Anybody used HKC EVC(Electronic Valve Controller) b4?

wildboar said:
MystaJ, if u have budget of RM1.5k solely for boost controller then i suggest u get Apexi AVCR..its got loads of functions..but if i were u, i'd just get a basic controller wif lo, hi & scramble settings and use the rest of money to upgrade the engine...

just my 2cents..
wildboar...mind telling me wat brand of basic boost controller are u refering to? Cos i'm still very new to turbos...and engine upgrades...wat kind of upgrades are u talking about? Monster mods like flamefox850 or wat? Me blur here...just checked out flamefox850's site...superb mods...must have cost him a fortune...here in penang...not cheap to do such mods...and not many mechs around who dare make sure super mods...

nahhhh dun say monster mods lah..malu wei. there is so many monster kancil in malaysia that dun have a website lah. like me, i like to share info with others becos my car is not 'cari makan' one lah. just syok sendiri only

anyway, about the boost controller, all depends on u lah, melayu cakap "tepuk dada tanya selera" hehe. if u got the budget...take any boost controller will do. avcr good, blitz dual sbc good, evc good, sard trigger good and profec b also good lah. depend on u only. but for me, i like older model of profec b (not the oldest one), simple and easy to adjust. now dun have new one..can get second hand lah. but second hand sometimes got risk of faulty solenoid.

IF IF IF only u dun care about high low boost feature..scramble boost feature, just install tulang ikan will do. it will raise ur boost also. if u want better boost response, just like electronic with solenoid one...u can take any mechanical boost controller like trust tvvc of GFB boost controller...cost u around rm300++ only. got better response but lack of features that elec. BC have lah

p/s: me use tulang ikan only...nothing bad happen to engine yet..hopefully not in other time also hehe

flamefox850 said:
haha dun worry la..me also like u last time or even worse. first time got my kancil..dunno what to do man. only know how to drive only. i dunno what's the meaning of servicing that time hahaa..silly me

ok back to ur question, yes, u can use ur HKS EVC at any turbo charge engine, same engine with new turbo ? NO big deal. small matter only. yeah it's a universal stuff.

about my car ah ? u can check out at my website..click the link below (at my signature), and see the picture that shows my Apexi air filter...it also shows the tulang ikan la..shiny thing that crome/silver in color...but maybe a bit blur la that picture. i'm not going to say my current boost is my max boost becos, i'm not push it hard enough. now got problem with clutch slipage...so, 1.0bar boost is now my highest boost...still.

how boost spike kill ur engine ? boost spike means over boost right ? so, more boost means more air. when i mean over boost that means more air than fuel. so air/fuel ratio is going leaner and leaner until one moment the mixture in the combustion chamber is sooo hot and it detonate/pinging/knocking. it will start burning before time. then the explosion leads to many other explosions and ur piston tend to get a shockwave...it rattle at a high frequency. ahh...so long la to explain...u can check internet for better info. i'm afraid i'm giving u the wrong info kekeke. what damage ? depends. some gasket leak, some might burst the piston, some might burst the valve, piston ring break bla bla bla

btw i'm from pasir mas, kelantan hehe

whoa flamefox850...thanks for the info on boost spikes. I'm not really good with the internet oso. Maybe u got some links that have info on boost spikes u can post here for me to read and learn?

WAH!!! Ur mods are called monster mods rite? So let me get this rite, u are using 850 block, with L2 pistons? And how much does all this items cost u:
1) 1.6L throttle body
2) 850 block
3) Injectors from GSR
4) Subaru legacy tubine
5) NGK plug cables (can't even find here in penang for L2S!)
6) Whole custom-made stainless steel pipings for front-mount i/c set up
7) Cam pulley
If don wanna post here can PM me let me know cos i wanna know roughly how much i need to save to do such mods. One doubt, how high is fuel consumption if daily driven?

I'm oso using APEX'i power intake open-pod air filter. Really like the front-mount intercooler setting...but won't that increase boost lag rite? Does it necessarily mean that u can have a front-mount i/c set-up only if u have a bigger turbine (maybe like ur subaru legacy turbine or L5 turbine, maybe toyota starlet thats recommended by my mech)?

Wildboar was talking a bit about modding ECU b4 setting high boost otherwise engine sure blow...did u mod ur ECU too? And hybridnos was also mentioning about chances of high clutch slipage at high boost settings. I'm currently running on stock clutch only. Can it withstand the high boost? Maybe 1.1 bar max? But i really wanna know about modding my ECU. Cos as far as i know...no one in Penang knows how to mod an ECU, and like i said...i'm not really comfortable sending my whole ECU to Ketit for a swap for a modded wan. A bit scared...does modding ECU mean remapping ECU?

hybridnos said:
just buy mod ecu n tulang ikan.. n set ur boost 1.2 bar....
boost spikee..? dont worry laaa.. it cant spike to 2bar... but mine tulang ikan is no spike laa.. just ok..only have a little lag to fullboost...
the worry thing is.. ur cluth system.. when u up ur boost..the cluth tend to be slipping..
but ..if u not going to mod ecu..n set boost 1.2 bar.. then ur engine will blow..trust me..
no matter how expensive ur boost controller is...

Dude, anyone selling modded ECU that u can intro, maybe here in ZTH. I need to find someone i can trust...cos i've been hearing a few scary stories over here in ZTH where people paid for the stuff but didn't receive anything. Was cheated...feel really scared about this...cos its my car ECU i'm talking about. And by the way, car without ECu can't jalan rite? Sorry la for asking stupid question but me really new wan...not kidding...so do u think if i upgrade to Exedy Clutch will improve the slip-age cos i'm planning to do so in June...another thing is without removing boost cut from ECU, wat tulang ikan oso cannot raise boost above 0.9 bar for my stock turbine...this remark from my mech la...is he rite? Even if i use EVC or watever boost controller i can't adjust boost above 0.9 bar cos my ECU restricts it...pls correct me if i'm wrong...

ok first thing i want to answer ur Q regarding the cost

1) deto TB = rm150 + rm50 (forgot the real price) for 'tapak' to match the TB with my stock L2 intake manifold

2) 850 dun have to buy lah..becos my car is originally 850EX. i buy L2 halfcut for rm2k without bodypart but with so-called 13" disc brake and LSD gearbox (a bit pricy la that time)

3) injector GSR = rm200 (forgot also) from ZTH member..nickname GSRXXXX (lupa also kekeke)

4) RHF4 VF13 turbo = rm 450 (buy from friend) and rm850 (buy from tong turbo...i buy this just becos i thought my turbo 'kong'..but it is not..then i sell to friend...rugi maa)

5) NGK plug cable blue = rm100 second hand..u can get cheaper actually

6) IC piping = rm550 with silicon hoses (blue)

7) cam pulley = rm230

fuel consumption errr errr...dunno la. i just give u tip like this la, if always boost kaw kaw...fuel consumption will go very2 high..rm20 = about 120km, if drive normally in town..not boosting then fuel consumption just a bit higher than normal kancil only
so, all depends on driving attitude

turbo and intercooler doesn't necessarily related in a way of upgrading. if upgrade turbo..intercooler stock also ok. but upgrading to bigger IC and mount it in front will ensure ur engine got colder air and of cos adding more power (u can feel it actually after install front IC alone)

about clutch slippage...ermmm cannot say la. if u want to be on a safe side, better install heavy duty like clutch like exedy semi racing (many call 3 kaki set) set for rm700++ or trinity racing clutch around rm800++(i think). dunno about stock clutch can withstand 1.0bar above or not...depends on other mods also. 'A' L2 with 1.0bar boost got 80hp on wheel but 'B' L2 with 1.0bar boost got 100hp on wheel. so, all depends on other mods.

yeah, mod ecu means re-mapping it. put new map. reliability i can't comment lah. about honesty of the seller also i dun wanna comment..it's all about trust between u and the seller becos no agreement signed.

car without ecu of cos cannot jalan..but this ketit guy say like this, u bank in few deposit, he gave u a modded ecu..then u install that modded ecu, uninstall ur stock ecu and the balance money. whatever pon..tanya dia sendiri la. i'm not the promoter like i once said

yeah, tulang ikan can even raise boost to 2.0bar or 3.0bar if u want BUT ur ecu will never let u do that, 1.0bar is the BOOST CUT. so, even with ur hks evc, u only can boost up to 0.9bar max..unless u remove the boost cut.

so, happy modding

oh one more thing..my car not a monster..malu la saya kalo u cakap mcm tu haha

u want to know the real monster...this is the real monster :
http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y222/racergendut/monster/monster2.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y222/racergendut/monster/monster2.jpg

wah u know this guy ah? How come got his photo? Can ask ah...roughly how much did u spend over all on ur mods from stock? A round number wud be good la...this wan really extreme adi...but me not so gila la...this guy's fuel consumption must be even more than skyline lol...

bro where did u convert ur car in pg?

wildboar's workshop is quite popular with L2s in the island i think..

Since we were in the topic of Boost controllers.. I thought I'd ask here instead of starting a new thread.. sorry for butting in ya...

Is it true most boost controllers can't lower your boost from stock settings? Previously i was looking through Greddy Profec B Spec II manual and I found out that they control (increase) boost through Duty Cycle.. from their manual it states (to adjust boost level):

Stock boost 0% Duty Cycle Increment
Max boost 100% Duty Cycle Increment

Adjust your how many percent you want to increase your Duty Cycle to determine your boost..

If that is the case.. can't i decrease boost with the Profec B?
If so can anyone inform me what Electronic Boost controllers can i use to decrease boost?

Thanks in advance.. :)

Blur,

Boost controllers do not lower boost pressure.

Have you checked the air fuel ratio and exhaust gas temp?

MystaJ said:
wah u know this guy ah? How come got his photo? Can ask ah...roughly how much did u spend over all on ur mods from stock? A round number wud be good la...this wan really extreme adi...but me not so gila la...this guy's fuel consumption must be even more than skyline lol...

yeah i know him..people call him abang dude, his worksyop NSDrag located in seremban, been there once. that monster is full time dragger, no more on the road...so fuel consumption is not an issue here.

my total cost from stock NA to current spec ah ? aiyyoo...can't really remember la bro becos i do step by step, unless i dump in all my money do all upgrade at one time hehe. i think more than 8k..errr i mean more hehe

blur_civic : the lowest u can decrease is at ur stock boost. if ur stock boost without any boost controller is 0.6bar, then the lowest u can decrease with ur boost controller is only 0.6bar. below that, u have to modified ur actuator or having an actuator with softer spring

i think evc is a very good investment
because u have 3-4functions to control your boost and also warning if overboost (when this happen they cut your boost and make it stock boost back)

i am using evc4 now... seems good..and very easy to use...
can have low boost high boost manual boost + scramble and with beeping warning if overboost....

and the kick with this is superb
different feeling with fishbone controller...

just superb :)
good investment....
satisfaction guaranteed..

i think avc-r is for serious high end users...
with different boost at different rpm if i am not mistaken....
use to own evc1 a good buy also if u still can find it cos easy to use also :)
usually EVC just serves the same purposes :)
just that higher version got 1 or 2 extra functions..

flamefox850...ur more than 8k spent is it solely on engine mods? Does it include other things like ur external looks, gadgets, absorber settings...?

I spent almost 15k inclusive of conversion and ALL mods (internal, external) as well as overhaul which was pretty recent (spent 2k+ for just overhaul cos 3 of my damn pistons kecut, due to lack of fuel, i.e. my fuel pump KO) I'm using HWL absorbers hi/lo but it sucks big time! Too bumpy for me, gonna uprade to TiTAN in June. Now only added metal head gasket for engine (1.5mm), APEX'i Power Intake and Prof (Sheep dog) BOV only (for engine part).

Thats why i'm now looking at adding a boost controller, but i fear i won't be able to use the full potential of the boost controller regardless of the brand due to my stock clutch which may slip at high boost. Are Exedy clutches any good for L2S? I'm talking about only the round one, not the 3 puck clutch wan (cos its too heavy for daily driving). Might upgrade my clutch to Exedy after my stock clutch wears out.

S1997: Where is the location of wildboar's shop? Does he got a name or number or something? Maybe i can go check out his workshop.

SPEEDSPiRiT: Is EVC 4 the latest one? How much did u get the total set for? Any recommendations of places or shops that sells this? Does ur EVC include the LCD Display panel? Wanna check out the price, but i'm in penang, maybe u could get me a contact to ask around? Thank you so much...

blur_civic: Dude, u driving a VTEC turbo is it? Sorry la, just guessing around from ur nick...from wat i understand i don think its possible to lower boost with boost controller. Normally boost controllers are used to increase boost rite? why wud u wanna lower it? too powerful is it ur car? Whoa! another monsta car! ganas...got pics ah? Share la pleeeaaassseee! I need exposure...like frog under coconut shell la me...

hehe, if want to add the cost of change turbo la..repair sana sini, bocor sana sini, of cos la more than 10k bro. but what i told 8k is only estimate to achieve like my current modification and NOT COUNTING the loss here and there from damage or broke la..senang cerita cost if u wanna do like mine without membazir..without trial and error one.
2k+ for an overhaul job i think too much la..expensive huh

for clutch...erm i think exedy 3 puck semi racing set is not heavy la..u can try press the clutch pedal of ur friend using that exedy. suitable la for daily use..no problem. if u use round clutch..its ok for certain torque..but when u upgrade one by one at certain time, it cannot handle the torque from ur engine..and ur clutch slips badly. then u'll regret for not taking 3 puck one.

flamefox850 said:
hehe, if want to add the cost of change turbo la..repair sana sini, bocor sana sini, of cos la more than 10k bro. but what i told 8k is only estimate to achieve like my current modification and NOT COUNTING the loss here and there from damage or broke la..senang cerita cost if u wanna do like mine without membazir..without trial and error one.
2k+ for an overhaul job i think too much la..expensive huh

for clutch...erm i think exedy 3 puck semi racing set is not heavy la..u can try press the clutch pedal of ur friend using that exedy. suitable la for daily use..no problem. if u use round clutch..its ok for certain torque..but when u upgrade one by one at certain time, it cannot handle the torque from ur engine..and ur clutch slips badly. then u'll regret for not taking 3 puck one.
let me first tell u wat i changed in this times overhaul.
1) 3 2nd hand L2 pistons with con-rod (cos mine totally KO, with tiny holes on top of the piston due to lack of fuel during combustion that can cause my pistons to kecut)
2) Piston rings of cos...
3) 2nd hand Nissan fuel pump (100 lph)
4) Stock 850 fuel filter
5) Metal head gasket (1.5mm, by the way, how much have i lowered my compression ratio to ah by fixing a 1.5mm metal head gasket? me don really know how to calculate la, din ask my foreman oso)
6) Brand new ori L2 (daihatsu) timing belt
7) Rear gearbox mounting
8) Serviced throtle body (washed)
9) Serviced radiator (washed)
10) Changed gear box cables (cos previously whenever i move the shiftstick left and right, it was making a lot of noise and the movement isn't smooth, not to mention its difficult to shift gears especially 1st and 2nd gears)
11) Upgraded all my black rubber hoses to Samco blue silicon hoses all round...(around RM30/meter)
12) Changed all the rubber seals that's about to spoil or spoilt adi (cam seal, crank seal, driveshaft seal, etc la...)
13) Engine oil
14) Gearbox oil
15) Water Coolant
16) Workmanship for all this - RM300 (i personally don think its expensive)

Spent a total of RM2.074 k...sakitnya my pocket...but worth it la...this mech's workmanship is much much better and professional compared to the guy who did my transplant. That dude is damn jerk who cons people without experience with a totally bad conditioned engine...don ever go to him all you penang folks who have heard of Wooi Workshop (further inside Farlim Shell Station) or Hui Workshop (in Kampung Pisang)! These people are con-men...i can now only blame myself for being stupid last time, because didn't do a thorough survey before going for transplant...

Anyways, some of the mods that i oso did that i din include are:
1) RS Stainless Steel braided Brake hose
2) EBC brake pads (black only for L2)
3) Internals are just a single black-faced boost meter from Autogauge
4) JRD 14" rims with Simex 165/60/R14 tyres...
5) Blue LEDs all round (just for the fun of it la...wanted to fix undercarriage lights oso but worried that police will start to kacau)
6) MaxVolt 40,000u Volt stabilizer with 5 thick blue grounding cables
7) For external - L2 electric sidemirrors...
8) Tinted silverish - blue (brand forgot adi but quite ok la...over 60% UV and heat shielding)

Some of the things that i'd like to share here la...nothing better to do mah now...so flamefox850, u coming to penang in the near future, maybe we can meet up for TT and let me test out ur ride...that i'd like to call monsta ride...lol...

For the 3-puck rite, i actually asked about it from a guy in ZTH called HMS and he told me that this 3-puck is actually kinda heavy for daily driving. Just one question, have u tried pressing the clutch pedal of any of ur frens using this 3-puck clutch before and compare it to maybe 1.8 GSR turbo transplanted Wira? So far i've tried stepping on a 1.8GSR Turbi transplanted wira's stock clutch, OMG, its the most difficult and hardest clutch i've ever pressed. If its just as hard as stock Wira's clutch, then maybe i can accept it...but if too hard, i find it a bit difficult, especially when it's driving during traffic jams...mind u, penang getting more jam adi...i think can 2nd KL adi...sigh...

neh... just a simple bolt on.. :p not even a Vtec.. feel free to check out my siggie man..

Wanted to lower boost to preserve reliablility.. :p Save petrol.. then on nights or weekends only set it back to original boost..

mystaJ : i didn't ever compare L2 exedy with wiralution clutch yet. dunno about them, but for me, i'm using double pressure plate (850+850) and the heaviness is just as heavy as exedy 3 puck pressure plate only and i've been to KL once with this clutch. ok la for me. i still can accept it. but for me, that 850 double pressure plate can't hold the torque of my engine la. gear 4&gear 5 slips too much. f*ck la. i've regretted for not using double pressure plate (L2+L2) in the first place and not using 3 puck clutch plate...aiyya. now have to spent almost 1k for clutch again..*sigh
owhh that's why expensive hehehe, all broken parts changed ah.

ok, if i'm going to penang, i'll give u a PM. when u want to come here (kelantan) give me a PM too ok ? btw, i'm sure my car is not monster enough la...tak puas hati lagi ni

blur_civic: seen ur site adi...damn cool man...even got a darn greddy e-manage some more. So does this mean u can tune ur car to perfection using a notebook in the car? Got install NOS or not? Ur car oso really ganas...100-200kmh in 7 sec...gila betul nie...but u really can...good and great mods...boost on...just wanna ask...did u changed much of ur engine internals after bolting on a turbo? At high boost got slip ah?

flamefox850 said:
mystaJ : i didn't ever compare L2 exedy with wiralution clutch yet. dunno about them, but for me, i'm using double pressure plate (850+850) and the heaviness is just as heavy as exedy 3 puck pressure plate only and i've been to KL once with this clutch. ok la for me. i still can accept it. but for me, that 850 double pressure plate can't hold the torque of my engine la. gear 4&gear 5 slips too much. f*ck la. i've regretted for not using double pressure plate (L2+L2) in the first place and not using 3 puck clutch plate...aiyya. now have to spent almost 1k for clutch again..*sigh
owhh that's why expensive hehehe, all broken parts changed ah.

ok, if i'm going to penang, i'll give u a PM. when u want to come here (kelantan) give me a PM too ok ? btw, i'm sure my car is not monster enough la...tak puas hati lagi ni
Wat does it mean by double-pressure plate (850+850)? Is it refering to flywheel or something else? I don really understand much about clutches...wat about the 3-puck, is it similar or having the same effects of the double-pressure plate (L2+L2)? For u, will u recommend me 3-puck or double-pressure plate (L2+L2) to make sure it can avoid slippage...?