Apexera SAFC & VAFC

Safc2 Knocking Limit..

I just install SAFC2 and wonder what is the higher limit for the engine knocking?For now the higher reading is 22. Got an S-ITC not install yet and hope somebody can give me the knock limit..thanks in advanced..

There was a thread before asking more/less the same thing.. but no answer.. so here's my try....

so,

What is the main difference between SAFC and SAFC2??

What can SAFC2 do that SAFC cannot do??

Is the power gain on the SAFC2 greater?? if so, how much?? has it ever been dyno proven?? (the bigger power gain between SAFC and SAFC2)

Hope the sifus can share some of ur knowledge...

not much differences la... SAFC2 got 12 point for adjustment whereas SAFC got 8 points i think. Also I think SAFC2 got the option for setting fueling when release throttle time for turbo. Ermm... can't remember others...

SAFC1 has 2 maps ( 1 hi and 1 low Throttle map)

SAFC2 has 4 maps (2 hi and 2 low throttle maps)

SAFC2 has engine knock monitor.

SAFC2 has security password, in case its stolen by people, it will become useless.

How much power can be expected from SAFC depends on how much mod is done on the engine.

yes... how much power gain would be determined by the amount of mods..

ok... lets say, 2 stock engines. 1 uses SAFC1, the other SAFC2. Both go to same tuner and he adjusts both of them them for optimal settings.

Lets says baseline of a car is 100whp.
Will SAFC1 = 107whp and SAFC2 =112whp?? is this the case??
if yes, i wanna upgrade to SAFC2... :D

i think both SAFC and SAFC2 can adjust the fueling up to +/- 50% so no difference. Except that as mentioned, SAFC2 got more points in the RPM to adjust as compared to SAFC.

Eh ... can i assume that when i step on the throttle, i would feel that the engine (with SAFC2 installed) is actually smoother in terms of power delivery/feel ?

The difference for SAFC and SAFC2 is like what Joeker mentioned.
But 1 thing i would like to mention. The password protection is useless if the person knows how to initialize the unit. It benefits both Turbo Charged and NA if tuned properly.

Some of u may even ask.. what is the differences for the SAFC2 and the Limited Edition?

Ltd.Ed vs Standard
White VFD vs Blue VFD
Reddish Black Screen vs Blue Screen
Start Up Graphics D1 with Imamura. Vs Apexi SAFC2

FYI
D1 Apex Imamura is the drift team for Team Apex.. he was the drift champion in 2003

regarding the 4 maps mentioned by Joeker, its actually having 2 different sets of settings, but only 1(2 maps=lo n hi) can be used at any one time...
u can switch between these two maps while idling....

secondly, SAFC2 has internal power supply, even if u plug it out for its socket, the memory will still be there...unlike SAFC where all data will be reset

password.... no point also cos the initialize option can be easily done...

power?? ....maybe u'll get smoother a powerband curves during dyno, but i doubt it will give much different on the HP being produced..

N/A car..... of cos can... but it will have to depends on other mods such as hi-cams, exzos, intake etc....

SAFC is just for fuel tuning...cos not all car straight from the factory has the best fuel mapping...most are factory-tuned to be best for both world, economy AND power....whereas safc can make ur car perform mainly for power(hi-throttle) OR economy(lo-throttle)...its up to you ...

stroker_kit said:
secondly, SAFC2 has internal power supply, even if u plug it out for its socket, the memory will still be there...unlike SAFC where all data will be reset

Neither SAFC nor SAFC2 will reset to default when power or socket is removed. All settings is saved.

is it?? cos i remember my fren told me his SAFC will be reset if he unplug the socket... or maybe im getting old oledi...memory weak..heheh....

you mean there is a simple way to initialize the SAFC2??
then password become useless??

yes...there's a function where u can choose "Initialize"...evrything will be back to standard factory setting...

If I'm not mistaken, once password is key-ed in, the SAFC2 settings is not accesible, including the "Initialize" default function.

However, pls check with people who have used SAFC2 before to confirm.

in my SAFC2 manual says so maaa...confirmed by Speedwork installer also... and when in lock mode, Initialize function is visible ... only the setting mode cannot enter (Password protected!! screen comes out)...this is for safety feature for those who wouldnt want others to know their settings, or accidently/purposedly changed by others... or if somehow the owner got amnesia, cannot remember password...therefore, initialize lor...

yup if u unplug ur AFC 1 from the socket, it won't reset.

Actually.. think about it.. I am sure for all electronic devices, there must be a way to reset everything. I am sure there is a way to hack if it's password locked.

quoting from a dsm site:

Apexi was VERY HELPFULL. They seem to really care, but they speak Japenesse then i got a guy that BARLEY spoke english and he told me to E-mail Him. To restart the unit you PUSH the CENTER button and hold it, Turn the unit on and it shows LOTS of stuff then Hold up for 5Sec then down after that for 5 sec and it will bring you back to the MONITOR window.