Achilles ATR Sport

PP2 is asymmetric not symmetric, same as XM2.....:driver:
Usually block pattern tend to be more noisy when uneven wear sets in. Connecting pattern seldom wear uneven so they can be less noisy
symmetric pattern you can fit any way you want...:smokin:

Oh Ya, Asymmetrical. See wrongly. haha!

http://www.tyrereviews.co.uk/images/tyres/PilotPreceda2.jpg

---------- Post added at 09:42 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:41 AM ----------

Er, what is directional pattern? I understand that asymmetric means that the inner and outer side of the tyre have different thread pattern.

U see ATR Sports pattern then u will know what is directional. Only towards one direction.
That is why more common to be noisy when thread wears uneven like what sifu Vr2 said.

But directional better in wet.

---------- Post added at 09:42 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:41 AM ----------

U see ATR Sports pattern then u will know what is directional. Only towards one direction.
That is why more common to be noisy when thread wears uneven like what sifu Vr2 said.

Ah, now I kinda understand what is directional already. The threads are like pointing down towards a single direction right? Like an arrow pointing downwards.

Anyway, I can't really understand why uneven thread wears will make road noise noisy? Any easy to understand scientific reasons?

Suppose to be but nowadays technology advanced dy. More to compound and grooves. Asy can also have wide deep grooves nowadays...:driver:

---------- Post added at 01:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:18 PM ----------

Ah, now I kinda understand what is directional already. The threads are like pointing down towards a single direction right? Like an arrow pointing downwards.

Anyway, I can't really understand why uneven thread wears will make road noise noisy? Any easy to understand scientific reasons?

Even asy pattern or sym pattern if wear uneven will be noisy. Uneven time the contact with the road is on and off and make the tyre jump

Suppose to be but nowadays technology advanced dy. More to compound and grooves. Asy can also have wide deep grooves nowadays...:driver:

---------- Post added at 01:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 01:18 PM ----------

Even asy pattern or sym pattern if wear uneven will be noisy. Uneven time the contact with the road is on and off and make the tyre jump

I see now... Thanks for the explanation.

BTW, anyone here know the threadwear rating for ATR Sport? Also, ATR Sport is categorized as what type of tyres?

How about Bridgestone EP200?

Entry level Eco tyres....:driver:

---------- Post added at 07:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:34 PM ----------

Threadwear is 400. Traction AA. UHP tyres xD

Achilles UHP, but against branded not sure where they stand?....:confused:

Entry level Eco tyres....:driver:

---------- Post added at 07:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:34 PM ----------

Achilles UHP, but against branded not sure where they stand?....:confused:

So they rate as UHP is base on what to categorised it as UHP? I mean if they are difference with branded ones like Michelin or etcs?

For me the grip is real good despite my massive car body roll...Even on wet.

So they rate as UHP is base on what to categorised it as UHP? I mean if they are difference with branded ones like Michelin or etcs?

For me the grip is real good despite my massive car body roll...Even on wet.

Well, tyre owner can categorize according to their own status, meaning they will have from entry to UHP, but when match against another brand may not be up to the other brand status.
Just as bro. pomen mentioned, he has not tried other UHP tyres from Branded brands, so he do not have guide line where his ATR Sports stands, that is why he ask me to test as I have used Toyo T1-R, GY Asy, Asy2, GT HPY, S-Drives, Blue Streak before so can gauge better where it stands.....:biggrin:

Well, tyre owner can categorize according to their own status, meaning they will have from entry to UHP, but when match against another brand may not be up to the other brand status.
Just as bro. pomen mentioned, he has not tried other UHP tyres from Branded brands, so he do not have guide line where his ATR Sports stands, that is why he ask me to test as I have used Toyo T1-R, GY Asy, Asy2, GT HPY, S-Drives, Blue Streak before so can gauge better where it stands.....:biggrin:

Maybe wait till Izso changed to ATR Sports 2 then he can compare the grip with Asy 2.
Didnt know blue streak is also UHP and yet your car used not ngam cuz wheel spin hahaha!

i rate a tyre as UHP when the thread pattern was usual economy style/comfort style but have sport/high performance rubber compound....

which usually not cheap tyre....

and wouldnt rate atr sport 2/sport 1 as UHP tyre....more like normal tyre category...but say if real performance is on par with those "famous" UHP tyre then is acceptable.... :biggrin: :driver:

Maybe wait till Izso changed to ATR Sports 2 then he can compare the grip with Asy 2.
Didnt know blue streak is also UHP and yet your car used not ngam cuz wheel spin hahaha!

But Blue Streak is economy type, like Toyo DRB, BS MY-02.....hhahhahahaha:biggrin: