Bigger Rim problems?

my tyre cost me 150
maybe i'll look for the advanti light weight rims where the R3 using one

I'm not a pro, but if i'm given a choice, i'll choose the smallest set of rims i can fit in my car without giving problem to the brake system.

IMHO, the more powerful your engine is, the stronger your braking system should be. the stronger the braking system the bigger the rotors and calipers (generally). thus you need bigger rims if you have upgraded brakes.

there's once a tread posted in zth saying all the rims and their weight, i found that nomater how lightweight a rim is, bigger rims always seems to be more heavy. heavier it is, the more momentum it holds, thus bigger rims will have slower respond to pickup and braking, well, think of the flywheel, lightened flywheel react faster and also slow down faster.

15" is just nice for your car IMHO, but if you want abit of asthetic to your car, 16" won't be overkill i think...

note: dammit i just found out how heavy a brake disc rotor weight >_< some of them weight more than the rim themselves >_<

Rollakid,
Nice informative post. I agree with you that you shouldn't be using excessively large rims unless you're more of an aesthetic person. For me, I'd rather have the car working in optimum condition and i stick to my 14" stock rims with a nice set of grippy tyres thats all. We seem to think the bigger the rim, the better handling the car gets. To some extent its true but you need to look at the bigger picture. A cheapo 17" rims weighs like a few million kilos and you're actually adding more unsprung weight to the car and this alters the acceleration and handling too. I'd say if you're driving a regular 1.5 or 1.6 litre car, the max you should go is only 16". As for 1.8 above, then maybe a 17" rims is fine. But saying this, it doesn't mean you cannot fit a 17" rims on a 1.3 or 1.5, its just that the car is not working in optimum condition. As it is, the money is yours.

in my opinion, d selection of rim size varies which i believe, divided into 2 categories:

1) those who love speed, and
2) those who love syle

if u can see, those ppl in drag battle won't go for bigger rim due to loss of acceleration. 15" is normal setup. 16" the max. unless the car is sooo powerful, then it's up to them. for some reasons, sometimes it is due to avoid spinning of tires caused by smaller rims (i mean here is lots of POWER!).

in showcase cars, u won't find any small rims!! these ppls want to be stylish. so don't need to rev so high. dont mind bout the power. if u still in the need of power, need to modify for extra power. well, at least, to get the nearest equilibrium.

so, the selection of rim size really lies on what is ur interest. for ur info, any std setup from car manufacturers r 4 std ppl with daily usage. btw, ppls have different interest, rite? well, that's the least i can say. :cool:

if want both style and performance need a lot of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ !

CyberPunk said:
yes agreee
but wad if for the ppl wants style and also the performance?

another thing to consider here is the type of tire you will be using if you choose a certain type of rim. everybody knows that if you use bigger rims, teh lower the profile your tire is.

low profile tire (besides being $$$) usually give you a less comfy ride unless you tune your suspension to fit. besides, it will give you more precise control and feel of the car because the wall is thiner thus tends to move less (i dunno how to put this in words but i hope you guys know what i'm trying to say lar...). its like having a harder tirewall, you get precise feel, but when it exceeded the tire's traction, your car will slide, thats why you see high powered D1 machine use really low profile tires. having a higher tirewall profile means its abit soft and more forgiving, and IMHO, more apropriate for normal driving, as it is more forgiving and less lose of traction.

note: F1 tire uses 13" and damn.. look at the profile of that tire. imagine they use 22" rims, the spectator who sit nearer to the track might got sick cuz they inhale too much dust and dirt kick up by the cars *wink*

IMHO 45-55 profile should be suitable, which means just average, and look nice too if you compare to those ugly 70 sidewalls from stock 13" lolx..

another note: if you think size is everything when it comes to rim beauty, then i can't say anything. but if you ask me, some small rims also nice. i just love the 14x6.5j rims from advan, but too rich for my blood :(

CyberPunk said:
@.@ *blur*
err..

big rims = lower profile tire
big rims + higher profile tire = too large -> tire scratch fenders + speedo might lari
low profile tire = sharp respond + easier lost traction when it exceed the limit + rougher ride + hit lubang will cause your rim bengkok.
higher profile tire = softer respond + more forgiving

means you'll be burning tires, applies when you do cornering. burning tire at acceleration don't applies here, cuz that one relies more on light rim...

honestly i dun dare to say, because i'm not a pro. i just speak according to my common sense.

this doesn't apply to the tire you burn when you jump off the line, as bigger rims will be heavier thus less wheel spin. but its when you do cornering. if both tire has the same amount of grip if judge by the compound used, the one with lower profile will lost traction first if do hard cornering. because higher profile tire will have overall softer sidewalls, which will move abit and act like a buffer of some sort.

i pick up this info at www.tirerack.com, under tire tech section, alot of good reading.

rollakid said:
honestly i dun dare to say, because i'm not a pro. i just speak according to my common sense.

this doesn't apply to the tire you burn when you jump off the line, as bigger rims will be heavier thus less wheel spin. but its when you do cornering. if both tire has the same amount of grip if judge by the compound used, the one with lower profile will lost traction first if do hard cornering. because higher profile tire will have overall softer sidewalls, which will move abit and act like a buffer of some sort.

i pick up this info at www.tirerack.com, under tire tech section, alot of good reading.

Hmmm, u are giving the wrong impression here.. the condition u are explaining here only applies when the tyres have same amount of grip (in general same contact patch).. Generally a bigger rim is wider thus wider tyre is required.. wider tyres have larger contact patch that translate to more grip.. so this condition u r talkin about is already null and void..

oit guyz ...
after readin ur guyz thread ... i realize bout bigger rims hoh
well i been kemaruk(crazy) on gettin bigg rim for my car 1.3 ... been savink up money bout it ...
thought of gettin a 17inch rims ... probably enkei japan ... i check it out very lighte one ...
anyway if its a 17inch rim n light ... does it mean it makes ur car lose power also ...
i got some fwen puttin 16inch rims on their kelisa n kenari also ... still ok one .. no problem

maybe wad they mean is that
bigger rim = bigger diameter
bigger diameter = bigger circle
bigger circle = travel more for 1 revolution of ur tyre...
so... it works like a gear... bigger gear needs more power to move and less pick up compared to a smaller gear...
hmm... that wad i think logically... correct me if im wrong...

tajulsans said:
Hmmm, u are giving the wrong impression here.. the condition u are explaining here only applies when the tyres have same amount of grip (in general same contact patch).. Generally a bigger rim is wider thus wider tyre is required.. wider tyres have larger contact patch that translate to more grip.. so this condition u r talkin about is already null and void..
what you are saying IS correct IF the rims is bigger and wider.

for what i can understand from your post is that you think that with the same compound (same rubber and tread grip), but lower profile tire (thiner) means ppl will use bigger rims in diameter.

but what i'm talking about is, same surface grip, profile different, and ignore everything else. which still make my point valid (for what i know). i know it sound like, well, not really logical in real world, cuz ppl who use lower profile tire usually use bigger rims in diameter, and bigger rims mostly are wider. in this case what you say would be right and i'm wrong.

but there are cases, for one, my case. i change my rims, still 13", and i'm changing from 70/13 to 50/13, so basically i'm getting less milage per wheel rotation...