wat ? Out of 10 people i asked there is 8 people tell me nononon u will regret bro trust me !! haahah Wat a joke and those 8 people never own a BMW before said expensive oh maintainese fuel consumption damn high oh!! The balance of 2 people said yes go for a BMW u will love it, and 2 of them are driving BMW more than 2-3 years.. End of the day i bough myself a 2nd hand BMW and i have never regret ... If u dun drive it u will never know !!

Conclusion is go test on it and u decide for urself GSR or mivec is 2 different category car in terms of everything...1 more thing if u car is fast with alot modification = maintainese high..

Gsr cant have the mivec engine sound
Mivec cant have the gsr torque and force induction !!

Hope you guys enjoy reading if is sucks let me know HAHAHA

Changed to 4G93 block

Dear All,

I just changed my 4G92 MIVEC block to 4G93 PUTRA block last 2 weeks. Result, WOW, memang best. Cost: +/- RM 1800. Injector, changed to EVO3 injector, installation and re-setting. So far so good. No need any RSM, piggy back, or other controller for my engine. Just like you drive an NA 4G92 MIVEC but with very powerful engine.....

ZAM

ZamS said:
Dear All,

I just changed my 4G92 MIVEC block to 4G93 PUTRA block last 2 weeks. Result, WOW, memang best. Cost: +/- RM 1800. Injector, changed to EVO3 injector, installation and re-setting. So far so good. No need any RSM, piggy back, or other controller for my engine. Just like you drive an NA 4G92 MIVEC but with very powerful engine.....

ZAM

Hie Zam .....

Did u change ur piston also ? Erm i don think u need such big c.c injector for mivec engine unless u've change ur piston .....

It doesn't take larger pistons to acquire higher flow injectors. The rule of the thumb to keep the injectors not working more than 80% of what their capable of. Besides there is already a 200cc increase from the longer stroke of the 4g93p. Bigger higher flow injectors provides a constant and sufficient fuel to the combustion chambers. Changing pistons have not much to do with it.