B8 owners... let's share your B8's experience

Was fitted with HKS iridium when I first got my b8. I got no complain with the plugs. Only later when I found out that it was running with a pair of HKS #40 and a pair of HKS #45 (heat range 8 and 9), din like it and replace with NGK iriway 7.

Hv tried heat range 6 plugs before, but gives problem. Car will jerk when pressure is in positive range. This also happened to another friend of mine who drives a b8. Engine not happie with heat range 6? does anyone else hv the same problem?

Another experience I've tried.... gatal gatal went and change to a "virgin" air flow sensor as mine has been altered. suffered fuel/rev/boost cut (i couldnt tell the difference) at 5000rpm. Changed it back to my prev aif flow sensor, problem goes away.
weird.....

VF10 said:
does changing to colder plugs increases ur FC?

Din quite monitor the FC when changing plugs. But i'm now running ard 260km with 60 bucks of fuel. Good or bad?

errmmm. mine 50 bucks still can get 270km... but i usually turn off the aircon. if yours with airconditioning on... quite ok laa

since that i'm planning of changing to colder plugs, mind sharing on what is the best heat range for B8 with minor mods??? .. is supposed heat range 7 will do rite, seen a lot of B8 & GSR running on 7 heat range plugs....

but come to think of it.. my slow kancil L2 with heavy mods oso running with NGK Iridium 7 meh... should i go for 8 or 9?

VF10 said:
errmmm. mine 50 bucks still can get 270km... but i usually turn off the aircon. if yours with airconditioning on... quite ok laa

since that i'm planning of changing to colder plugs, mind sharing on what is the best heat range for B8 with minor mods??? .. is supposed heat range 7 will do rite, seen a lot of B8 & GSR running on 7 heat range plugs....

but come to think of it.. my slow kancil L2 with heavy mods oso running with NGK Iridium 7 meh... should i go for 8 or 9?

dun ask me, mate. me not expert in plugs recommendations. too many of "my mech said/his mech said...". dont know which one is better than the other. i just plug in the plugs that works best for me.

any experts out there who can shed some light?

can ask Lan Dugong....he provides some infor on the other thread...

9188 said:
i've tried to lauch at 4k rpm....no way i can control unless i let go pedal....i've tried 3k+ spin less....im still using the clutch from the halfcut....hehehe...still can pakai....

launch at 5K is not easy but can be done, I have tested 5k before.. no problem on wheel spin, 4K also no problem... speedspirit.. want to try again???

What u need to know is ur car character..and need practice..

rajie said:
wanted to ask all the sifu do they know this guy by the name VTEC FEH LOH ??? my friend is converting his vtec from him ...it seems he said he has an eg than can tapau any turbo in 400m ....
my friend car is dropping in a B16A engine it seems the engine is done up from japan but donno what la he is going to use 2.0 block 2.0 pistons and DC5 cams inside .....he wants to play with my couz B8 ....the B8 is stock but boost running at 0.9 can the B8 makan the vtec ???
thank u

rajie,
my advise to ur couz is to be practice his launch.. if he screw up at the launching.. noway he can comeback with the B8 stock setup.. 2.0 vtec is fast with proper setup and tuning.. for stock is very hard to match a 2.0 vtec.. all the best ..

i have used NGK-R BCPR6E-11 from 2001 - 2004 with no problems at all. Used the Japan versions and local versions. Even with my current setup, the 6 heat range gives no problems including the egt readings. still tunable.

now use NGK IRIWAY 9 already. no problem also. egt readings went down tremendously, 60'c-80'c when 1st installed. tuned the SAFC to get 800'c-820'c.

fuel consumption...maintaining at 50km every 5 liters.

laserman said:
launch at 5K is not easy but can be done, I have tested 5k before.. no problem on wheel spin, 4K also no problem... speedspirit.. want to try again???

What u need to know is ur car character..and need practice..

the king has spoken...
*hail* x 3
ehhehehe

wait wait..
how to try now la..
u know la...
ehehehehe
come help me la
wakakaka

speed,

just pump RM20 to your car and go practice. you sure can make it...

tkk said:
speed,

just pump RM20 to your car and go practice. you sure can make it...

ahahaha
pump in n park the car is it?
takkan u dont know.....
or i can pump rm20 n launch ur car
ehehhe

ok. pls show me the money. i will let you launch.

yeah i know... then i send to ko lo to redo... now.. its ok lo.. but still got a lot more to fight wif all of u... wei speedspirit... 210 ecu wiring onie ma... turbine i sold long time ady.... wut happen to u kenny? i only seen ur car once onie....

relation between EGT reading and plugs??

Lan Dugong said:
i have used NGK-R BCPR6E-11 from 2001 - 2004 with no problems at all. Used the Japan versions and local versions. Even with my current setup, the 6 heat range gives no problems including the egt readings. still tunable.

now use NGK IRIWAY 9 already. no problem also. egt readings went down tremendously, 60'c-80'c when 1st installed. tuned the SAFC to get 800'c-820'c.

fuel consumption...maintaining at 50km every 5 liters.

Lan D
Very interesting to know that there's relation between these 2.....can explain some more??Can CAI give same good effect??
How about IRIDIUMs?

1 more thing, I also thinking of puttign VF10s......is it hard to do?
How much money involved??

Tks all.....:shades_smile:
AM

vf10? no use la!!! hahaa!!!! straight vf8 or gt ball bearing turbo!!! vf10 market price is 250 - 300 bux... vf8 500 - 600 bux... installation +/- rm 350... so if u wnat power straight vf8.... about the plugs... i dunno... i use hks plugs.... got no diff to me... abg lan d more experience in technical stuff... my method is trial n error... usually lots of errors!!! hahaa....

guys,

remember what is is ur objective and work ur way up towards that target...would u want a speed demon which is non realiable for a daily driver or a daily driver which is easily tune and fun to drive...