Apexi Twin Chamber BOV

speedz1665

has anyone used this BOV?? can you pls gimme a review ..is it good? hows the sound?...

i'm using the twin chamber bov...

PRO:
Loudness of BOV can be adjusted. Price affordable in the range of RM650 for new and RM350 for used.
Can last very long time compared to the cetak rompak HKS-SSQV look alike.

CONS:
The adjust ring (for loudness) tends to get loose.
A little bulky compared to HKS-SSQV

If u wan a quiet BOV i would recommend u the greddy type-s BOV
If u wan loud.. Apex'i,HKS-SSQV or Blizt depending on what pressure u are running.. more pressure means louder.

Originally posted by ezwong2002@Aug 27 2004, 10:44 AM
i'm using the twin chamber bov...

PRO:
Loudness of BOV can be adjusted. Price affordable in the range of RM650 for new and RM350 for used.
Can last very long time compared to the cetak rompak HKS-SSQV look alike.

CONS:
The adjust ring (for loudness) tends to get loose.
A little bulky compared to HKS-SSQV

If u wan a quiet BOV i would recommend u the greddy type-s BOV
If u wan loud.. Apex'i,HKS-SSQV or Blizt depending on what pressure u are running.. more pressure means louder.
ahhh...cetak rompak HKS SQV = Monza ..hahaha..sum say it good ohhh but i don use the HKS cetak rompak..i use the HKS ori one from Japan..hahaha

My last BOV also from HKS but it broken ( i think it made of carbon- very light) but the shape look like alien spaceship...not nice one.... ;)

heard that the HKS SQV from Thailand tend to leak under pressure from boost...

ok guys...since my thread lost when the backup data was installed, i'll just re-post my questions here...hope u dun mind ya speedz1665...

wat bov is recommended if reliability is priority #1?? heard some ppl say dat arc bov are long lasting..but sounds vr normal...how many models of arc bov are there actually??

i guess ssqv wud rank #1 in the cool factor criteria...cos the sound dem sweet..but also heard dat ssqv diagphram tends to kong very fast...so not vr reliable...true??wat bout if running 0.7-0.9bar??still will kong fast??

btw, its to be used on a standard gsr running standard boost..mild mods like air filter, electronic boost controller (have plans for e-manage but wun be in near future)...mebe at the most run at 0.9bar after scramble...

opinions & feedback r much appreciated...

use blitz lah....more realiable cos using piston bt respond a bit slow......

SSQV won't not so easily kong la.........

me using the apexi twin chamber for 5 years.no problem so far.highest boost i run with this bov is at 1.7bar...and at this boost,the sound is very very sharp.i dunno how to explain the sound...but damn loud.reliability also good...considering using this bov for that long time.but i notice,when at lower boost,the sound is not loud and sharp.

Originally posted by kschu@Aug 28 2004, 09:26 PM
use blitz lah....more realiable cos using piston bt respond a bit slow......

SSQV won't not so easily kong la.........
i dun think Blitz Super sound fits GSR engines..as wht i heard , the engine will die easily eg: u rev ur car at high rpm and leave the pedal, ur idling wont be stable.
it will drop like goin to die the engine den back to normal,unless u tighten it veri tight den it is normal but there wont be any sound at all oredi but thats the oni way to prevent from the engine idling not stable..mebi u can have a try of SArd R2d2 and it is veri good indeed..i was using one too lastime but too bad got stolen ...
if ayone is kind enuf gif me as a present le..ahah..jooking oni..
as for HKS SSQV original one, i heard the diaphram easily kong cus i think veri sensitive..thats wht i heard le..lasitme i was using that too but need cash..sell it away..and i tried before Greddy type-s purple colour head one ..
i tihnk it is not bad, the sound is quite sweet..there is 2 sounds coming out from the bov..first it will pssshhh den kling kling ( like small bells ) ...and i think that greddy can support high boost pressure..mebi there is another option of bov..sheepdog oso not bad, though the sound is simple and dull but i think can upstand high boost pressure too..

im jus speaking from my experience and wht i heard from oni..dun shoot me if im wrong about anythin that i have jus said..

thanks guys for all the replies...greatly appreicate it...it looks like sard r2d2 looks like a winner...most probably will get it...will update this post on its performance and sounds....thanks a bunch...cheers

jeff@speedz

ssqv high boost oni nice, low boost aiseh...not nice at all. its like shhh.. wtf? shhh... huh?! shhh.... cheh ><

Originally posted by dolly@Sep 1 2004, 09:04 AM
ssqv high boost oni nice, low boost aiseh...not nice at all. its like shhh.. wtf? shhh... huh?! shhh.... cheh ><
though SSQV got a veri good sound but i think it cant stand veri high boost..
i heard once this fellas engine using SSQV blew it cus boosting at 1.8 bar if im not wrong..so now that fella put 2 BOV for the engine..i was shock to see it wif my own eyes too...Single turbo wif 2 BOV..
one is greddy Type-s and another is HKS SSQV..
and i think the sound will be damn chun..

Originally posted by speedz1665@Sep 1 2004, 08:23 AM
thanks guys for all the replies...greatly appreicate it...it looks like sard r2d2 looks like a winner...most probably will get it...will update this post on its performance and sounds....thanks a bunch...cheers

jeff@speedz
yeah i think Sard R2D2 is kinda great option..im a satisfy user lastime but not now anymore..sigh..though it might not sound louder than Blitz Super sound but overall it is still the best..first R2d2 BOV wont make ur idling not stable..Blitz it will...or mebi that bov is meant for other cars..
my experience le..
u can go KSP and check it out cus they r selling new sets wif the price of RM 370 oni..now im not sure le..good luck

oihh..so high... to me high boost is ~0.7 to 1 bar lol 1.8bar i think call extreme or something ^^;

Originally posted by dolly@Sep 1 2004, 09:04 AM
ssqv high boost oni nice, low boost aiseh...not nice at all. its like shhh.. wtf? shhh... huh?! shhh.... cheh >
oihh..so high... to me high boost is ~0.7 to 1 bar lol 1.8bar i think call extreme or something ^^;
dolly, when u say low boost, how low do u actually mean??

n since u consider 0.7-1bar as high boost, dat means the SSQV will still sound sweet even on standard max boost, rite??

do u have any personal experience wif the ssqv?? hows its reliability??

wat abt those purple fins which can be added...wat will the sound b like?? how much do they cost?? i was told dat if u dun always play around with the different sounds, then it will last,....but if u keep changing the sound every now n then...dats when it will start causing problems...

wat does the stock ssqv sound like anyway??i know it can be adjusted, but to wat kind of sound...i like the high pitched fluttering sound...like "chi-chi-chi-chi-chiuu"...is this the standard sound??

if u guys have seen the video clip from terato.com's getaway in kl...this sound is clearly heard from the gti...

apexi blow off is strong and nice BUT i hate the center ring always turn around after few days driving, duhh i thinking to remove the ring ... but it dun look nice anymore

can this sound be achieved on gsr with 0.7-0.9bar of boost??

http://www.935motorsports.com/media/SSQVJZA80.wmv

there are quite a few different sound produced by the ssqv in the website...mebe due to different boost & engine...pening pening... :blink:

http://www.935motorsports.com/bovmedias.htm

Originally posted by TE27levin@Sep 1 2004, 05:09 PM
apexi blow off is strong and nice BUT i hate the center ring always turn around after few days driving, duhh i thinking to remove the ring ... but it dun look nice anymore
that loosen ring can be fixed by adding some silicon and cable ties. That's what I did to mine. :)