A31 steering wobbles

CT_

I just did an engine transplant on my A31 to rb20det. Change the brake to r32 4pot caliper. I have to install spacer as my 17" rim is rubbing the caliper. I can see the brake disk is abit worn out. got ppl say i need to sent the brake disk for scrubbing to even back the disk surface.

The problem now, when i drive more 90km/h, the steering sheel will start to wobble like no body business. I have to use to hand to keep it in control. Any sifu here can tell me what is tha main cause? What I need to replace here?
1. change the brake disk
2. change the rim due to spacer?, currently is using 17" offset 42. any idea, what is ideal rim offset?

I got this problem before, the tyre balancing is the problem, once I did tyre balancing, it's smooth as hell. If this doesn't work, tell the tyre shop to check your tyres as well, maybe your tyres are a bit worn out and gonna blow (tried that once, while I'm running 180kmph, using second hand tyres, I'm damn lucky didn't die)!!! and lastly check your spacers, I recommend you buy sports rims that have smaller offsets so you don't need to put spacers for the rims, I'm using 16" offset 32 rims, still got some space between the calipers and the rim...

The vibration is most likely the cause of your rims, unles when you apply the brakes and the steering wheel wobbles alot...that would mean the discs are warped.
Go to a good tyre shop and get them to balance the wheels and check the rims if they are out of shape. If you want perfect balancing then find a shop that does on-wheel balancing...this is where they dont remove your wheels...the balancing is done with the wheels on...it is more accurate.

Also you might as wheel skim the brake discs, it doesnt cost much...just get your mech to send to machine shop...

a31gtst,

Could u recommend a good tyre shop that does on wheel balancing
coz been dying to do but dunno which shop is da best......

Thxs man..

I guess the problem should be my rim. I have done balancing and alignment a few time. Still the same. What is the best offset rim for A31 with r32 4pot caliper?

depends, it's easy to get offset below 32 if you are using 17" rims, so it's not a problem. offset 32 is only 'ngam ngam' for the calipers, u won't need to put spacers for more space anymore.