B***dy VW.

acbc said:
There is nothing wrong to be an assembler... Hyundai started as one and today they are a big player... so what?

Is Proton scared that one day VW will sack all Proton management and take over 100%? It is for business and in this industry, u either be smart enough to play the game or just give up and die.

See... 20 over years of protection does more harm than good...

The gov should also stop protecting other industries especially finance and telco. Look at how the Gov is helping local banks by restricting the Foreign banks' operations in Malaysia. How can we develop like this?

About Telco, I tell you if today the Gov opens up to allow foreign Telcos like Vodaphone, Orange, etc.etc. tomorrow even Maxis can closedown la. Our telcos technologies and service are nowhere near the international players

i didn learn something new from this thread, there are STILL hardcore PROTON fans who support PROTON blindly.

if orange open their service in malaysia, i'll be the 1st to be their customer... i'll no longer be loyal customer to maxis.... hahahaha

i feel that this is a great loss...vw please come back..proton is too pampered...u cant break into international grounds if u maintain this policy..be competitive..too much pampering made some of ur staff so snobbish...i went to this eon outlet in nilai n the salesman laughed at me when i asked him what is the cheapest proton i can buy...what is this attitude?? right now i cant afford to buy anything YET so i am forced to drive this old 86 saga (no offense its still very much mitsubishi) i want to see u still laughing or not when a big car company comes into play..hehe..i wonder what wud TOP GEAR Jeremy Clarkson say about the rebadged proton cars..or Tsuchiya san..use ur imagination..

I share the same view with you guys... Without proton being Kakacaucau..... We would be having better car at less price.... Big companies would be investing here rather than Thailand.... More job employment, more technology introduction to this country..... If our country dont start to exercise the AFTA, We will be stay behind.... Proton is just a pain in my a$$!!!!:angry:

SurboNight said:
I believe that one day,Proton just tinggal nama only.:cry_smile:

HAHAHAHAHAHAHHHAHHAHAHAHAH........you meant to say protong had something much bigger before? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAH

From the begining till the end protong has had nothing to begin with and it is now going down with nothing also.

Surbo, dont suck up to proton anymore laaa.........cause whatever it is you want to korek from them all has been korek by the others before edi.

phantomRX8 said:
i feel that this is a great loss...vw please come back..proton is too pampered.....

let VW go. its nice to see proton dies slowly. let them suffer.

Proton won't die. The government will bail it out time and time again. Have a look at MAS. Actually, all these GLC's are the same. Sure, we have national this and national that...pride...patriotism...blah blah. But how many of them are actually properly run, making profits and are globally competitive? All just very expensive "flags". A symbol. Symbols that are sucking up the people's money and feeding the top brass of the respective companies. As long as their political masters have a controlling hand in these companies, they will never be successful. Especially if they continue to put their trust in "selected" people and do what is right for their political cause and not the cause of the companies.

take out the protection. when its done, all the management will realise how unprotedted they are. then tey will start using the source and technology wisely. coz i bet we can count how many top people in proton own and drive proton....

K_Takuya said:
take out the protection. when its done, all the management will realise how unprotedted they are. then tey will start using the source and technology wisely. coz i bet we can count how many top people in proton own and drive proton....

i agree and to silverfish, how i wish your saying is wrong. but i believe it will happen soon, again.

its seems that almost all top managements have 'contacts' in gv.. its kinda like 'helping each other for thier own pocket'. why proton must be so expensive while its made and assembled in malaysia? why so high price? where all those parts coming from? why not use locals part?

some of us here sells absorbers at a very low price. some can even custom make vs. what im trying to say is.. if theres local people who can fine tune proton cars for just few hundreds ringgit or further tune (cams etc) why not use these people knowledge to bring up proton? for sure the cost to hire our own people is not as expensive as foreigners.

as long as theres people who "mind thier own pocket' in proton... expect nothing more..

It is becoz proton uses local parts that actually made it expensive bro. The local parts manufacturer don't have such big operations to achieve economies of scale ( meaning the more u make the cheaper it gets) , and hence more expensive parts compared to foreign parts! This is another one of the garblement's strategy to protect the local manufacturers.

Proton will NEVER cease to exist.

THe one thing I've learnt for sure in my 30 years of life is it that Malaysians have very fragile EGO.

Malaysia Goverment will NEVER let Proton close shop because it is a National company and most importantly it is a BUMI company.

From my point of view, No foregin Auto company will ever form a strategic alliance with Proton...PERIOD.

Foreign companies are only interested to make profit and they don't give a damn about BUMI equity, kepentingan rakyat, yada-yada.

I think foreign co. want full control of the company without any cronies and powers-that-be characters.

Bottomline is, Proton will continue to shove their products down our throats and the goverment will continue to spoon feed them with tax payers money.

Joeker said:
Proton will NEVER cease to exist.

THe one thing I've learnt for sure in my 30 years of life is it that Malaysians have very fragile EGO.

Malaysia Goverment will NEVER let Proton close shop because it is a National company and most importantly it is a BUMI company.

From my point of view, No foregin Auto company will ever form a strategic alliance with Proton...PERIOD.

Foreign companies are only interested to make profit and they don't give a damn about BUMI equity, kepentingan rakyat, yada-yada.

I think foreign co. want full control of the company without any cronies and powers-that-be characters.

Bottomline is, Proton will continue to shove their products down our throats and the goverment will continue to spoon feed them with tax payers money.

.hmm..i think the discussion is then closed..no need to argue anymore...its quite obvious wat is happennin...

to a certain extent, the G's stance changed a tiny bit... Pak Lah turned down the invitation to launch the Sawi coz he did'nt want Proton to think that the G was always gonna be there for them.... but its still a long-long way from being able to totally stand on their own 2 feet...
a good start would be to sack their you-know-who advisor... he ai'nt doing much good....

btw... for the record, i am NO Proton supporter. I for one believe that our lives (at least in car ownership terms) would have been better if they never started in the first place... we don't have a large enough domestic market!! look at other car manufacturers, they all started domestically where there market was big enough...

i dont see it as a downgrade... judging fr what we get fr proton at the moment. If they were to comply to VW's requirement... i bet we'll get better cars... dont u think so?

Yes,If VW cooperate with proton,we will get better and faster cars,but in the future,NO MORE PROUDLY MALAYSIAN AUTOMAKER.Because for sure they will migrate it to VW GmBh maybe.........

So you are proud of Proton now? You are proud of the products they are producing? You are proud of the state of the company? Frankly, Proton is more a source of embarassment than pride.

I don't think people behind the PROTON MANAGEMENT knows about car and motorsport, they only think about big profit with produce a 'junk' that only MAlaysian people buy it.. Its sad to see our national car standard and quality nowadays (no wonder some of the model burn and have a faulty power window absolutely) .I think Tun Mahathir also feel sad about this because 'stupid people' ruin all his plan and idea about nasional car.. I wonder how many years more PROTON can stand.. Maybe it will have same fate like MAS...